It Has Been A Year, Time To Introduce Myself?

My wife joined steemit just over a year ago, about a week later she convinced me to get an account. I did not do much with it at first, I still have a "day job." She has helped keep me going for a full year now and that auspicious time to reflect made me realize I have yet to do a proper "introduce yourself post" yet. Seems like it is about time to fix that.

By day, I am an RN in a rural hospital in Idaho. I put in long days, 12.5 hour shifts and a commute that is just shy of an hour one way. When I am "off work" I do whatever needs done. Today it was new wheel bearings on the old Chevy Cobalt that was the subject of one of my first steemit posts; a "How To" on changing the headlights on the little beast. The exciting part of this mechanical adventure is I did it in my garage. I have never worked on my car in my garage in my life and I am pushing 60. I have worked on my own car since I was 15. I have worked on my car on the side of the road, in the gravel, in the mud, in the rain, in the blazing sun, with people honking and flipping fingers at me. Today, I worked on the level, concrete floor of my garage. With a fan -that was pretty cool in several ways! 😁

20180809_112107.jpg

Lost part count: ZERO

The other thing I do in my "free time" these days is work on the little trailer we put on the lower property. Some people do McMasions, we are going HicMansion... a 2 bedroom, 1 bath "midcentury" manufactured home... Lol! Today I worked on installing our maple floor, the nice craigslist deal we scored a few weeks ago. It is really brightening the place up. The old rug was filthy and smelled like hell, the place is much more pleasant now. Still, the used boards are shaped like the house they were in, so there is some resistance to smooth installation. I had to tackle the biggest challenge today, moving the wood stove and stone hearth.


I walked the stove into the kitchen

20180810_141739.jpg

The hearth was much lighter and easier to move out of the way.

I do occasionally actually get time to just play. I never met a hobby I did not like, but I will just hit a few favorites today. I like to rockhound...
www.kizoa.com_20180513_090014.jpg

Arkansas Diamond Mine

I love boating, whitewater rafting and sailing are my favorites.
SUNP0156 (2).JPG

Snake River, Hell's Canyon

I REALLY enjoy a good hot spring and cold Fat Tire beer.
20180519_143028.jpg

Sand Dunes Hot Spring, Colorado*

I like stackin' the shiny, I am not a fan of the fiat.
DSCF2014.JPG

That is a real asset

I love permaculture and homesteading. Those baby cows are also real assets and adorable.
20180413_085303.jpg

Biblical wealth piling up in the pasture

Most of all, I love spending time with my family. These princesses make me feel like a king.
20180411_150540.jpg

They will be grown up too soon, I cherish these moments

I will close the list with STEEMIT. I love steemit. I know it gets frustrating for a lot of people but as I mentioned, I have a day job. To come home and see that my steemit post made ANYTHING pleases me tremendously. That is all money I did NOT have to "earn" at an hourly rate. I just live my life and post about it when I can get a moment - and that makes me a little crypto?! Yeah, I love steemit. I want to say "thank you" to the fine folks in @thealliance for their support, it has been a pleasure being part of that wonderful group!

Last word: Special thanks to fishyculture for introducing me to steemit, and sharing my life.

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-09_12-52-21.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @longsilver! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

💖❤️️❣️😘

Love You

Good lookin tangibles😎 happy Steemiversary and welcome to Steemit?

Thanks, I love the tangibles. Thanks for your support.


Welcome to Steem @longsilver.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks I will give then a read.

So great post and great pictures. You have interests that appeal to me, I am also keen to use nature and harvest of nature's crop. I also thought it was important to live in covenant with nature and manage it in a good way. nice and inspiring post, thank you for sharing.😀👍I will follow you.

Thank You, I will follow your blog as well.

Congratulations on 1 year on Steemit,@longsilver! Glad you got around to introducing yourself! 🤣 Better late than never! I know what you mean about family and especially grandchildren! I don't depend on Steemit for my money either but sure is nice to see something coming in makes me happy too.

Thank you. It has been a great to get to know you a little over the last year. Thanks for all your support.

@longsilver Great Post and it's nice to see an introduction such as yours! I am new here and am still finding my way and have yet to make a post of my own yet. Just got approved and was able to login today for the first time. I enjoyed your post and Hope to see more of you here. Have a blessed day!

Thank You and welcome to Steemit. It sure pays a lot better than Facebook.

It's never too late to introduce yourself. ;)

Honestly, Your post is so refreshing! I love to see a tiny bit of people's lives and this introduce yourself is really heartwarming.

Thanks, it takes a little time to figure out how things work here, but it was a great year.

Welcome to Steem, @longsilver!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3237 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.19 : Updated Boost Button - Collaboration announcement - Earn more with SteemPlus points.

Congratulations @longsilver! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80