Hey Steemers... Introducing me; Martinique. Myself; Matinino. and I; The Anxious Artist.

Hey Steemers

I'm new here and very very excited to be joining this awesome community.
I am Martinique du Toit aka Matinino, from Cape Town, South Africa.

IMG_20180123_070809_1.jpg

I am a full time musician and creative, so from me you guys will be seeing a lot of ...

Music

Capture.JPG

Photography

IMG_20171016_125754.jpg

Art

IMG_20180509_164805.jpg

Music Videos

daughter still.PNG

IMG_20180513_071746.jpg

LIVE shows

11259741_967021279982545_6984439257292442048_n.jpg

arb videos at 3 in the morning,
and the general banter revolving around what it means to be a creative freelancer in today's society..
This actually goes hand in hand with the fact that I am also eager to openly discuss and debate the subject of mental "illness" among artists in general.

not_this_shit_again-vi.jpg

(This is where you leave this page if you cannot stand artists discussing one of the causes for creativity)

So many of my friends and fellow artists have now been diagnosed with bipolar, general anxiety disorder and/or ADD.
Many of these artists have psychiatrists throwing meds at them for conditions that from a distance seem to fit the profile of any other mentally ill individual. What I have found though is that so so many of these creative are not mentally "ill" but mentally "alive"

... seeing, feeling, hearing and tasting life through a highly saturated filter that makes it all seem... well... seriously overwhelming at times.

Who needs acid when you have anxiety?

IMG-20180424-WA0030.jpg

This is why we can create. This is why we can compose. Because we mirror life to you in the multicolours and multi-dimensions that is experiencing life with high intensity.

But as many of us know... it is not an easy path to walk...
so may this blog also be an ode to those who are willing to talk about the road they have walked
and are able to either have a laugh or seriously discuss serious issues often overlooked..

Brisbane-Powerhouse-Hannah-Gadsby-2017.jpg

... Hanna Gadsby

Jenny-Lawson-for-Web.jpg

...Jenny Lawson

... these people inspire me...
people that open up about these and other controversial subjects.
Subjects that really,
80% live through every day. But do not want to talk about.

On this blog...
I reserve the right to not have an opinion.
I just want to share my journey and am eager to hear and share the roads others in my situation have taken.

This is a blog to share stories...
BUT also.
Its still my blog so I will post all sorts of random content...

I am the subject of my own experiment... my own blog...
one that is not limited to one genre or subject...

So dont worry this wont be limited to a pitty fest for mental ilness...
It will be about comedy, music, creativity, film, important shit, unimportant shit, my stuff, other peoples stuff,
all funneling down to one main theme:
Being an individual, today,
in the age of anxiety.

this will be a cacophony of all the crazy "kak" (afrikaans word for shit) that goes on in the head of me.

The Anxious fucking Artist.

Drop the mic.

Regards
Martinique du Toit
Matinino
The Anxious Artist

High Resolution Matinino Music  Killkenny Photography 23.jpg!

Sort:  

Hello matinino! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome nice to have you here , maybe you are lucky to be joining when steem is at a really low price . When price is low less people are posting and you have a better chance to earn steem . I highly recommend you post a lot and keep on posting . Till you get to at least 15 Steem Power. Don’t give up . I don’t recommend you buy Steem Power but I do recommend you post often till you get to 15 Steem Power. If you can not post go ahead and make sure to vote at least 6 times when you wake up and 4 times when you are going to bed.

Hello, and welcome to steemit!
I'm looking forward to seeing more of what you decide to post!
As a person with long term depression and anxiety who is also somewhat creative, I understand a bit of what you refer to when you talk about creativity and anxiety.

Welcome to Steem, @matinino!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3043 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

I love to sing, dance, draw, film, create, design, I'm Joey Oatmeal, and I love your hair, love South Africa. You are lovely and smart.

Hey girl! Welcome to Steemit!! I can't wait to see what you post in the future. I hope you keep at it. I've featured you in a little curation post I've done today, I hope that is okay and sends you some new followers! ♥
Much love and luck to you!
♥- Serena

Hello and welcome :)
thanks for sharing.
have a good time here ;)
best regards @tommithomson

LOL at the thumbnail picture (¬‿¬)

Congratulations @matinino! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I just fall into those eyes on your digital album cover art!

I just fall into
Those eyes on your digital
Album cover art!

                 - ecoinstant


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74