I Say "Hello World" - An App Developer's First Post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow Citizens of Earth! Though I don’t have many followers yet I figured it was about time to get my first post going on this gem of a platform. Hopefully this post can still find some love. <3

Background

andrew_n_dira.jpg

My name is Andrew and was born and raised in California. I'm fascinated with technology and physics, I love the outdoors, music and am striving to make a difference in the world--or at least leave it a little better than I found it.

I have been working as a software engineer since graduating college 8 years ago, where I studied Game and Simulation Programming. I started with C++ developing features and applications for a digital media company. I moved to mobile development (iOS) several years later and have been doing that professionally ever since. And now I have truly “discovered” blockchain 😁

BTC Memory membr-berry.jpg

I remember being in class in 2009 and overhearing some of my classmates talking about Bitcoin which sounded interesting. I understood it was a form of currency, and a very novel concept to boot. However at the time it seemed daunting to acquire, and its utilization was nil. So my practical self said “don’t worry about it”, and thus I never dove into the technology and ideology to truly appreciate the significance—well beyond a digital currency. To this day I kick myself for that, especially as a software developer.

Fast-forward to today, and I have a deeper understanding of not only what Blockchain is, but what it means. The implications are many, but to start it can unlock new potentials in our current social and economic endeavors, as well as mitigate a vast number of the constraints and exploits we currently see as well.

Why Steem(it) steem-logo.png

  • The above is one reason why I came to Steemit. Apart from the Steem platform’s ideologies—which definitely resonate with me—I joined to be involved in this new revolution, to help prove the efficacy of such a model and how all parties involved can benefit (not just a small centralized group).
    fatcat-car-small.jpg

  • The second reason I came to Steemit is to have a platform which is more receptive to such ideas. I am starting to develop a new social based mobile application. I intend for it to run on the Steem blockchain (likey via SMTs when released) and figure this could be a great platform for seeding the idea, which will come in future posts.
    stepping-up-on-my-soapbox.jpg

  • Finally the last reason why Steemit (and Steem as a platform) are their ideolgoies. Without getting into all of them, the most prevalent is a desire for substance.

    • The majority of posts on current social media powerhouses are usually devoid of much substance and original thought, mainly due to how "we" have been trained to use those platforms. Quantity wins over quality and a torrent of subpar content ensues.
    • Even worse, many posts which are of substance are often berated, misunderstood, or blindly lumped into a “group”. So much for a safe and open platform conducive to freedom of expression and one’s ideas. This is the issue I am striving to solve with my social application to come (and Steem has already laid the foundation).

    no-more-bullshit.jpg

Closing Remarks

I have always been fascinated with technology, and more specifically, the implications of its impact on the world and the plethora of facets therein. For better or worse, technology has found its way into nearly ever aspect of our lives. This demonstrates the true power of such a tool and how broadly its utilization can be applied. Like all things however, balance and equilibrium is key to a healthy and conducive relationship.

I Bid You Adieu

I hate to break it here, but for those of you who made it this far, BRAVO! I really do appreciate your interest. I would love to keep going as I do have a lot to say, but being this is geared as an “Introduce Yourself” I will stop here.

That said I will be writing up a ‘Part 2’ of sorts, addressing the issues laid out, talking a bit about blockchain, and then get into what “I” (as a software engineer and citizen of Planet Earth) plan to do about it.

Stay tuned, take care, and may the ‘Source’ be with you… always!

Want More?

If you are interested in reading more please Follow me @doon

I do have a Facebook account but do not use it much nor support the platform. You can also find me on LinkedIn @ https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrew-j-marin/

Donations:
BTC - 196djMsMaWjnAMf9g5hX5ec1EYf6swd1Em
ETH - 0xd31d499A837e11894057Cb4429aD037D16AdfBb8
XMR - 4B2PyKjCySz1LQa8iovYGGF8hwRf9xTA6B6wQCKJS415Rx3MsL4BejhN89D2U9QRSS2nvZRbQs1b8BqQNLGzMBPMR2mLFrX

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @doon! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to the community.

And a great community it is. Thanks 😁


Welcome to Steemit @doon!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

I appreciate it! Will do

Hi, doon! Wish you a very prosper journey here in this wonderful community :) Enjoy

Ah thank you. Yes "prosperity for all" is my motto.. and this platform is a great step in that direction 😁

You are very welcome. There is no doubt that this platform has offered that opportunity for all of us. There is enough pie for every single one of us if we work on it. Welcome to Steemit :)

Hello @doon, you have done an impressive intro. im really impressed with such a compact style. thats why i put a link to your intro in my post to show your post as an example to my fellows. please feel free to check it
https://steemit.com/newsteemers/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-4-1526252862-6817093

Thanks a bunch and I appreciate it! Watch out for other "Steemians" who may flag you for "promoting your content in a comment". I appreciate and don't see any issue with it, especially as it is a relevant link. However I just got hassled for doing the same thing 😒

Welcome Andrew, I am a User of the products developed by the Software Engineering, with applications for Electrical Engineering, at the moment I am studying Pyton to understand the development of applications.

Greetings from Venezuela

Ah cool! Yes software is finding its way into more and more facets and applications every day. Python is a great, versatile language which can be used for many different things. Definitely in my top 5 programming languages to know (or be familiar with).

Hello, and thanks

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📉 7d
BTCBitcoin8527.260$0.6%-13.35%
ETHEthereum685.659$0.16%-15.94%
NANONano6.313$2.39%-29.03%
STEEMSteem2.821$-1.43%-24.94%
XMRMonero205.139$2.39%-14.99%

Hi Andrew! Welcome to steemit. Here's a beginners guide i suggest you to read https://steemit.com/steemit/@ayerz/steemit-beginners-guide-short-and-simple

Awesome thank you, I will check it out! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87