Allow Me to Introduce Myself! | Husband / Father / Humanitarian / Traveler / Expat Abroad

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there Steemians!

Did you know @eoj is Joe backwards? It's true!

Hi all, my name is Joe. Really! In my continuing quest to be the Most Interesting Man on Steemit, I submit to you my #introduceyourself post. Let's go!

Here I am with my small family in a very small taxi in Kathmandu, Nepal.

@eoj introduceyourself.jpg

Left to right: @suitcasemama, @suitcasebaby, @eoj

This post has moved here: https://mapballadventures.com/about/j/

Sort:  

Very nice to 'officially' meet you and your family! It is awesome to meet people globally; I believe this is the best part of steemit. Content is equally important, but meeting and getting to know people from around the world, seeing their lives, and viewing the fabulous scenery is another component of Steemit that makes this platform worthwhile.

Thanks for sharing your world with us! You have a lovely family. :)

p.s., I get an error when I try to give a 100% at times; so you got my 99% upvote instead.

haha, THANK YOU! No worries, I'm glad I get any votes at all, I'm not checking the % :)

I agree. It's crazy, I joined Steemit on a lark, mainly to support my little crypto (now neglected) youtube channel I set up at the beginning of the year. I had no idea what to expect really. I was very pleasantly surprised! I wasn't suspecting the kindness, support, community feel - it sometimes feels very big, other times I feel like I'm bumping into the same people all the time. That's been my favorite part and has kept me here. I guess the next step is to meet people in real life!

So when are you coming out to Thailand to visit @suitcasemama and I? :)

The people is definitely the brightest factor of Steemit. I probably would have left early on if not for the friendship I’ve made on here. It is definitely not writing that keeps me here; was never a blogger or social media type and I don’t think that aspect of myself has changed.

I would love to visit your family in Thailand one day!! Perhaps when we all can earn comfortably on here, an adventure there would definitely be in the cards. 🙂

Same here! I'm fairly private/shy plus I'm a slow writer - horrible characteristics for a blogger!

We'd love to host you someday! And remember, flights can be cheap (my sister recently got a $600 round trip to Bangkok out of LA), lodging is free once you're here (just have to sign our guestbook!), and food is super cheap and super yummy :)

Welcome! Following and glad you are here.

Awesome, finally get to know you more :) happy to have you being part of @archisteem contributor too! You have great stories that I would like to spread it out to more audience.

Thanks so much @kimzwarch, that's so nice! I can't remember how I found @archisteem, but I'm loving being part of the community!

Very nice, nah let's use the word, great introduction post. Thank you for the mention. It takes me awhile sometimes to get back around to some people, hazard of how I use steemit I guess. So many new names, places and plane tails, now I am going to have to search.

Haha, please enter the plane tail competition, I think I've only gotten one or two nibbles so far! :)

Thanks again for the support @bashadow - I'm hoping the @newbieresteemday initiative turns into a first port of call for people joining the platform. I'm almost there convincing my sister to start posting, I'll definitely point her in your direction.

Warm greetings from Thailand!

Nice to meet your family! Thank you for the kind words.

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Yay, thank you @newbieresteemday, you're the best!!!!

Oh this is so cool! I love this very comprehensive look at who you are and where you've come from! Makes me happy. Good stuff.

Yay yay yay!!!! @karaelizabeth is back! I just responded to you at @starthere too. Great to see you again - I've been dropping in on @lukes.random once in a while, harassing him to harass you to get back to making posts! You're my only non-family real life friend, don't leave me here alone!!! :)

Hope all is well. We're prepping the guest room for you in Thailand. You and the mister should know: surfing in Bali is only a three hour direct flight away from us ;)

Oh that is an epic idea - Bali!! Seriously?! How cool would that be. Now I'm really dreaming. Next amazing trip...time to research!

And your harassing has worked because @lukes.random has forwarded your comments to me, so between the two of you, you've gotten me back into the swing of things! I've missed this!

Yay! Harassment, the superpower of brothers!

:)

Excellent introduction post @eoj 😊😀😁

Thank you @chrisrice. Looks like you're a new father too, how old is your little one?

Yeah, I am @eoj Baby Zac will turn 1 year old on July 16th, 2018. It will be his first birthday 😊

Congrats and happy early birthday to little Zac! @suitcasemama and I's little one just turned two :)

Ah okay @eoj so he is about one year older than baby Zac. Thank you for the birthday wishes!

On another note, I read about your experience as a humanitarian and it sounds like you have done really good work for others. I really liked your introductory post.

I also noticed that @suitcasemama is Filipina.

I am half Filipino and @emaferice is full Filipino. We live here in Davao City, Philippines. I haven't been to Thailand yet and I don't really know what it's like. Maybe @suitcasemama can compare Thailand to the Philippines in terms of cost of living and what it's like living there.

Cool! @suitcasemama is from Mindanao too! She spent a lot of time in Davao, studying and working there.

I'll let her answer for herself - but she loves it here in Thailand. I've asked her if she wants me to find a job in the Philippines, she says "no way!" :) Although in fairness, my job would probably be Manila-based, which is very different than being Bangkok-based...

Ah okay. We have a friend who was born and raised in the Philippines who also likes Thailand a lot. I didn't get to ask her why.

It sounds interesting since there is probably a reason why @suitcasemama likes Thailand and it might be the same reasons our other friend likes Thailand.

P.S. Thank you for being a part of Steemit.. both of you. I like the things you two post!

Thanks @chrisrice, I appreciate the compliment and will pass it on to @suitcasemama!

Thank you for using our FREE ReSteem Service. We hope to see you again soon.


Upvote this comment to support our mission to promote minnows ♡



Check out this link and learn how we make Steem Power FAST! → https://steemit.com/steemit/@kayyam09/how-to-get-free-delegated-steem-power-and-rise-quickly-on-steemit

Hii friend, welcome on steemit.

Have a pleasant journey. Glad to have you here.Screenshot_2018-07-09-20-56-54-602_com.canva.editor.png

Congratulations @eoj! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82