Steemians?? How do I get one of those? Freelance Gamedev new to blogging signing on for Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Well this is awkward... My name is Matthew (DevilsD) Boatswain and im a Freelance Gameplay Programmer, I had no idea that my Imposter Syndrome would extend even this far. Perhaps its because this is my first ever blog and also my Introduction Post!

I became aware of the Steem platform (and the wider cryptocurrency market) through another Gamedev friend of mine @thecastle. Im quite interested to see this community up close and personal and im certainly going to take this opportunity to do that with this blog :)

#include "HelloWorld.h"
AHelloWorld::AHelloWorld() {   UE_LOG(LogTemp, SteemLog, TEXT("Hello World!")); }
#if !INTRODUCED

Im a Freelance Contractor who has the pleasure of working from the safety of his home in a small rural town just West of Sydney Australia. Most of the time I find myself struggling to explain what exactly it is I do to the friends, family and acquaintance I talk to everyday around the town that I live in. Being rural and not extremely urbanised means its not quite common to find people that hold the same interests in their day jobs as I do. The internet however is a different story and is somewhat of a relief for me as I can connect across great distances with the people that learn and preach the same words I do. This blog will be an extension of that and I hope to connect with many more people who share this feeling :)

I have worked (and still do) for many different individuals and companies writing games over the years. With the advent of Unreal Engine 4's "Set It Free" philosophy 4 years ago, Ive moved exclusively onto working with it and Clients that want to utilise it to bring their products to life.

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/blog/ue4-is-free

Ive been working with Unreal Engine 4 since it was released to the public in 2014. Prior to that id been working with the Unity 3D engine creating small mobile games and demos, unfortunately none of which ever saw the light of day, but such is life :) 

Ive always held a strong and passionate love for Programming. My interest starts 15 years ago in 2003 when the first Call of Duty game was released that October. I was only 12 at the time and already keenly addicted (my mothers words haha) to PC games. Id discovered that it was trivial to look through the scripting interface for the game from the files on disk and to be able to modify them to cause magic to happen ingame. This opened up a new world for me, I could make cool changes to the game and then share it with my online buddies. This segued into my interest in Programming at High School and further on into other games where I was keenly creating Mods and Maps for others to play and enjoy.

After a period I was introduced to a cool C# library called XNA where me and a friend tried our hand at creating our own game with procedural generation. Although we were still learning and didnt really get anywhere I certainly look back on those days with fondness. After XNA support was dropped by Microsoft I decided to move on Unity as it had great appeal and I could leaverage all that id learnt with C# immediately in Unity. After id finished school I started putting myself out there and trying to move toward a more professional work experience. Getting jobs where I could that would accept a rookie into their project to bring what little understanding about Game Development I had to offer.

I have no formal education in Software Development or Game Development and am completely self taught, I believe this has been a help and not a hinderance to me at all (something I will discuss in another post). Ive taken this journey at my own pace and its certainly been a blast, I cant wait to share my experiences, my many years of knowledge in the Game Dev industry and my opinions with everyone here :)

https://discord.gg/unreal-slackers

With my move to Unreal Engine 4 ive taken up a larger role in the community as a whole. I love talking about Unreal, I love helping people develope on Unreal and I want people to succeed on Unreal. I joined a Discord Server dedicated to Unreal Engine 4 and its community called Unreal Slackers. It offers a massive community geared towards answering all Unreal questions and helping others. Not long after joining the Server I applied to be a Moderator and I now help manage the Unreal Slackers Discord of ~18k Members.

I love giving back to the Unreal community as its given me so much over these years, being there for others, answering questions and helping people with their developement issues has given me an outlet to do that. This blog is another way for me to extend that into a new platform im getting invovled in, the Steem blockchain!

I dont know how long I should keep rambling on and I feel this has been enough just to get my feet wet.

My future content will be centered around Game Development, Software Engineering related to games and also my interest in how I think Cryptos and Games can coexist for great benifit to all. Basically anything about Games really :)

Until next time!

#endif // !INTRODUCED

I am not an Epic Employee or affiliated with Epic Games or Unreal Engine in any official capacity, the opinions expressed in this blog are my own and do not reflect that of Epic Games or the Unreal Engine trademark.

Unreal and its logo are Epic’s trademarks or registered trademarks in the US and elsewhere.

https://www.unrealengine.com
https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/branding
https://www.epicgames.com/site/en-US/fan-art-policy
Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @devilsd!

For this being your first blog post - you totally smashed it. It was cool to read about some of the awesome projects you’ve been a part of.

You are definitely going to fit right in here. Looks like you’re already getting hooked up with the Steem Monsters crew, which is awesome. You honestly won’t find a friendlier, more generous, kick ass group of people anywhere.

If you ever have random Steemit questions or just want to chat - feel free to drop me a DM in discord. (Coruscate#6642)

Cheers and happy steeming! 🎉

Look at you being all helpful and stuff. Kudos!

Hahah aww thanks nonames. I try to be at least mildly helpful when I can. 😜

Thanks for the vote of confidence!

I will be watching the SteemMonsters space very closely :)

Thanks for the help!

Welcome!

I threw you some delegation so you can use the site more freely for now without thinking about RC like @nonameslefttouse mentioned. We need more game devs on the platform! :)

Thanks so much.

