hello there steemit folk... introducing myself...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

weaver.jpg

Holy doodle! My name is weaver and I’m a lover of our mother earth, an artist, musician and all ‘round creative soul... and, i’m super thrilled to be here as a new member of the Steemit community...

How long did it take to join Steemit?

I signed up on April 25th, 2018 and my account was approved exactly 2 weeks later on May 9th, 2018... It was certainly a bit of a patience game waiting to hear when my account would be approved = felt like a while...

Being in the right place @ the right time?...
How I found out about Steemit...

Back in late April, i literally stumbled on and learned about Steemit when i was reading a blog post by the wonderful Matt Monarch of Raw Food World @mattmonarch – in that post, he mentioned D-Tube – of which i had not heard about...

For a while now, i’ve been quite frustrated with youtube with all their incessant ads one is bombarded with = it’s overkill... So, it was refreshing to learn that there was an alternative with D-Tube...

And sooo, being curious i did a google search for D-Tube... which then, eventually led me to the Steemit site...

haven-3.jpg
• one of many stunning sunsets where i live, on a beautiful gulf island, in BC Canada...
...photo by weaver © 2017

With a first look around, i was intrigued... I’ve always been open to alternative ways to earning income... and now with the changing times of uncertainty, mass-unemployment and endless rising cost of living – it’s a given we all prefer to be creating our own economy.

I saw that Steemit looked very different from what i had seen before and... to be honest was relieved to see it wasn’t a network marketing or MLM company... (whew!)...

I liked the concept of Steemit of supporting one another...

After reading some Steemit posts and watching some videos by @jerrybanfield, @brandonfrye, @kennyskitchen, @senseicat, #vincentb and others, i thought i’d join up + give Steemit a try...

So, here i am and i’m really brand new here + looking forward to "doodling vibrational currency"... i'll admit i don’t have a clue about crypto currency and the whole world of trading + investing in this realm... Years ago i had heard about bitcoin – though, didn’t know much about that either... So far, hangin' around here, it’s been cool to learn a little bit more + more... and, this seems to be one place to do just that...

I’m excited about Steemit...
and the community here... and how this platform is helping others create + build an alternative income by simply offering + supporting quality content... I’m sure others would agree it’s been quite frustrating to be offering our great content on other social media sites - who only use our content for their monetary gain... with nothing in return for us... Where's the reciprocity?... my ‘friends’ really enjoy what i have to offer... i’m quite tired of these big sites earning off us... i know a lot of folk are... and so, here we are.........
1-name-is-holy.jpg

http://www.holydoodle.com/holy-doodles/holy-doodle

I’ve recently started a new art blog just for me...
creating http://www.holydoodle.com - a project that’s been on the back-burner for way too long... i love to draw + doodle... and have been since i picked up a crayon... So, my holy doodle art blog is to help support me to get back drawing + doodling more often = having more fun + a way to share my inspirational and healing art to you + others...

If you wish, i welcome you to check out my blog at http://www.holydoodle.com... there, you can view more of my work as the blog grows and/or check out more about how ‘holy doodle’ finally came into being – check out the ‘about’ page...

For most of my life...
I’ve been an artist in many capacities and held many types of jobs... For one, in the mid-80s​, i co-owned + operated a screen-printing + design warehouse studio in North Vancouver, BC for 8 years creating and printing 1,000s of t-shirts... I’ve also worked as a free-lance graphic designer and continue to create my art in a few mediums.

iwd-poster-by-weaver-150dpi.jpg
• Poster commissioned for International Women's Day titled, 'every woman makes a difference' by weaver - in pen, ink + coloured pencils...

In my 20s, i lived + worked as an apprentice picture framer in Alert Bay, BC Canada and got to frame some pretty amazing​ cool art by many types of artists + photographers including renowned​ BC indigenous artists.

I also lived + worked in the Downtown Eastside of Vancouver, BC for 4.5 years in many different roles at Carnegie Centre at Main + Hastings Street – right in the core of the city... plus, ran a successful live-music coffeehouse for musicians who lived in the community.

5-not-decaf.jpg
http://www.holydoodle.com/holy-doodles/uh-oh-that-wasnt-decaf

I’ve always been a musician, a singer-songwriter, guitar-player, drummer/percussionist and sacred drummer... performing for many years in many types of bands, duos + trios... including as solo folk musician and even played for some musical theatre/sound effects...

Above, a video of me playing a favorite​, "Hot Buttered Rum" by Tommy Thompson of the Red Clay Ramblers...

I now live + work on a beautiful small Gulf Island...
on the West Coast of British Columbia (BC) Canada... i teach folk how to make + birth their own frame drums + create spirit art drums, rattles and other earth art for sale and custom order as part of my art...

2-my-heart-knows.jpg
http://www.holydoodle.com/holy-doodles/my-heart-knows-cuz-i-feel-it

Since childhood, i’ve always walked a spiritual path...
I love our mother earth and all her beings and committed​ to walking softly on her back... to acknowledge + honour her...

So, now after much training in a few healing modalities, I also teach and share with folk how to walk the earth path as steward of the earth.... in the year 2000 was initiated as a Reiki Master.

2reiki-montie.jpg
• one of my painted Reiki healing art drums - a 12-inch maple hoop in goat hide with the Reiki "choku rei" symbol which means, "place the power of the universe here now"...

So, that’s a bit about me...
I thank those of you who’ve read this far, for having a boo at this, my first Steemit post, ‘introducing myself’... and i look forward to contributing more content here on Steemit... sharing my ‘holy doodle’ art including my spirit art drums + rattles... and some of my photography and more...

hoop-sharing.jpg
• photo/art by weaver - shot @ Trout Lake, Vancouver, BC...

I feel this community is very cool offering a much-needed opportunity to create our own economy together – which I feel can only empower folk to step more into their life’s purpose... This platform is a grrreat way to do that by supporting each other by voting up good quality content and offering great content that means something.

I also look forward to learning more about the whole crypto ‘steem’ world and how it works...

I always welcome your comments + your ‘follow’...

Thanks for taking the time to read this far... and, thank you for this fun opportunity...

with brightest blessings...
weaver x (((o)))
http://www.holydoodle.com

7-don't-apologize.jpg
http://www.holydoodle.com/holy-doodles/june-03rd-2018

• all holy doodle art by weaver © 2014-2018 all rights reserved... http://www.holydoodle.com


• my wonder-full beautiful neighbour, Darling, who lives in our yard... video by weaver...

brightest, weaver x (((o)))

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @holydoodle!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

thank you @intro.bot for the upbote + the links!... loving it lots already....

Hello, holydoodle! I wish you the best journey here on this platform :) Be happy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

hey thanks @cheneats for the well wishes... and also for the links to connect more... brightest!

hello creative soul! welcome to Steemit and have a wonderful experience here with us ☺️

thank you @koshin - looking forward! :o)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Welcome. Lovely intro. I'm listening to you play guitar and sing as I write this. Nice background. I love Darling, love your art. Sometimes starting out is slow but with your many talents you'll do fine. Be seeing you around--following you

thank you @agmoore for taking the time to read my intro - with much appreciation!! x (((o)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27