Music’s gotta live, man. It’s gotta breathe...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

pic1.jpg


“All your strength, all your power, all your love. Everything you’ve got”- Tony Burton (Rocky IV)



The night was roaring with the storm of ages. Lightning reigned down from the skies. The world was on the verge of destruction. A thunderous surge of power came from nowhere and all when black. From the darkness came a lone warrior… He is The Hornet.

I am a poet. A vigilante. A beacon to the world that says, never stay down.

I learned music from the Carter/Cash family when I was young. Thereafter, I started writing. I began understanding how to write words that reached down deep. Down deep into someone’s soul and bring out a feeling that could give strength to those who needed it.

I fancy myself an old school bluesman. I’ve had the honor of becoming friends and playing music with some of the world’s most talented artists. Jeff Healey, Dean Hall, Warren Haynes, Eric Gales, Jack Pearson and a host of other musicians who have helped create the musician in front of you.
wh2bw.jpg

With my musical hero and friend, Warren Haynes.

Originally from a place called Yellow Creek, I was that kid who never stood a chance. I drew upon the negativity around me to harness, and become a great writer. And after three decades, I’m starting to make progress.

I hope that if you’re reading this or one of my songs/posts, you will also find that voice inside of you, that rages out to the world that you will not stay down.

Here’s a song I wrote that defines who I am. Thanks for taking the time to listen and to read this post.

"Keep on Running'"

Somewhere, out in the cold,
I feel the wind shiver me.
I think God only knows
A little part of me walked out the door.
And it keeps on going,
Ain't looking back for more.
So I'll keep on runnin'.

Somewhere in the dead of night,
My mind starts to wander
Until I make things right.
Out in the trenches with this guilt on my head.
Well, I ain't no angel, but someday I'll probably wake up dead.
But I'll keep on runnin'.
Oh, I'll keep on runnin'.
I said I'll keep on runnin' back for more.

The good Lord,
I can feel him staring.
As the sun beats down on me,
I look up to heaven.
The only friend I got, is this silhouette by my feet.
He's the only one I'll run with.
The only one who'll stand by me.
We keep on runnin'.
Oh, we keep on runnin'.
I said we'll keep on runnin' back for more.

It takes a whole lot of angels hanging over me
Gives me faith and love in the holy trinity.

Gotta keep on runnin'.
Lord, I'll keep on runnin'.
I said I'll keep on runnin' back for more.

©Jeff Hightower



“Music’s gotta live, man. It’s gotta breathe…” – Eddie Wilson ‘89

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Welcome to Steem, @hornetmusic!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2931 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Welcome to Steemit, hornetmusic! Wish you a very rewarding expereince here in this fun-loving community :) All the best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you. This is a new world to me, so here goes everything.

I hope you like it ❤️❤️❤️

Hi! I am your greeting bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Nice post from you..

Thank you. Much appreciated.

Thank you. I’m new here and just trying to figure my way through this.

Keep posting

Hi, i play piano too, but, piano portable 61 keys

G’day mate!
Awesome to see you here on Steemit!
@paintingangels has been wowing us with her incredible talents and warm, supportive friendship for quite some time so it’s wonderful to meet her man and find out that he’s incredibly talented too.
Fabulous!
Can’t wait to hear more from you.
Blessings and good vibes,
Nathan

Glad to be here. She talks a lot about how good you are. I believe the words she used were, "Incredible Talent". Let me know if I can ever help you out. Very cool meeting you. Take care boss.

Welcome to steemit Jeff. Great sounding song you've got here! Any husband of @paintingangels is a friend of mine! Cheers!

Thanks boss. She's been trying to get me on her and I finally caved. She's about the most amazing woman ever. Really glad to make new friends. Can't wait to check out what you've got going on with your page. Take care, man.

Welcome to Steem Jeff...! 💚

Thank you. Big new world for me. Serena says a lot of nice things about you. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79