MY VOYAGE INTO THE GAME INDUSTRY

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

It has always been my dream to own a gaming studio, and I thought it was high time I made good on this dream. So, I did what any man in my shoes would do – research about owning an indie game studio. I read a lot of content about people that had failed trying to create the next big thing. It seemed there was more failure in the gaming industry than other places. This wasn’t the first time I would venture into something were it looked like the road ahead was steep. I couldn’t afford to be discouraged before I even started. Little did I know that this was just the tip of the iceberg.

Then, there was the issue of which game to create. I had several ideas, but who doesn’t? Even those before me thought theirs was the best. I had to make sure that this idea was a viable one. After much deliberation I settled for a boxing game. My alter ego (“James”) told me that this could be done within 3 months. “Isn’t it just two people hitting themselves?” He said.

I remember looking at the ceiling with a big smile on my face, I had ticked the first thing off my checklist. Next, was finding a game engine that I would use to create this world class game. “Indecision is a virus that can run through an army and destroy its will to win or even to survive.” This quote is a better way to describe what plagued me for the next couple of weeks. There was Unreal Engine, but I didn’t know C++ and hated programming in blueprints. Unity was another obvious choice, but I hated the licensing issue and other internal problems (such as the workflow and engine flaws that came with it). Other game engines didn’t cut it for me. That was when I encountered ‘Godot engine’. It was open-source and ticked some of the things I required from the engine that would be used for creating my game. The only problem was that it is still in development and didn’t have some of the features I needed, but nonetheless could be hacked into it one way or the other.
godot3-yafd-adventure_time.jpg
[preview of Godot 3]

All this time I didn’t know the workload of building a game alone would drive me crazy. It was time to get a team. I met a lot of good programmers and 3d artist willing to help me create my dream game. After days of interviews and promises I finally got a team. I had an army and now it was time to conquer the world. The problem with this team was that, they were all C# programmers (from Unity) and some had never worked on a game engine. That’s what you get when you don’t have money to pay everyone in your team. I thought the promise of revenue-share from the millions we were going to make was going to keep everyone in line. Little did I know what lay ahead.
boxertattoo.jpg
[we managed to pull this and other things off though]

My army didn’t even survive long enough to fight a battle, it disintegrated along the way. No team, no money, and a broken dream. If you’ve ever felt devastated from failure, then you will know how I felt. There was a silver lining though, a bunch of lessons – which I will share in a later post. Like any great general before me, I healed from my wounds and went back to the drawing board to plan my next battle in the game industry. This time around I will let my lessons guard me and try to squash any enemy(problems) that dared challenge me.

Sort:  

Good luck! Upvoted to help you on your journey! LOVE the artistic first pic!

Welcome to Steem, @louie3!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3043 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

"No team, no money, and a broken dream"
Happened to me too. All the sorrow is temporary, but experience is earned forever.

Like in a game. Once you reach level 2 and redistribute the skill points you aren't going back to level 1 :)

True! I will keep trying till I get there. I think I'm in level two though...lol

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Good luck on your next project! I hope you have great success!

Hey its cool to see Godot getting some sort of love on here! Since version 3 came out I've dived in trying to make a ridiculous 3D game myself. Getting a team to start out in game development is a very difficult thing to do so I can feel your pain.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by louie3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 53.30% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @louie3!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Congratulations @louie3! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Setting up a game studio is a very good thing. Everyone in the current society needs games to entertain. He can't live without people's lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06