Hi, this is Lu Wee from Malaysia :)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys,

@luweetang here and this is my first ever post on Steemit. I've had this account for about 3 weeks now and to be honest, was a little afraid of posting here (it's always a little scary to do something for the first time eh?). In a way, I kept feeling like the new kid in the class.

But today, I've decided today to take the leap and finally publish my introduction post!

'* deep breath *

Here goes:

So who am I and what am I doing here?

I'm Lu Wee, a 29-year old from Malaysia. In my past life, I worked as an offshore engineer in the oil and gas industry for four years before quitting that job to focus on a few projects and business opportunities.

This is me in my jumpsuit and earmuffs taking a helicopter to the middle of the ocean for work back then:

20150625_071632.jpg

It was truly my dream job because back when I was a student in university people always told me: 'It's not going to be easy for a woman to work in oil & gas, let alone offshore.'

So when I set foot on my first rig one year after I got my degree, I felt like the mission I had set for myself was accomplished. For the first few years, things were fun. I enjoyed learning to jump off a platform and getting out of a submerged helicopter. The job itself was technically challenging, which I enjoyed very much.

But over time, I started craving interactions outside of the human-machine ones I was constantly faced with. I began feeling out of touch with the world outside of my job.

As the world began moving more and more towards digital, I felt outdated in my mostly analog world.

Since the job was also very travel-intensive and sometimes had an unpredictable schedule, my personal life was starting to get affected. I was missing out on a lot of really important things that were happening at home like the birthdays of my family and friends as well as seeing my nephews grow up.

So, when the opportunity presented itself and something bad happened at work, I took it as a sign to move on.

Although I've enjoyed my life after quitting, I have to admit, the one thing that I miss about working offshore are views like these:
20150604_061216.jpg

20150604_062406.jpg

Can anyone really get enough of sunsets and vast oceans? I know I couldn't!

After I quit my job I began to focus on my long-time passion for business, making money online, writing, drawing, photography, fitness, investing and traveling.

My passion for making money online led me here to Steemit when I connected with @awesomianist after sharing an Instagram story about my AdSense earnings:

first50adsense.jpeg

He sent me a DM about how he was making money online using Steemit. I had heard about Steemit before that but nobody had bothered to give me as much detail as Kristian.

We eventually met up and he gave me a good overview of how to get started and even sponsored an account for me. (Thank you so much @awesomianist!)

But even with an account in hand I didn't really know what to do. Although I have blogged on Wordpress for almost a decade now, writing on Steemit felt different enough to feel intimidating.

The only thing that pushed me on was thinking about the 8USD Kristian had spent on sponsoring an account for me. Shouldn't let that go to waste, should I? :)

So that's the short introduction about me. The rest of it will be revealed as I post more here.

Now, here's what to expect from me:

1. Stories about my learning journey

I'm pretty new to cryptocurrency. All I know about cryptocurrency are the highs and lows of bitcoin. That's a pretty limited view, I'm aware. So I've decided to dedicate a good portion of my content here on Steemit to discuss talk about my journey in learning about blockchain and cryptocurrency.

I'm hoping that this kind of content will help me connect with beginners just like me :)

To keep myself motivated I've decided to give myself a small challenge of getting 10,000 followers here. I don't really know when or if I can actually achieve this but I'm going to do my best.

I find that it is a lot easier for me to work on something when I have a target to aim for. Do let me know though if there is a much better metric I can measure as a beginner :)

2. The Relationship Between Economics and Cryptocurrencies and the Future of Money

Although I am by no means an expert, economics is something I'm pretty passionate about. I follow the works of popular economics like Joseph Stiglitz and Daniel Kahneman. I also like to think about the future of money. One of my favorite books about the belief in money is Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari.

23198201.jpg

I'm pretty keen on topics which explore where money is headed and even more interested in what that means for cryptocurrencies.

3. The Status of Cryptocurrencies in Malaysia

There is a small but growing group of Malaysians who are involved in the cryptocurrency scene. I'd like to join them on contributing to this. I'm probably way behind but I'm willing to learn along the way.

4. Personal Development Stories

I have been writing stories for a long time on my own blog. These are stories about things I learned from the experiences I had. From time to time, I release fictional short stories as well.

So if you are into that kinda thing, then we should definitely connect :)

5. Other stuff: Tech curations, Photography, Art and SEO

While I wouldn't call myself a tech enthusiast, I do like the occasional interesting new, shiny thing I find online :) So every now and then, I expect to be sharing some cool stuff I find online with you.

I also like to take photos so I'll probably share some photos with you here as well.

Outside of Steemit I keep a website with guides on how to start and grow businesses in Malaysia. I've managed to grow this site from 100 visitors to over 20,000 in the last 2 years. If you are interested to learn how to do this, I'll be sharing this as well.


That's all about me for now!

In summary, if you...

... are a beginner in cryptocurrency and want to get to know someone in the same journey,
... like to read stories,
... like to stumble upon some interesting things online related to tech, art and photography,

or, basically just like to make friends with strangers online, let's connect!

Leave a few lines about yourself in the comments below and a link to your introduction post would be great :)

Sort:  

Hello luweetang! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome nice to have you here , maybe you are lucky to be joining when steem is at a really low price . When price is low less people are posting and you have a better chance to earn steem . I highly recommend you post a lot and keep on posting . Till you get to at least 15 Steem Power. Don’t give up . I don’t recommend you buy Steem Power but I do recommend you post often till you get to 15 Steem Power. If you can not post go ahead and make sure to vote at least 6 times when you wake up and 4 times when you are going to bed . No more and no less.

Thanks for the tips @richard-921! I'm happy to be here :) I'm still getting the hang of things here. Hopefully I can learn more from more experienced users like yourself =)

Your welcome

Welcome to Steem, @luweetang!

Hi @thanhtam! Glad to be here :D

Welcome onboard!!! The ocean and sunset view are BEAUTIFUL! Can never get enough of that view...

Thank you Eliza! Happy to be here! I'd love to get some more :D

Hello Lu,
thanks for sharing, I wish you good luck :)
have a good time.
best regards @tommithomson

Thanks @tommithomson! Looking forward to exploring :)

Welcome to steemit @luweetang. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

@luweetang, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Alright got it! Thanks!

Welcome to steemit Family. Keep your password secure.
Some links that may help you.
Check stats on Busy
Check stats on SteemD
Check stats on Steemauto
Check stats on steempeak
Dtube
Enjoy your Journey on Steemit
Thanks
Asad

Hey @luweetang welcome to steemit, I hope you have a great time blogging and sharing your stories on the platform. Always great to see some fresh faces coming through. I'm currently running a new competition for smaller accounts to enter their posts and win some SBD, if you're keen here is the link - https://steemit.com/giveaway/@chekohler/800-follower-milestone-giveaway-13-july-2018

Hey @chekohler, thanks for the link! Will definitely check out the campaign :)

A BIG BIG Welcome to Steemit! You know, I think the best part about this site is that creativ people like you can share amazing posts like this to the community! I'm sure you'll find the platform beautiful! Looking at this post I can definitely tell how talented and creative you are! This is definitely a place for you. Show the world more of your breathtaking work and believe me, Steemit will reward your talent but it requires hard work! I'm no expert though I'm certain you'll do a great job on this platform!

All the best for you and your journey through this website! Visit me if you'd love to read a few stories and such! I'm definitely looking forward to hearing from you!

kirby_loves_you_by_tails090-d8xjhif.png

Kirby loves you! <3

Hi there, nice knowing you too! Awesome stuff there with your stories =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17