Introducing Garth from Gunawundai Farms - Early Retiree, Farmer, Nurse, Maker, Vannie

Hello Steemit community.

My name is Garth and I have just joined the ranks of putting out content.

I have made a video introduction which I will summarize below.

My Background

I am an early retiree otherwise know as F.I.R.E. (Financially Independent; Retire Early)

After retiring 3 years ago I bought 100 acres and am slowly building it into a permaculture farm through regenerative agriculture practices. During this time I built-out and lived in a van for 2 and a half years

I am a registered nurse but retired from the corporate world dealing with business development, quality and human resources among other things.

I have also been a keen dog trainer and gardener from a youngling.

What I hope to bring to the community

On the insistence of others and a desire to help more people I want to bring the skills that I have to those who want it.

Some of the broad topics I would like to cover are

  • Early Retirement
  • Engineering a good life
  • Dog Training
  • Frugality
  • Fixing things
  • Building things
  • Vanlife
  • Permaculture / Regenerative Agriculture

What I hope to gain from creating content

I heard recently the difference between a job and work is a job is something you get paid for, work is what you do to create. So I hope to work a lot on creating good content.

My goal for putting out this content is to learn how to spread the information that I have to give.

What I won't be doing

My goal is to put out content that is designed to inform. Of course entertainment is part of good content but I will not be compromising my values or ethics. What that means is that I won't be dishonest with my opinions but I will also be the first to admit that I have made mistakes. I have made too many mistakes before today so moving forward it stands to reason that I will continue to make them in everything I do. What I will say is that I will learn from these mistakes to become a better person.

My goal is to provide those who read, watch or listen some form of value. The value may be in the form of time, money, skills or joy but this is my prime goal is to provide you with value for the time you put in.

Thank you, I look forward to interacting with a community such as Steemit.

Sort:  

Hello garthgunawundai! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Excellent article, keep it up.

Welcome to steemit
download.png

Join us on our Steemschool discord
using this link
https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

And get to learn about various niches...
Photography, arts, poetry, business amongst others...

THERE IS A 5000 SBD CONTEST GOING ON

The interesting part is we have people all over the world and we help each other grow...

There are over 6k steemian ready to support your growth on steemit

Best wishes 👏👍

Welcome to Steem, @garthgunawundai!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2916 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemSincerity on Busy and a few bug fixes.

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Thanks for that. Looking forward to getting some content up :)

Hi, garthgunawundai! Wish you an awesome journey here on this platform :) Cheers!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Ok thanks, I will check it out

Bienvenido a esta excelente plataforma de negocio. Estás cordialmente invitado a formar parte de nuestra escuela de preparación de steemit. . Puedes entrar aquí: https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Welcome to this excellent business platform. You are cordially invited to be part of our steemit preparation school. . You can enter here: https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing with us your story. I'm happy to upvote and resteem your introduction post and welcome to steemit:) by @cheneats

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Greeting @garthgunawundai! Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!

Eight days late but nevertheless, let me extend a warm welcome to you Garth. I like how well thought-out and structured your introduction post is. I am looking forward to more posts from you. I already love your couch surfing post. I hope that you will enjoy being here on steemit and that inturn it will offer you value. Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80