Hello. My name is Eric. I copied that from a name tag sticker. Except the part that says, "Eric." I filled that out myself.

My name is Eric and I should be at my son's piano lesson, but I stopped by a park instead. He actually doesn't need me there anymore (I figured that out one day when I was late and he was playing Rondo a la Turk just fine), and besides he told his mother that my car embarrasses him. "Screw him," I say, but it's a light screw as I love him and as any parent of a tween knows, you end up saying a lot of things under your breath as your kid leaves the room, especially after they out-lawyer you.

Here are some things you should know about me. I play the oud, which is a completely obscure instrument in the United States (except Dearborn Michigan). It's like a lute without frets and if you lived in Turkey, Kuwait, Iraq, Egypt, Lebanon, it would be like telling you I play the guitar, and if you saw me playing in the park, you wouldn't stop and ask me a damned thing but here in Portland I get all kinds of questions about it. Usually from guys. Mostly the oud is off limits but sometimes if the guy is polite and his hands look clean I will let him play my oud. I give a prepared speech about it. I'm the oud ambassador.

I live in a red house in Oregon with my wife and son, and my girlfriend lives a mile away. We used to have a Great Dane named Bijou but she died of old age and now the family has no one to sing to and I have no one to talk to during the day while I clean the airbnb. I was sort of semi-famous once leading a band called Vagabond Opera.
Eric Accordion.jpg
THIS IS WHAT I USED TO LOOK LIKE

Anyway, one of the songs our family sang towards the end of Bijou's life was "Poop Success", meaning that Bijou had pooped on her walk, instead of on the floor. Once while doing the laundry for the airbnb and Bijou's blanket, a full-blown electro swing with a brass section rendition of Poop Success was bursting in my brain, I had a whole nightclub in there and then I was singing it quietly in front of the washers. In that moment I looked down at the dirty dog blanket and around at the laundromat full of single moms and young men in sandals and thought of the old days when the band would play to thousands, radio interviews, international press. In New York, or Poland, or Portugal, I'd expand my accordion across my chest and sing a High C and ride the wave of bass and drums, cello and brass. Now I'm cleaning a dying dog's blanket, my son's gym shorts, and the grey Ikea sheets where Luke from California fucked his girlfriend (I heard them late at night through the living room floor). "So it's come to this," I thought, as I watched the blanket go around and around in the washer. "This is what forty-six years old looks like."
SO IS THIS:
EricSternOudCampelllowres.jpg

I'm on Steemit because I'm sick of facebook. I don't know anything about crypto-currency. I want to share my writing and my music. I need community. I was introduced to Steemit by @natureofbeing and @amandarichards. I wish all Steemit readers a Poop Success.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Land! Great to see you continuing to post more often now!

Hello @ericstern. Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)

@ericstern, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Hi, Eric..Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. Please let me know if you have any questions, and I will be glad to try to help out if I can. Good luck!

You're very welcome, sir.

I didn't hear of Vagabond Opera until now, so I'm very curious. I'll look up a few of your songs later! ^_^

Great. I'd recommend Eric Stern music on CD baby too. Thans for listening.

Inspirational post! You know what they say.. "To handle yourself, use your head; to handle others, use your heart."

I did not know they said that!

I am so happy that you are here, ericstern! I wish you a very enriching experience here in this very cool community with many nice people :) All the Best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @ericstern!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2523 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : May Budget Proposal.

Hello Eric, know something? I think that music in general is beautiful regardless of the instrument, we would love to have a musician like you among us! welcome to this great ocean! if you need some help in it, I invite you to be part of my community in which we will teach you everything we know to be successful on the platform and how to do things right.


firma_steemschools.gif

And always remember, the Steem Schools can make a difference!.


Join us in discord https://discord.gg/DTvaSDU.

hi @ericstern Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82