"I live from day to day, and I love my work." #Introduceyourjob

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

This post is inspired by @shai-hulud in #Introduceyourjob and I think it's a great way to know each other more..


What do I call myself?


A mixed media artist/designer by profession and a traveler by heart.

I am constantly looking for something new and adventurous, For as long as I remember, I have wanted to be a creator, to make something, whether it's sculpting, sewing my own dress or sketching.


de.jpg


1 (16).jpg


I have been trying to understand where my passion lies and in the past have done jobs unrelated to fashion or art as personality developer, English teacher in NGOs, and a facilitator.
They might not be related to design but I have put my heart wherever I have worked. I love to try new things out and be innovative... and if it doesn't work, there is always something to learn from it, dust myself off and try again.


But one thing that gives me immense joy and satisfaction is creating theatrical costumes. Somehow the drama attached to theatrical costumes and the brainstorming done to create one product excites me. Working with different materials, experimenting and the whole process of creation is extremely rewarding, even tough its tiresome and makes me a madman.

200909_Art_71158 (1).jpeg


As a designer, I have been working for the last 9 years in retail stores, export houses, and design studios. I have made some mistakes of job hopping, but there was never a single time when I have shown lack of motivation or contribution it just wasn't challenging enough!


DSC06166.JPG


DESIGNER WHO ISN'T A BIG FAN OF FASHION INDUSTRY


Don't get me wrong, I love fashion, and I love all the beautiful things that this fashion universe creates and gives.

One is not just not buying clothes or accessories but buying an idea and that's exciting ..right? "I personally love having a unique expression, a style but not by the industry standards where they dictate the rules.


IMG_20170111_140950.jpg


I did masters in Women's Fashion in Italy and during my time there I would stand in front of Prada store and couldn't stop feeling bad about myself, how I couldn't fit into there size. Their window displays were amazing, I use to Look at them for hours, but at the same, it made me insufficient. It was a place where everyone was stylish, and I felt basic. A Gucci bag worth 5000 euros..."I just don't get it” On a cold night in Milan, women dressed in stockings, my freezing brain would tell me 'It's not worth it'.

It's the desperation to be unique, to stand out in the crowd that makes this industry mad.

The design industry is cruel, it's demanding, I hate looking at anorexic models, I hate looking at the uncomfortable side of fashion, and always have that feeling of getting accepted.



I am sure you will connect to me here if you have seen the current nail art trends. Beautiful it may be, but my first thought is.. why? It just looks uncomfortable and impractical for me! I just don’t understand how anyone would be able to get through a day without having their nails ripped off or accidentally stabbing themselves in the eye or even do their routine work?


After few years in the design industry, I left my high paying job and joined academics serving as a faculty for few years which allowed me to connect with new ideas and talented young people (not that I am calling myself old!)
It was satisfying for a while, but I missed actually making something, I missed handling materials and that feeling of your own creation.


So let me introduce you to my current job


I am still trying to figure what I really want to do, and currently, I am in a bubble, looking for work, trying to make some money every day, so that one day I have enough to create my sustainable design studio and make designs that I can call comfortable fashion.
Until then I continue to paint and keep my spirits up!


illustration 3.jpg


I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

Follow Me: @iTravelArts


Love. Swati ❤️

Sort:  

howdy today @itravelarts! wow this is a wonderful way for us to get to know and understand you. Are you currently able to sell your artwork to help pay living expenses?

hey, How are you doing today? did you get your chair? :D
I am not really made for marketing.. and not sure if anyone would want to buy from an amateur. ;)
Love and hugs

howdy there itravelarts! my chair..you saw that thing? lol, wasn't that hilarious? oh my gosh, too funny. we'll see how generous people are around here for something so sillly! .
hey why don't you have a marketer sell your stuff on Amazon? that way you don't have to fool with it.
I am doing well thank you, laughing alot because of the silly chair thing.
when will you be able to travel again?

When a good work is done,it doesnt need a doubke reading. Nice work @itravelarts


Welcome to Steem @itravelarts.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

I personally love having a unique expression, a style but not by the industry standards where they dictate the rules.

That's sooo me!! I too love fashion but only when it's not required to follow a certain set of rules or principles. Fashion is art and art is supposed to set you free with your imagination, not strangle you in it's obligations.

Love all your work too. It's crazy how much detail you put into it. I can clearly see a subtle hint of your style in @aishwarya di's work :)

Loved your post and how you are wanting to do something different from the mainstream! <3

Welcome to Steem, @itravelarts!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3250 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome to Steemit!! This is the link to my post. Upvote if you like it.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@cherrythinks/echoes-poem-4-death-for-life

You are welcome to steem

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome
Nice job and nice lifestyle
I’m new too check my page you may like it
Cross my fingers for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05