Hi Steemit, My Name Is Elizabeth Vos, Journalist and Editor In Chief at Disobedient Media!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

me.jpg

Hello Steemit! My name is Elizabeth Lea Vos, I am a co-founder and current Editor in Chief at Disobedient Media. Along with my colleagues, we have attempted to bring amazing, groundbreaking anti-establishment journalism to the public. Whether it's stories regarding establishment-tied child abuse, corruption, the inordinate power of the NSA, the importance of Wikileaks or debunking the Russian-hacking narrative.

I have been cited by a number of 'real' news outlets, including The Nation. A number of amazing you tubers and larger shows like Redacted Tonight have spoken with me about a range of subjects, as well! I have also been cited a few times by Wikileaks/Assange and related accounts.

Screen Shot 2018-01-29 at 4.53.34 PM.png

A couple of media appearances:

Recently I've begun adding video content to Disobedient Media's Youtube channel, so that our audience can easily access our stories even when they don't have time to read! :)

I've also set up a Patreon account, so that those who wish to support my journalistic endeavors can easily do so!

In addition to my work with Disobedient Media, I am deeply honored to collaborate with Suzie Dawson on DecipherYou, a groundbreaking world-first journalistic initiative to study never-before-reported Snowden documents. We have made a number of important findings in the series so far!

I look forward to bringing Disobedient Media to Steemit, thank you for having me!

Sort:  

Hi Elizabeth, welcome to Steemit ✌️

Hey Elizabeth, wrote a post I thought might interest you, is about equality and conformity in respects to society, is my first post ever so I thought it may be of interest, please check it out and re-steem it if you like it :-)

https://steemit.com/politics/@georgemason/mental-health-conformity-and-equality-for-change

Welcome to steemit. You have great content to offer, I look forward to reading and hearing more.

Thank you so much! :D

Welcome!
you are so beautiful and sweet, that it is very pleasant to look at you. Good luck!

Lol thank you!

Welcome to Steem Community @elizbethleavos! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you so much!! :)


Most Welcome to this community @elizabethleavos. I can see that you are good at what you do. Awesome stuff and contents you have in there. I hope you'll do amazing here and​​ will share your life experiences and valuable insights with to us so that we can all benefit. Stay blessed! Welcome aboard! Steem on!

Thanks to people like you there is really no reason to suffer through mainstream media anymore. Just turn that noise off people.

Welcome to Steemit. We see that you have already got great support and some feedback/enquiries as well. Please remember that Steem community encourages dialogue. If you could take time to answer these queries it will go a long way in earning loyal followers to your account.

Also get to know more about Steem by reading the Steem Blue Paper and also share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative

All the Best!!!

Thanks! :) I will do my best!

It's so beautiful to have you here on steemit. I took time to come welcome you and I know you will love it here. Welcome to our family. @greatness96

Thank you!

I'm @edosweet. I'm here to welcome you specially to this platform. I'm really glad you are here and hope to see you become a great steemian. Good luck to you!

By the time I voted for you, this article was worth USD 888.00=160 Steem!
This is a great welcoming party for you here, congratulations and welcome aboard the Steemit Train!!!

I already look forward to reading your article and feel your presence rippling among us. Namaste :)

Thank you so much! It's been an amazing, awe-inspiring introduction to this platform, and I'm really excited to start learning the ropes! :) This seems like a wonderful community.

Seems like excellent content and a great range of people who are also supporting you too.
A few questions, what do you think is the biggest current issue in respects to equality and change that people can get involved in? Also, how do you feel that the mainstream media is going to react in the long term to the people creating its own media? The fact that we are no longer reliant on monopolistic sources of news and information surely means that organised change can happen much more easily, yet, with so many voices, how do we stop them all being lost in the sea of voices that now exist? Just some thoughts :-) New here too.

Hi! Thank you for the wonderful question! :) I think the biggest issue re: equality is, as you mention, equality in the media and everyone being empowered to have a voice, equal say, etc. I think great strides have been made in opening up new sources of information to people. There is definitely a lot of unavoidable chatter and even disinformation out there - as well as overt censorship - because the establishment doesn't quite know how to react to this new medium. However I would rather there be totally free speech and a lot of voices to choose from than rely on an external judgement on whose opinion should be heard.

