Life Is Too Short To Play It Safe

in #introduceyourself5 years ago

Life is too short to play it safe. When I was younger, I feared that I won’t get a job, or get a good job, or get a prestigious job. Those fears limit us, and it prevented me from pursuing my entrepreneurial dream. Will Smith said it best, “The best things in life are on the other side of fear.” Let me give you a personal example.

Image of me hiking Machu Picchu

In 2010, I embarked on the adventure of a lifetime: hiking along an ancient and remote footpath, on a five-day backpacking trip to Machu Picchu. I’d dreamed of exploring this mysterious city for years. My hiking group included mostly seasoned hikers.

At the end of the first day, after climbing 14 miles up the “Savage Mountain” carrying a 50-pound backpack, I was already exhausted. That night, at 12,000 feet above sea level and temperatures below freezing, I could barely sleep. I was not only in pain from the hike, but also had headaches, nausea, and altitude sickness.

Image of me hiking Machu Picchu

I wasn’t sure I could hold up much longer. The safe thing would be to quit and return to our starting point at Cusco City. But I felt that I wouldn’t be able to face myself if I quit. I reasoned that “if the Incans were able to carry huge rocks up to the mountains, why can’t I could go up there too?”

The second day of our hike was even more difficult, but my will power pulled me through. After hiking over thirty miles in four days, many hikers were content and elected to take a bus to the destination. But I and four others chose to hike the last eight miles.

Image of me hiking Machu Picchu

When we finally reached Machu Picchu, I felt triumphant: the hidden beauty of this ancient city, I had discovered, is the long, hard path that leads to it.

Sort:  

Welcome ddra90n!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem ddra90n! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

you are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldn't agree more! The fun is always outside of your comfort zone.
Following and upvoting!
Welcome @ddra90n.

Thank you!

Welcome to steemit @ddra90n.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome to Steem! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! In addition, I have published a post that provides great references to assist you in your journey. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or feedback!

Welcome to Steemit ddra90n
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money.
I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours.
For safety tips visit the white paper.

The Steemify App I use is also great, it is available in the Appstore and free, you can See Whats happening in your account. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote

Also Appics and Steepshot are handy apps and Free. I wish you good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
We (@xcountytravelers and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs, and There is a Discord called SteemTerminal for newbies and All questions, join in, I am on steemit everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Greetings @ ddra90n

Excellent introduction

With regard to your anecdotes, the long road always allows you to see and learn what in the short path will not allow you to develop.

I will be attentive to your next publications.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81