Introducing myself with a story! The King of Water Cups.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there, Steemit community! let me tell you a weird story that will possibly disgust you a bit. It might sound far fetched for a while, but this story is part of why i'm so excited to be joining you on this platform.

It all started when I was ten years old. Do you remember that weird kid that no one talked to in school? Well, I was the weirder kid who that kid didn't talk to. Because of my obsession with questions such as 'why are we here?' or 'what's the point of it all?' to my classmates, I came across as either stupid or.. Well, morbid.

This one specific day when we celebrated 'Lucia', as we do in Sweden to rejoice the darkest day of the year, and the turning point towards brighter and longer days. That day, I completely ruined the celebration for my entire school. On the day of Lucia celebration, many parts of Sweden is enveloped by a blanket of darkness. It is as if God or Allah or Odin or Zeus, whichever you believe, went on vacation and left the lights off. However, in the darkness, we light candles and place colourful, glimmering decorations everywhere to compensate. It is a very cozy day on which you are allowed to eat as many pasteries and drink as much glögg as you want. But I didn't like pasteries when I was a kid, neither did I drink alcohol and what the darkest day of the year meant to me was that when I would exit the school main entrance, all the bullies would be there at the same time, waiting to push my face into a small area of snow, which one or more of them had peed into. They called it 'their own Lucia tradition'. They would shove my face into the now lukewarm patch of snow with still frozen surroundings that cut my cold skin in strange shapes, whilst they yelled 'Don't eat the yellow snow!' over and over again until either one of my instinctive kicks would knock someone down, or a grownup would interfere, which sadly, almost never happened.

I had decided that I was going to get payback and perhaps put an end to the bullies 'own Lucia tradition', and so I thought up a plan. I will say beforehand, nobody got hurt and it wasn't my intention to hurt anyone either. In hindsight, I think this was more of a call for help rather than a cunning act of vengeance.

The main event, if you will, during Lucia celebration is when a group of students sings traditional songs on stage, bearing crowns of lit candles and or holding candles. Since there are a lot of students in a tight area holding a lot of candles; oxygen can get scarce, and it wasn't uncommon that someone would faint. I was not a people person, and because I had stage freight, I was given the very prestigious task of making sure that there was always filled up cups of water, for the performers to drink in between songs. Whenever there was a break between acts, everyone would swarm to me and my cups of water. I was the king of water, this made me powerful.

On this day, I had stolen one of my fathers vodka bottles and poured a good quarter of it into an empty Coca Cola bottle which I brought with me to school. My plan was to spike the water cups. It had to be just enough so that the bullies wouldn't notice to much of a difference. I knew that there would be about four or five water breaks and I figured that they would at least get tipsy and get into trouble. Of course I didn't know it then, but the fact that these kids were ten years old and the lack of oxygen, would greatly enhance their intoxication. I had prepared about fifty cups of spiked water and fifty cups of normal water. I intended to only give the spiked ones to my adversaries, but when everyone came rushing, I only managed to get one of the spiked cups to one of my targets as most of the kids just helped themselves. Nevertheless, I watched my victim pleasingly turn the cup upside down in great thirst. As he swallowed I saw a hint of surprise on his face expression, but it was followed by a shrug.

It went great, during one of the songs 'tipp tapp', I went to fill up the cups. With excitement I took out my Coca Cola bottle and went a little bit heavier on the vodka this time. When I heard the song end, I walked out again and placed a big tray on the front of the stage. The children rushed forward and I handed the bullies, who looked awfully tired, their special cups and they all emptied two or three each, before turning around again.

Near the end of the 'main event', a girl who gets chosen to play the role of saint Lucia steps forward, symbolizing the coming light. The surrounding actors are then to sing a song of praise to her, commencing the celebration. I was getting worried now. I could see their worn out expressions of tiredness and confusion. As the music teacher initiated the first line in a high pitched voice "Saint Lucia, before us stands, now as in the past, giving us yule peace", Saint Lucia vomited like a fountain, laying a blanket of silence, on top of the blanket of darkness. The only sound that could be heard was her hurling and crying, as well as two of the bullies who had started to vomit as well. If it was due to intoxication or disgust of the mush of digested pasteries, I don't know. Worried parents went up to their sick kids, trying to get them off the panic filled, oxygen deprived, vomit coated stage. I stood there like a fool. To my advantage, I looked just as shocked as the rest, because I was.
Of course everyone found out that the children in fact were intoxicated. It didn't take long before I became suspect number one after the children had convinced their parents that they didn't know how this happened. My father found the opened vodka bottle. In school I was hated for the coming years. Altho people didn't bully me anymore, they just looked away when I was present. I can't say whats better than the other. But I remember feeling incredible guilt and embarrassment, and now and again, I wished everything would go back to the way it was. I would even endure the bullies Lucia tradition, if it meant that people would see me again.

If you read this story, I cannot imagine what kind of a f'ed up guy you think I am. One thing that has changed since that day is my acceptance for myself. This is partly why i'm here. I have always loved social media, and have many times wanted to write some of my stories both fictional and true on facebook or other popular platforms, but I never dared to. I'm excited about being on Steemit because it offers something new, and if i'm lucky a place where I don't have to feel judged by old friends or bullies.

Sorry for the long post! If just one person reads this, that would make me happy. And I will probably keep posting texts either way. All the best!

IMG_3837.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit life

Welcome, gunneflo! Best wishes for a very rewarding expereince here in this wonderful community :) It is very nice to meet you.

Welcome to steemit!

@gunneflo, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

hi.. welcome to future industries.... make your posting and earn money..... don't forget to comment into commenting box of your friend, because it's jus one one to make blockchain ecosystem getting life

Welcome to Steem, @gunneflo!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2354 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.


Welcome to Steemit @gunneflo!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @gunneflo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hey @gunneflo! Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85