I noticed your help when @nonamesleftouse posted that helpful link!

Its certainly something i will have to get used to :)

Hey man! Welcome!

Give this guy a good upvote, there is a high chance that we will collaborate on some blockchain based games in the future. If you think that kind of thing is something you wish to see more of then your support can help a lot!

Hey @aggroed he got his steem account setup now.

Thanks mate!

Definitely looking forward to the future and the surprises it may hold!

I came here to tell you not to burn through your Resource Credits on your first day but I guess I was too late!

https://steemd.com/@devilsd

That link gives you valuable account information including two fancy little bars that show your voting power and resource credits. They both charge up over time. You get about 10 100% votes to use per day without killing your voting power too much, so save those for posts you like rather than using it like a like button. The link will also tell you how many comments or votes you can drop within your Resource Credits limit. It also tells you how long it will take to fully charge.

You'll need Steem Power. That will give you a more valuable vote and more Resource Credits. You can either buy Steem and power it up or treat this place like a video game, earn Steem, treat it like points, and level up your account by powering up your earnings. That's the free way to do it. The choice is all yours.

I hope my vote helps get you started. You won't get paid until the seventh day after publishing. Since you burned through your Resource Credits already, allow that to charge up. Don't waste your Resource credits voting for this comment and I won't take it personally if you don't respond.

If you ever have a question, feel free to stop by my blog at any time and ask away, I don't mind.

Hey thanks for the link!

Im still learning how this platform works :)

You have certainly been very helpful. I will get the hang of it eventually.

Thanks again.

@acidyo totally hooked you up. Everything I said still applies; you just have more to play with now.

So now the dark side. I sent you a link. It's safe. Not all links are safe. Sometimes bad actors step in and spam phishing links. Be careful. They dupe people into clicking, send them to a steemit clone, you're prompted to enter your key/password, they take your money. I haven't seen them around lately but it has happened, so be careful with those links.

I WILL SHIMMY UP MY SHOULDERS RIGHT UP TO YOURS.

I am so happy to see another Unreal Engine enthusiast! And it's beautiful to have your comments on some content. And I agree with you! And also like you I'm also self taught with the 3D skills I have. I love UE a lot, and I love the philosophy they put into it when they set it free. It was a great move. I also work with a fork of Blender called #bforartists which also has given me a good sense of custom creation power for UE. I am looking forward to your future posts, hope to see you around and... you've got me as your shoulder rubbing buddy.

Oh, and I had no idea you were on unreal Slackers! I also am there with the same name. I don't know where to begin there, it's a huge active community - I wouldn't know where to place my drops in the big bucket!

Welcome, and so happy to have met a likeminded creator and visionary. Can't wait to see more.

Where do you suggest to begin being a part of the Unreal Slackers community on Discord?

Thank you for the warm welcome.

Im keen to meet more Unreal Engine users on this platform and help grow its interest here.

Slackers is a great community. It has definitely grown since its humble beginnings on Slack (hence the name). If you want to become more involved just simply put yourself out there to answer questions you can in the channels that interest you the most!

Hope more artists come. The concept that social networking with your skill and art and wip's and earning from it to a degree is... a great novelty.

Hello and welcome to STEEM. Quick question, did you mean West of Sydney, not much east of Sydney unless your small town floats?

Anyway, hello from Coffs Harbour NSW. While here, you should check out @steemmonsters and see can be built from scratch on this blockchain in the way of gaming.

Hello!

Yes I did mean West of Sydney :) I was thinking backwards relative to my current location ;)

I have extended family in Coffs Harbour, was only up there not a month ago. Im already well aware of @steemmonsters and will be watching its progress closely :)

Thanks again.

Welcome to the community 😉
Seems like I have to instal Unreal again
Have fun and do not get discouraged
Every beginning is difficult.
Regards
Chapper

Welcome aboard, mate. Guessing you're in Concepcion, Chile?
I'm sure @thecastle has shown you around.
Steemmonsters, steemgg, chibera etc
Dapps are only just getting started, it's an exciting time.
Have you been following crypto long?

Thank you for the welcome!

No I dont live in Chile, i live in Australia! :)

@thecastle has been very helpful to me and he was the one that really introduced me through the Crypto market. I got into the market probably halfway through the boom at the end of last year.

It certainly is an exciting time, we are pioneers in a new age of blockchain! :)

Welcome devilsd!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hey, @devilsd.

For some of us, rambling is good. :) Actually, providing information about yourself in some detail is not rambling in my book, and very much appreciated.

Welcome to Steemit. By the size of the reception here, it looks like you are off and running. People are very interested in development here, and it would seem, games in particular. So, hopefully you will find this connecting to STEEM worthwhile to you in many ways.

STEEM Monsters is the big thing right now. Fighting opens on Sunday, I believe. Getting your perspective on it would be great, I think. From what I can tell, they've done quite a bit of work (the graphics alone are much better than what I was expecting), but haven't seen much of the game play yet. It would be good to see it from the perspective of an experienced game dev.

Good luck here. I wish you well with your STEEM endeavors, whatever they turn out to be.

Thank you for the kind words.

SteemMonsters is certainly an interesting space i will be watching closely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04