Introduceyouself


So I'm new to the steemit platform, been looking around and it seems pretty cool. So I have come across some post and its best to do a introduce yourself post. As I was keen to post some stuff and get going it took me a couple of post to get here haha.

So why am I here?

I invested in steem and have been holding coins for some time as a investment in my portfolio. I saw a youtube video talking about the platform and thought as I've invested I might as well have a look. Sent some steem over and I'm in. I spent hours reading great content and I got it, the lightbulb moment. I have been using social media less and less with the exception of linkedin. I find in my position I cant have an outlet to just release me raw without filters. The idea of being paid to post content attracted me and thought would test it out but after reading and up voting some good posts then a few comments. For the first time I found my self wanted to write stuff down and send it out just for the sake of it and sharing what I know. the rewards didn't matter. I post what I can hopefully some of it helps.

I will be getting more involved and plan to change a lot of my steem to steem power and help where I can promoting and helping develop the platform. I'm using this as a outlet and to be able to express my opinion on topics I read without it causing damage in my professional world.

I love distributed tech for its anonymous attributes, I am not impersonating anyone I am me :) Danny from London put the together Londanny haha. I'm in the tech and finance world, a investor in blockchain, Environmentalist and a 12 year old kid in a 30 year olds body haha.

I have never been a blogger since this is a safe place for me to share some of my experience, I am posting about what comes to mind. It's going to be a bit varied until I find something that clicks. Any advice will be appreciated I mean what do I write about. Ideally I don't want to discuss investing advice. I am going to keep playing around and see what feels right. I'm more here to see what others are creating and bring new people on to the platform. It's 5 now and counting, everyone I meet I get on in now.

What will I become? Honestly fuck knows, I know a lot about some random things but I doubt anyone would be interested. Hopefully I find something more interesting to talk about the you guys want to hear. Anyway keep smiling, going to go to the prancing pony to meet one eyed Paul for a pint before battering down the hatches and getting some sleep from staring at screens all day trading.

Everyone asks what am I invested in honestly loads of things do your own research but as a 5 top holdings I'm growing at the moment are EOS, ZIL, ONT, ICX, of course STEEM ;) If you have any input on any of the mentioned coins I would be very keen to hear you opinions. I'm here to learn as well as share.

I came to steemit looking for profits and instead find my self typing and reading content all the time.so much better than facebook or the other noise. Probally because more tech geeks like me here haha and content is more relevant. loving the travel channel :) want to go away soon, somewhere hot and can party that is not Ibiza.. Any suggestions???

Much Love

Danny

Sort:  

Hello londanny! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thanks for the advice, I have got my head around and got my steem power up to 100 now :) I'm going to have a look around the steem eco system before I bring big amounts across from my investments. I'm worried if I deposited all my steem I would have more Steem monsters than money 😂

The bidding as well it feels like when I first heard about bitcoin, but I'm learning. I wasted a lot of voting power in the early stages, Now I understand :) Hard to get your head around, how some votes are worth more than others.
tenor (1).gif
So many new keys to save, I feel loke my like is just remembering keys now.

Welcome nice to have you here , maybe you are at joining when steem is at a really low price . I highly recommend you do what ever possible to get to 15 steem power.

thanks for the advice I'm going to be adding more today, why 15? whats significant about 15?

Steemit delegates 15 steempower when you start . I have done the numbers and it seems 15 is currently about the equal share of owning one bitcoin . Of course keep in mind that steem has no limit . Now you need to make sure to use 10-11 votes per day. No more no less . @100%
Best is one every 144 minutes and 4 while your sleeping . This way you keep growing your account to always be equal to one BTC . If you just leave it and not participate you will lose all your money eventually . Check out steem.supply and steemblockexplorer.com Good Luck and welcome.

I have been upvoting content I liked maybe more than 11. I sent over £100 worth of steem and powered up something like 71 steem power. This enough, it seems when I upvote people they earn money now. This is a strange platform, I like it but seems open to manipulation and whales controlling who get paid. If I was to deposit £100k of steem I would control steem?

Your voting power regenerates 20% every 24 hours or 1% every 72 minutes . My goal is to have it full when I wake up everyday. Yes there are some big whales that control things but that’s part of it. Don’t go crazy on here and have fun.

I have just been watching a video that explains this. Interesting will try it out before depositing some more. Is there a way to see what my voting power is? Thanks for this it has probably saved me losing all my voting power haha 👍

Yes on www.steemblockexplorer.com
Also go to Steem.supply . Also as long as whales are abusive don’t feel ashamed in using the votes to help yourself .

just signed in to steem connect and see my voting power is down to 38%. I'm learning. So if I have steem in my Steemit account I can pay for say steem monsters with my normal balance? Again sorry to be a noob. Will let my voting power build up a bit

Hello, londanny! Best wishes for an awesome journey here in this awesome community :) Be happy!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Will check them out, cheers

Welcome to Steem, @londanny!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2931 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Can anyone verify this? Thanks bots :)

Congratulations @londanny! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88