Steemit Introduce Yourself #1/3: I'm Jackie O - Pole Dancer, Fiddler and Engineer.

Hello Steemians! I'm Jackie O!

I'm a pole dancing, fiddle playing engineer from Toronto, Ontario, Canada, and I was introduced to the Steemit community by @jaybird and @dan-atstarlite . I love the idea of creating content to mine tokens and am fascinated by blockchain technology. I'm excited to share some of my creations, activities and musings with you all and equally excited to learn from and support this community! There's something special happening here.

I've decided to do the "introduce yourself" post a little differently and do a 3 posts for the 3 main aspects of my personality. It was too overwhelming to do all in one!! So I'm breaking it down into three. This is the first side of Jackie O: The Pole Dancer!

But... Pole Dancing is What Strippers Do!!

And therefore, I must be a stripper, right?? Well, actually, no.

Jackie-7.JPG

I took my first pole dancing class when I was in undergrad at a studio right next to the University that I walked past frequently. I was addicted almost instantly because of the challenge it presented and the obvious benchmarks for success and improvement. Almost 9 years later, I'm still hooked. A killer core and upper body workout, combined with dance and a bit of daredevil mentality makes this my absolute favourite fitness activity.

It's about more than just the fitness too. This is one of the activities I do to prove to myself that I can do ANYTHING I set my mind to. Moves and combos that I thought were impossible years ago are now some of my go-to flows and movements that feel like second-nature. Striving for those new moves keeps me motivated to stay in peak condition and reaching for that incredible rush I experience when I am able to do a new move for the first time.

Right now, Monday nights are my pole nights. My happy time. Here's a freestyle from last night in which I do a combo on a spin pole (the pole is spinning) and incorporate a few different moves:

  • Jenyne climb (forearm crossed in front of pole)
  • helicopter inversion (wide leg with one bent to get upside down)
  • butterfly/special K (when I drop my leg out)
  • extended butterfly/special K (pushing away from the pole)
  • flat line (inside leg hooked and hand supporting below)
  • closed Allegra (reaching behind the pole to grab foot and extending top leg)

I was really happy with my closed Allegra last night. I've been working on my flexibility and unlocking a whole new dimension of pole moves. It feels great to see progress in action. :D

And yes, it's always a challenge to not hit each other with the very dangerously pointy shoes...as I did in the video. Haha. :P

Here's a photo from 7 years ago for comparison, when I could only do the open Allegra:

Allegra.jpg

If anyone is curious about trying pole or has questions about anything, I'd be more than happy to discuss this awesome fitness activity with you!!

Stay tuned ;)

Jackie O

Jackie-15.JPG

Sort:  

greetings, jackie

Be very welcome to steemit social network. I've been here since February of this year and I'm really enjoying. I participate here actively every day. Here, we can learn a lot by reading other people's posts about content that interest us and we can post our own content, helping people within our areas of expertise, training our writing, making a kind of "therapy" because, writing helps us to reflect on our knowledge and we will be slightly paid for it. I hope you enjoy.

My main tip is: before you begin to post your content, read the posts by teaching staff how to use this network, about how to write good text, how are the coins sbd, steem and steem power, how to advertise your text using the discord by example, votes issues and other things.

Other than that, we are always available. If you have any questions, go ahead.

Good afternoon!!!! Welcome!!

Thanks for the tips and the welcome @julisavio!

Hi Hi😀 @jackieobermeyer. Welcom to Steem. It is a crazy awesome community. A ton of us are coming to Toronto Sept 5-8. https://www.steemcreators.com. It is going to be bananas. 🍌🍌🍌

Awesome! I'll mark it in my calendar! :D Thanks for the invite!

Welcome to the Steemit community. It's a great place to connect. I've always been fascinated by pole dancing and I have heard it's a killer workout. I have yet to try it but I keep walking by a pole dancing studio thinking today is the day, haha. Looking forward to seeing more posts from you.

Thanks for the welcome @loveself ! It is definitely an amazing workout, with the added bonus of being a ton of fun! If you've been thinking about trying it for a while, I'd definitely encourage you to jump in. It's been a very rewarding experience for me and has really helped me develop my self-confidence, self-love and a positive mindset. :) Let me know if you have any other questions about it or if there are specific things you'd like to see posts about!

Welcome to steemit @jackieobermeyer! Quite an eye opener about pole dancing, playing the fiddle halfway up a pole, wow! Enjoy!

Thanks @lizelle ! Haha, yea, that was a challenge, but I do love a good challenge! :D

Welcome from the beautiful country of South Africa!

Keep on steeming...

@sacryptocollect

Yes Jackie!

Good to see you finally got around to doing this intro. Killer moves btw ;)

Thanks @jaybird ! Yea, took me a while, but finally got over the fear of posting it! Haha. Helped to break it down into more manageable chunks. :)

Wow you're awesome and talented

Thanks so much @joanpablo ! Means a lot to me to hear that! :)

What are the activities that make you the happiest?

Looks painful skin on metal, you get many males doing it?

There is definitely a bit a pain you have to push through and you do develop callouses over time and de-sensitize your skin so it eventually doesn't hurt as much. As with anything, it gets easier and less painful the more you do it! Haha.

I've been in a couple classes that have had guys in them, but most studios cater to women and advertise themselves as "women-only" studios. I'd like to see that change and by posting about my experience with it, I hope to inspire both men and women to give it a shot!

Welcome to the community! Always great to see another poler on here. Freestyle flowing is my favorite part of pole, it's been my type of dancing long before pole but used to get shamed for being too provocative...never in the pole studio!! ;* I have taken a (far too long) break from classes and it's too much of a new hobby to justify buying my own but soon. You're helping give the inspiration to get back on the horse pole soon!

@polebird is a very active member on here and has been exploring the other similar aerial arts like Lyra and silks.

Thanks for the welcome @thedreamsteem! I absolutely love freestyle flow as well. It's one of my outlets for self-expression and pole has definitely provided the safe space in which I can do that. I used to be really careful about not posting anything with the more sensual flow movements, but I've come to realize that it's a part of me as much as any of the other movements and I think it's actually really good for the soul and the self-confidence to feel comfortable moving in that way. I'm so glad that this post has you thinking of getting back on the pole soon! Follow that bliss!! :D

Thanks for the recommendation, I'll definitely check out @polebird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10