Hello Steem, I am in you!steemCreated with Sketch.

image.png
This account is a persona. Why create a persona you ask? When you take part in the crypto economy, it’s a bad idea to share what your activities are in terms of what you are building and transacting in. Especially with tying your legal name, account balances, and addresses to those activities. It makes you a target for hackers, trolls, governments, etc. Anonymity can be a powerful thing for good or for evil. It can be used to join controversial conversations and speak your mind without repercussions. It can also be used escape accountability for doing damage to others. People have been doxed, or worse yet swatted just for discussing controversial ideas. This behavior is bullshit. It's so pathetic to have an argument so fundamentally weak, that you need to destroy someone's reputation or invoke violence upon them.

I want to talk about what I am doing in this ecosystem, be honest, while at the same time reduce risk. I don’t want to imply what I am doing is revolutionary or anything. Just go to Crypto Twitter and you’ll see all manner of cartoon animals and meme profile photos. I just want to explore why I feel this approach is important under certain circumstances. You could very well have a public persona tied to your real name or business, where you can disclose or share less risky information.

So why Steem? It’s hard to disconnect completely, but my goal is to divest myself from big corporate platforms like Facebook, Google, and Twitter. They do not offer equity in how they treat users, and their goal is to monetize you by any means necessary. With a decentralized platform like Steem, I monetize myself. Maybe a thousand people upvote this intro at 100% and I can buy a steak dinner, or maybe just a few do and I can buy a few Chicklets. Either way, it’s my problem. I am assuming responsibility for monetizing myself, for creating a personal brand. I am no longer relying on platforms that collude to butcher my data, package it up and sell it like flank steak. I am no longer cattle on their farm. I am no longer a hamster on their wheel. I am no longer a slave on their plantation.

I know first hand that’s it's hard to escape that world because all of your friends are there. We may never escape completely. But I can tell you this much, I am going to relegate these platforms to as insignificant a role as possible as I watch them slowly die off. Because it is what they deserve. I truly believe they will die off eventually. People are waking up.

I see a great foundation being built here, with great DApps, and an active community. I am happy to take part.

Cheers and Happy Hashing,

IBuildNodez

Sort:  

Wow! Yes!

Great to "meet" you :) I was just doing the rounds for searching for new people to say hi to. I think your going to like it here very much, welcome to what is hopefully a future option that many will get to know about!!

I was at first worried that Steemit, and the great dapps we have already, dont have advertising behind them, but then I always forget that more and more by the day are getting pissed off with the centralization and searching the alternatives!

Thanks, I'm glad what I wrote resonated. I hope this ecosystem continues to draw reasonable people away from the outrage-fueled corporate sites.

Welcome ibuildnodez!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Welcome @ibuildnodez, please joint partiko here : https://partiko.app/referral/aiyub99

Posted using Partiko Android

Come on bro, you trying to get people to click on referral links and you can't even spare an upvote with your 100% bandwidth. That's whack.

Welcome to Steem ibuildnodez! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hi! I believe @partiko is an essential part of the Steem experience! Sign up here: https://partiko.app/referral/mcoinz79

Posted using Partiko iOS

Is this a script? You'd think people fishing for referrals would at least toss in an upvote to new people. Second time today, I'm developing a pet peeve.

I have several referrals too, am giving you upvotes but only worth $0.005. Hope you don't mind.

Below are referrals to 3 best DApps on STEEM Blockchain:

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, the amount doesn't really matter. It's the thought!
Signed up for DrugWars using your referral.

Welcome to steemit @ibuildnodez.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75