A Norwegian Guy Living in Spain Writing in English

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

A Norwegian Guy Living in Spain Writing in English fictionspawn.com.jpg

I’m a writer and illustrator who believes Blockchain technology will change the world, and I want to form part of it. Even before I heard of Blockchain I believed in decentralisation, and dreamt of a world where all human beings are free and equal both politically and economically. Hopefully we’re on the right track. I write and illustrate fiction, often dark, but not always. This is my second post here on Steemit, I published a story the other day. More will come.

I'm from Norway, but I live in Spain. My first years here were a blast. I hitchhiked down in a few days with my friend Odd and we split up when we came to Barcelona. It wasn’t the first time I went travelling, but it was the first time I wasn’t planning on going home. Menorca became the place where the real adventure began. The events on the island have been crucial for my life since then, especially people I met there and people I’ve gotten to know because of them.

From there it was a lot of roaming around, a lot of new people and experiences and a lot of plain old getting wasted. Sleeping under the stars I visited most of Spain, stopped by Portugal and travelled around France several times on my journeys up and down from Norway. Granada became my base, and still is. I was always writing and drawing, but not like now, it wasn’t really in the centre of attention. The adventure was more important.

When I first arrived I didn’t speak Spanish, but slowly you learn. In Spain Spanish is what takes you around, and some of my friends from the very beginning spoke no English at all. I had a good base for learning. People in other countries told me I had a Spanish accent on my English, I guess from adapting English for Spanish people to understand me better. Now I have the Spanish language under control, but there’s still lot to learn.

I think my Spanish helps my English a bit. Especially it’s given me more vocabulary, and a deeper understanding. English is quite a hybrid language, with a lot of words and influence both from Latin and Germanic, among other languages like Celtic and Greek. It’s one of the things I like the most about it. They say the Vikings and the British understood each other more or less. I guess Scotland was closer than England, and today as well I think I can hear a resemblance to Norwegian accent in Scottish. Maybe it’s just me, but hey, it’s not so far away after all.

In Norway we learn a lot of English in school, and we don’t translate movies, so most Norwegians have some level of English. I’ve learned a lot from travelling and reading books as well. I manage English more or less, but I know I make a lot of mistakes. Please feel free to correct any errors I make in my posts and stories in my comment fields, it will be appreciated.

So I’m still in Spain, though there’s a lot less action in my life these days. It’s probably a good thing if I want to live for a while. Now most of the adventures goes from my head to the screen and from the screen to my head. Not that I’m not doing other things, but creating and absorbing other peoples creations is what i do the most. Which is quite an adventure as well.

(All content is my own, and copyright fictionspawn.com. Please share.)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @fictionspawn! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the info! I'll keep it in mind.

Followed you! Hope to see more of you.😊Welcome @fictionspawn😁

You will. Thanks!

Hva med en amerikansk fyr som skriver i Norwegina som helst vil være i Ukraina? Velkommen! Så hyggelig å ha deg med oss. Hvis du har noen spørsmål, bare skriv dem ut her, og jeg vil prøve å hjelpe, hvis jeg kan. Lykke til!

Haha! Det var jo nesten en annen verson av det samme :D Hyggelig! Og takk! Spørsmålene dukker helt sikkert opp etterhvert som jeg lærer ;)

OK ... glad for å hjelpe hvis du noen gang trenger meg.

I am so happy that you are here, fictionspawn! Best wishes for a very fulfilling experience here in this fun-loving community :) Have Fun

Thanks a lot! I think I will ;)

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Thanks for letting me know, I'll be careful.

Welcome...your written English is excellent. Better than most English people :)

Thanks a lot! Doing my best :)

welcome, @fictionspawn. I am curious about your handle. Is it meant to be "fiction's pawn" like a chess piece or "Fiction Spawn" like the progeny of fiction ?

Haha! It's the last one. The mistake has been done before :D Thanks!


Welcome to Steemit @fictionspawn!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30