Oldest Steemian? My Introduction

What would a 71-year old singer-songwriter, cannabis activist and dedicated anti-authoritarian, be doing on a platform like this?

Well, my son’s (@vandigital) on here, and he’s a superb Hip-Hop writer, rapper and crypto guy, with a fine grasp of all things blockchain. Together, we decided I might be able to ‘stand out’, as I’m told you must to nudge the community into noticing you, by claiming to be the oldest regular Steemit user. That certainly looks from my browsing as if it could be true. But I’ll stop just short of pulling a Full Trump by claiming I definitely am the oldest, and let the community tell me if it’s true or not.

_DSC8784 copy.jpg

As even the stars of the genre will tell you, making a decent living writing and performing roots music is unlikely be a smart career choice. So, while that’s the work I most enjoy, I have often had to make my living writing advertising and feature film scripts, writing and producing documentary films for broadcast TV, and for the past 14 years, working in, and militating on behalf of, the so-called ‘emerging Canadian cannabis industry’. From the apostrophes, you’ll likely guess, correctly, that I don’t much like that industry. After 51 years of pretty much daily cannabis consumption, I’ve come to the conclusion that all the cannabis industry will ever do is put the plant in prison, rather than putting the people who use it in there. Although if patients and users don’t buy from the oligarchs who now control the industry, they will still end up in prison along with the plant.

_DSC8565 copy.jpg

Besides writing, performing and recording roots music, while also getting well and truly stuck right into cannabis activism, I’m interested in radical liberation politics, the gender wars, defeating authoritarians around the globe, painting and sculpture, Tottenham Hotspur, the Toronto Maple Leafs, travel, cooking and philosophy – in which subject I hold a handful of utterly useless degrees. Well, they’re useless unless you like to think. So I find myself here with the intention of staying as close as I can to being fully in touch with the world around me as it changes, and changes again. I hope that in some small way I can contribute to building this particular community of thinking, feeling, idealistic people who don’t take shit from anyone, and who support and promote independence from all authority except what they personally agree to honour. That’s my story.

Want to hear more? Visit: http://www.hallamhighwater.com

Still learning how to use this site. Comments very welcome, unless they're, um, ageist. Thanks for reading if you got this far.

Sort:  

Hello hallamhighwater! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thanks very much.

Wow! Great to have you here

Me alegra tenerte con nosotros, espero que disfutes tus actividades en esta red social.

Wow, respect sir, welcome to steemit! I’m @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.

Absolutely and forever.

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Cheers to you my friends.

We did it! Happy Steeming!

Want your own radioshow and want to help with growing the Cannabis community?

Voted 2x now following and investing in the community!

Tell me more please. Sounds intriguing.

Well I've been growing the Cannabis community here and always interesting to find new talent.

The more people learning how much you are worth? And that the reputation and investment in your account will grow.

The more we organize the stronger we become.

Do you have discord? Would love to help you set up steemauto and never waste a vote. Every 2.4 hours it recharges...

And yeah I'm very interested in helping other activists and promoting them!

And now that I see you're dog crazy, I'm even more interested. I rescue Dogues de Bordeaux, and currently live with 4 of my wife's Jack Russell Terrorists.

Welcome!! Go LEAFS go!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34