Artist. Illustrator. Artist. Illustrator. Encourager. Writer. Wanna-be Surfer. Deep Thinker. I'm new to Steemit!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Who I am, What I like, What I dislike


Hello everyone! I’m foxcauldry, I’m from Singapore and I’m brand-new to Steemit. I'm here to introduce myself and tell you why I am on Steemit.

 
I’m also new to the crypto verse, having only gotten into it just last month. It is something I’d always wanted to get into, having worked in a finance startup that planned to use the blockchain to provide services but ditched it eventually as the market and regulators just were not ready for it yet.

So it is something I’ve heard for a long time being thrown around, but I had no time or emotional capacity to get into it. It is with great fervour that I am finally here!

 
Before I dive into why I am on Steemit, I’d like to say a few things about myself.

Having taken a career break, I’m now an independent artist and illustrator. Well, don’t quote me on that, because I find it extremely odd already that I call myself that. You know, Imposter’s Syndrome and I'm not professionally trained. But that’s another topic for another day so moving on.


I used to fear cats and dogs. Since getting together with my partner who has both a cat and a dog though, I’ve learnt to (somewhat) overcome it. Don’t get me started on how I got bitten by his dog just a month ago though, which re-triggered all my bad experiences with dogs again (urgh).

 
I love Harry Potter! I first picked up the Philosopher’s Stone when I was 11. I was already considered late into it, but I am so glad I came aboard the Harry Potter "train" as a kid, like aboard the Hogwarts Express 😜

P.S: Who’s looking forward to playing the new Niantic/ PortKey Harry Potter game! It’s called HP Wizards Unite.

 
They are not doing a ton of marketing (no idea why) but I was surprised some of my Potterhead friends weren’t even aware that it exists! It’s already up on the Google Play Store for pre-registration (not sure about the App Store). The Play Store states that pre-registration period is for a maximum of 90 days - so we could be very well be playing the game before Harry’s birthday on the 31st of July 😁

I’m curious about everything and anything to do with the psychology of us as human beings; which possibly relates to just about everything in this world, since a large part of what happens in our world is dictated by human behaviour!

I have a natural aversion to and distaste for authority, perhaps explaining why I’m fascinated by the decentralisation that blockchain can bring about. I avoid extremely crowded and noisy places, and most of all I cannot and do not tolerate any form of injustice!

I love the outdoors, which is ironic given that Singapore is a city state. As a kid, I grew up in the countryside in Australia and France, so I was far removed from the hustle and bustle of city life. That is until I returned to Singapore and had to readjust my whole way of living, my mindset and so many other things. Again, this is another topic for another day!

I’ve invested in some coins and projects here and there but Steemit is something else altogether. So, why am I on Steemit?


Why I am on Steemit


I have always been interested in creating content but I find it hard to gain traction and engagement with my followers on traditional platforms such as Instagram and Facebook.

 
I may not have been doing things right in order to get user engagement, but I also think the platform is getting increasingly crowded. There are so many artist profiles that show only finished products. It feels sometimes like you have to have the most beautifully curated feed on Instagram, or else you are not headed much anywhere in terms of gaining traction, and I find that to be fundamentally flawed.
 
We're humans and ever-evolving so the process is as important as the product. Why is the process not emphasised on platforms like Instagram?

I have recently quit my job and have some big goals for the rest of the year which I will be covering in the next post (and in my upcoming video)


Goals for 2019


I know it’s already April but it’s never too late for new year resolutions - I don’t believe in making new year resolutions only on the first day of the year.

 
I think it is important to continually revisit your goals and evolve them so that they're more aligned with your overall vision in life. With this gradual tweaking of goals over time, you're that much closer to fulfilling your dreams. It's levelling up!

Go to my next post for My Goals on Steemit for 2019 🔥

That’s all folks, I hope you have a great Friday and till the next post. Byee!!~~

Sort:  

Hello!!! Nice to meet you! Im Francesca @prettynicevideo welcome to steemit and steem blockchain. I do dtube videos and im too just learning the crypto side of things. Will you be doing any illustrations on @dtube? My favorite subject is sociology and psychology. People interest me as well. So much so my friends think i read minds but i read body language. I was a bartender for 20 years. You have to know body language if you wanna be a good one. A good bartender anticipates the guest needs. Now im disabled because my country has the worst medical if you dont have money. Doctors here arent taught to help people. Just people with money. Lol. I make the best of my situations when i can. Im looking forward to following your journey!

Yes I definitely want to upload some work-in-progress shots or videos on Dtube, as well of course, the final products.. grinding and creating as much content as possible.

And learning crypto while at it. Thanks for sharing your story so concisely in this comment. I hope it gets better. And yes, I'm very much interested in human behaviour as well, and I do pick up "energies" from people which I guess could be interpreted as reading their body language too.

So interesting. I've always been a frequency kind of person. It's the only way I've been able to describe it. If the person is on my frequency it's like I can have a the best relationship, like we knew each other for years. Or like when I can tell that someone is just badd news. There so many mysteries yet to the human species is not even funny. Very interesting stuff. It's great meeting you! I look forward to your post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I know what you mean! Sometimes I "sniff out" people I know I wouldn't gel with from 10 miles away. Yes these mysteries can be so bewildering yet fascinating at the same time. Thanks for taking time to post and comment -- it really makes my day knowing there's a community here and I'm not doing this for nothing! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Omg... I cant believe you just said that. When I hug people, usually when I first meet them. I smell them. But it's not like I'm a dog no, its donr automatically, when I breathe in but my brain takes notice to smell. I remember thinking it was wierd, so I talked to my sister. I wanted to see if I was the only one... she did what any 15 year old sister would do in the 90s..... 🙄 Wait till she was mad or wanted revenge and told my school I smell people. Like dogs..... I hated her for that. I dont have that range 😂 Haaaaaa. I mysterious no doubt. 10 miles is impressive 😎 And you know what most people have every single one of these perceptions. Or senses because we have more than 5. Just because we don't understand them doesn't mean they're not there. Very interesting stuff indeed

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem! I hope that you'll be sharing your art with the community in order to gain both confidence and feedback. I hope that you're recovering well from your dog bite, both physcially and emotionally. 🤗 I hope that you have a wonderful day and please feel free to ask any questions that you may have.

We encourage everyone to explore the various posts and to leave meaningful comments on those that you wish (for example something that you enjoyed about the content or perhaps sharing a similar experience you've had). This platform thrives through interaction as it's the best way to build relationships with other Steemians while finding communities and initiatives that peak your interests.

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 25% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.

Hello @brisby thanks for the support, follow and read! this means a lot. I plan to definitely put more effort in posting my art! I should upload in the coming posts!


Welcome to Steemit @foxcauldry!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hello foxcauldry nice to meet you hope your enjoying the Steemit Blockchain glad to have you with us thanks foxcauldry enjoy

Thank you @garrettwallace. I hope I will start enjoying the Steemit ecosystem too!

You're welcome foxcauldry
And I will thank you

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome to steemit @foxcauldry.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @foxcauldry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Loading...

Harry Potter is awesome and so are you as it is never too late for goals and it is better that way as goals can be gradual towards success as opposed to theoretical and fake.

Yess!! Are you a Potterhead as well? Yes I totally agree that goals are better gradual and realistic, than otherwise! What are your goals on Steemit? I'll follow you as well :)

Yeah. I'm a Potterhead too. I need to watch all of the movies. I've only seen some of them. My goal on Steemit involves keeping a journal of my life on it. So, how are you doing, Fox Cauldry?

Great, keep it up! Journal about Potter stuff too :)

Thanks. Good idea.

Welcome to Steem foxcauldry! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83