2 days in Glasgow: How to spend 48 hours in Glasgow

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends
image
image
Glasgow is one of my favourite cities in the UK for a long weekend break. There’s enough to do to keep you busy and have plenty of options for things to do and places to eat, but it’s not so big and busy you’re ever going to feel overwhelmed. Glasgow is also a very walkable city so you can get around easily and see a lot in a short space of time. I even got out to Loch Lomond for an afternoon hiking trip and was back in the city by 6pm for a curry!

I was lucky enough to spend two days and two nights in Glasgow and this was my 48 hour itinerary. Massive thanks to lovely people at People Make Glasgow for helping me put this together! There are so many incredible places to eat in Glasgow so I have a whole separate post about that coming soon! My first visit to Glasgow was back in 2011 and it now feels like a completely different city thanks to all the cool bars and restaurants popping up and I loved seeing the vibrant change in the city over the past seven years.

image
image
image

Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum

We’re staying in the West End and going to Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. Kelvingrove is incredible and is just as stunning on the inside as it is on the outside. It’s the UK’s most Visited museum outside of London and it’s an absolute must-see during any trip to Glasgow. It’s the kind of place I’d describe as being a ‘friendly museum’. There are over 8,000 objects on display but you don’t feel like you need to be an art expert or a historian to appreciate them.

I loved the way one minute I’d be admiring an enormous giraffe and the next I’d be gazing at some of the most famous and precious artworks in the world. And then I’d be distracted by a huge Spitfire hanging from the ceiling and then by The Floating Heads installation which displays every emotion you can imagine.
It’s an incredible place and very familyfriendly if you’re bringing the little ones!

image
image
image

7.00pm Dinner at The Gannet

You'll feel right at home within the cosy yet stylish interior of The Gannet. It was a cold winter’s evening when I visited and the roaring lire, flickering candles, friendly staff and hearty food was just what I needed.

I began with Stornoway Black Pudding Scotch Duck Egg which put every other scotch egg I’ve ever eaten to shame. I followed my starter with Peterhead Landed Cod with Mussels but it was my dessert that really stole the show. I wasn’t going to have dessert but I was told people travel from miles around for The Gannet’s Salted Caramel Fondant with Tonka Bean Ice Cream. Oh my goodness. Words cannot do this incredible dessert justice. When you’ve had a lovely day in a new city and you’re sat by a fire with a nice glass of red wine, this fondant is the perfect end to the perfect day. Order it and thank me later.

image
image
image
Thanks

Sort:  

Very brave to try the black pudding... Great photos, thanks for sharing. I have yet to visit there.

Damn! @rcarter I saw you upvoted @iamailleen's post with some decimal percentage and went full throttle on your comment.

Thinks like this wanna make one give up on steemit.

So you came to this blog to leave me a a comment about not upvoting her more, when you didn't even leave a comment or upvote yourself?

You can quit steemit if you'd like... Seems as if you already did when you started to cash out.

All the Steem I have on here and my other accounts, I earned by investing my own USD when steemit was only $0.50... where were you until it got popular?

I reinvest all my Steem in this platform, along with other protocols built onto Steem.

Sorry bro, I am really sorry. I take back my words.

Welcome to Steem, @iamailleen!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2325 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Hey! upvoted, welcome to the platform, hope you like it here and will do well! like the work you put into this post. always fun to see content of travel-minded people. I traveled for four years and post about now, the travelbug is just always there.
Followed! keep sharing

What a colorful introduction! Thanks for the tour.

hi ! Welcome to Steemit !

your pictures are so beautiful !

giphy3.gif

Congratulations @iamailleen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @iamailleen ! Nice tour of Glasgow, great photos :) I have been to Edinburgh but never to Glasgow and I understand now I have to, asap!

Beautiful photos. I wish was there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09