How my path towards self sufficiency led me to steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

It has been 74 days since my first post on steemit and I think it is time for a proper introduction.
My name is Stefanos and I live in a tiny village on the island of Crete, in Greece.
I like travelling, I used to be a professional photographer (but not anymore) and the last 4 years I occupy myself as a farmer. I am a rather old-fashioned guy, my photographic education and most of my work was on film, I never had a social media account before steemit and I have no idea about cryptocurrency.

What am I doing here then?

_MG_2870.jpg

That's me a Hiking day on the island of Crete, in Greece.

As a photographer it all started when, at the age of 15, I developed my first b&w print in the school’s darkroom. In a few seconds I knew that I was at the beginning of a long and wonderful journey! For more than twenty years I was living and working in Athens, the capital of Greece, I was travelling a lot and I enjoyed an easy and pleasant routine.

051a_MG_0268.jpg

The Venetian port in Chania Crete, shot before I move to the island.

The digital era caught me completely off guard. I never fully adopted the new medium or even understood how much and how fast my profession was changing. It was about at the same time that I started to feel discomfort with the life in a big city. The idea of a rural life, close to nature and towards self sufficiency became deeply rooted in my mind but the decision itself looked impossible to make.

_MG_5456-Edit-2.jpg

Nisyros. A travel story from Greece.

The summer of 2013 my girlfriend and I spent a month on the volcanic island of Nisyros. I don’t know if it was the amazing vacations or the energy of the island but it was the milestone to our decision to quit the urban way of living and move forward to new adventures.

_MG_3256.jpg

Vegan snack!

The fall found us in the middle of a turbulent transition in our lives. The decision was taken but we had no idea where we will go or how we were going to support ourselves to this (yet unknown) promise land. The whole thing had a tremendous impact on me. I started to wake up at 6 o clock in the morning, although I had never been able to wake up before 9 without the help of a persistent alarm clock till then and I followed a detox diet that, a few months ago would sound to me ridiculously strict. I quit at the same time cigarette, coffee, alcohol, sugar and every animal based food. Three months later I was a different man in a different body. I was ready for my new life.

_20061101b.jpg

The village I am living in!

In January of 2014 we made a short trip to Crete and visited the village of my late grandparents. It is a beautiful little village with only 40 residents, hugged by the craggy mountains of the northeast coast of the island. We didn’t have a proper house to live in, or enough property to rely on for an income and yet, against every reason, that place was meant to become our home.

When we returned in Athens we quit our jobs, sold the car in order to have cash and borrowed a really small and old car which was the transportation vehicle for ourselves, the dog and as much of our belongings could fit in it.

021_MG_0385-2.jpg

Winter anemone

Was it as expected?
Was it easy?
Do we regret it?

No, no and NO!

We were completely unprepared for this life that we chose. We were lacking the knowledge, the experience and the funds to make our dream come true but despite all that we are here and it is great. We have a nice house with a vegetable garden, we have rented land with fruit trees and we produce organic extra virgin olive oil that makes us proud. All of that from the scratch by two city people. If we made it, anyone can :)

01_MG_0817.jpg

Plum tree, the first stop of my Farm inspection

Captivated by all that new and fascinating doings, I had turned my back to photography, until one day I met @upheaver and he got me into the rabbit hole of steemit. The idea of sharing my archive pictures, and getting rewarded for that, sounded tempting, so I joined in. But apart from that I have found a wonderful inspiring community that helped me rediscover the joy of creating new images and led me to a second photographic childhood. This was more important for me than any reward. Now I feel that I have found a balance, that I was missing, between my old passion for photography and my new love for the land.

053_MG_7959-2.jpg

New Life!

So what you can expect to see in my blog.

I have travelled a lot (and I still do) around Greece so you’ll have the chance to read all about my travel stories and get to know hidden and unspoiled spots all over the country.
I live in Crete the biggest and most fascinating of the Greek islands so I will regularly present you hiking routes and beautiful excursions through the eyes of a local.
The rural life is a source of inspiration itself so when I have the chance I will share with you images of my daily life as a farmer.
I also like to prepare my own food so occasionally I’ll post some recipes or food related topics.
And because I like to deal with many different things maybe you’ll see much more in the future!

_MG_6533-2.jpg

Pursue your dreams, they are closer than you might think!

UPDATE: I wrote a post about my Best friend ever! to complete this introduction post.

Sort:  

Hey man, welcome!

Awesome introduction post and awesome pictures - Maybe check out @czechglobalhosts! He has a picture contest every day which could be great for you!

Where do you orginally come from? Greece? Cause your name somehow sounds german (Foto = Photo, Stef = Stefan, german form of Steven)?!

Greets,
Martin aka @theaustrianguy

Thank you so much Martin, I really appreciate your support and the resteem!
I know all about @czechglobalhosts and his contests, he has even done a presentation of me twice but thank you very much for the thought.
I am Greek, born and raised at a suburb of Athens but I skipped that part at my post and fotostef is a nickname I am using since my first email address and it is foto because photo was taken and stef from Stefanos :)

Best, Stefanos!

Hey Stefanos - very interesting read. I love Crete having visited twice but from the UK. I've also been to Athens, Kos and Nisyros amongst others. You live in a truly fascinating place I've enjoyed a bit of time at Knossos and Rethymnon and I'm due a trip to one year to ensure I see/experience Chania and Samaria. I'm sure you will find other Cretans, I only know of one on here in Heraklion. Look forward to your future posts. You might also look up @pennsif who has a passion for homesteading - I can see you would have some similar interests. Best wishes for your steemit journey. @cryptocurator

Thank you so much for coming over to read it, I am really glad that you like it!
And thank you for your thoughtful comment too! I took a look at @pennsif 's blog and it looks really interesting!
Today I was editing pictures from Samaria, I’ll post some of them soon. I crossed the gorge about 10 days ago and I have to say it definitely worth the effort, you shouldn’t miss it when you come to Crete :)
I have already posted about Nisyros if you care to check it out!
Thanks again!
Best,
Stefanos.

Hi Stefanos, one of the things I do on steemit is run a weekly radio show called The Alternative Lifestyle Show.

If you fancy coming on as a guest do let me know.

Thank you @pennsif for the invitation but I am not fluent enough in English for oral communication!

No problem. I will look out for updates in your posts.

Love the photos. You have a new follower :-)

Thank you very much @techwizardry!
I appreciate the support!

Hi! I am your greeting bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock!
You can also upvote this comment if you enjoy it! 🦄🦄🦄

Welcome to Steemit fotostef. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Wow! I LOVE this story! I'm so glad you took the effort of writing your official introduction post! There are so many brave moments in it, I love it. I would be so scared to live outside of the city :') But that image of your village took my breath away...

Wow.

This really made me thing, thanks for writing it down :-)

Thank you so much @soyrosa, I really appreciate your support!

Welcome! I look forward to seeing your photographs :-) Following you.
Simple Image Bordered Spring Break Promotion Facebook Post.jpg

Nice to see you man! Love your work and thanks for the peek into your life.

Thank you so much for coming over, I really appreciate it!

Thank you so much for
Coming over, I really
Appreciate it!

                 - fotostef


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Glad you found your new balance on Steemit. Great stuff, keep it up!

Thank you @upheaver for stopping by and for geting me into the rabbit hole of steemit :)

Hey Stefanos!!! I've been following because of your photo. I didn't know that you have such an amazing story! Very inspiring!!!

Thanks a lot Helga for checking this out! I really appreciate that you spent your time on this old post and I take that as a major compliment since you seem to be living one of the most amazing lives on my steem-world :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88