You mentioned mainstream media: I don't think that MSM has an option in how to respond to anti-establishment press without labeling it "fake news." Right now we are seeing a huge increase specifically in censorship because there is no legitimate way that TPTB can respond to criticism.

I think for myself and a lot of other independent journalists, we have been given this amazing opportunity which we don't want to squander - and that opportunity is directly because of the fact that those involved with Wikileaks, Ed Snowden, etc, have been brave enough to provide the public with verified information about our ruling class - in their own words. So in answer to your question about how not to get lost in the noise, I would say that - as so many indie journos do - if you see someone accurately reporting on primary source material like the Wikileaks publications or Snowden files, and legitimately citing all of their conclusions in the grounding of that primary documentation, then that may be worth a listen. On the other hand If someone is discussing a rumor of a rumor with zero evidence to back it up (or even giving a dishonest interpretation of primary material), then one might want to at least take the discussion with a large grain of salt.

I don't know if that answers your very good question, but thank you for asking! Very good topics for discussion. :)

Thanks for replying :-)

I do agree, a free media is important in order to have the voices that need to be heard, especially those who are on the bottom of society. However do you think the powers at be have realised that instead of censoring us (which is blatant and more obvious form of oppression) they have allowed us to have platforms where we can speak our minds, so they can monitor what we say and think, whilst at the same time they can also fill the free media with other disinformation sources that discredit the facts. Thats not to say that the new media is bad, of course it is far better than the previous alternative, but when we are reading our alternative news sources, how do we know that they are not sources created by governments or corporations in order to control the rebellion mindset?
I think if we could verify that somehow it would be good, do you think that happens just with time? People who are more obviously genuine float to the top and then people can see them? I guess it is trust too.

I do agree that the new media is fantastic and it has the potential to alter who controls this world, but my other question is, how do you ensure that this new liberated movement is not covertly taken over by the dark side?

I agree with you, and that is definitely the dark side of the death of legacy press. There are absolutely attempts to poison the independent media well, and some of those are frustratingly successful. The only way I can think of dealing with it, from my perspective, is to try to keep reporting as accurately as possible to provide an honest counter narrative to disinformation whether it's from MSM or anywhere else. Also, there is a clear pattern with these types: They usually accuse legit indie media of being affiliated with Russians, and hate Wikileaks/Assange/Ed Snowden. Anyone who speaks in those anti-whistleblower terms should be treated with maximum caution and skepticism.

Yes I agree with that, the truth will win eventually, by its very nature it is stronger than a lie :-)

Do you ever need writers for your publication? I am definitely on the same side as all of this, and have been writing for over 20 years. Let me know.

I find it weird sometimes that all these platforms that now exist simply did not when I started out, that in itself is a massive leap forward, the democratisation of media to the people. It's definitely the start of global change.

Interesting. I thought your first question/questions were more a question about how to organize large number people for true democratic change when there is such a decentralized source of information now. In Stockholm alone there are a number of protests everyday, everyone of those drawing a few hundred people. It´s like the opportunity for people to find it´s own information the more un-organized we get? Do you see my point?

For a moment, I thought you were Betsy DeVos, US Secretary of Education!

Haha, thank God no.

Incredible! Well done! I just started myself but vintage probably isn't quite as exciting ;)

Welcome here eliz, hope you stay inspired for a long long time and enjoy it :) And yea, here the haters you will find will be around 0, not like Facebook/Twitter :)

Thank you so much!!

So good to have you here Elizabeth, welcome to Steemit!
I'm a big fan of your work, super excited to see you and @suzi3d join the community!
Also, everyone that @suzi3d is actively recruiting to the platform. It finally appears that there really is a monumental shift away from the googles/fbs/youtubes of the world towards decentralized platforms.It's really awesome to see.

Thank you so much, I massively appreciate it!! :) Yeah we have to get away from using those evil platforms anyway. I am so grateful that steemit exists as such an amazing alternative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29