QUESTION ABOUT POSTING MUSIC - Lijadu Sisters

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi, my name is Alex and I'm new to Steemit. (Actually, I'm a member since last June, but recently started posting again.)

I've been think of what to start posting on my Steemit blog. I've been searching the last days to see what other users post on Steemit, the variety is vast and I would like to focus on some stuff more so there is some kind of coherence to my blog and not total randomness. I'm still figuring this out.

One thing I personally enjoy doing is listening to music, and especially discovering new music.
So I thought to maybe start posting about musicians I have discovered. I was researching about plagiarism on Steemit and found that even if it isn't clear about the rules and regulations on what you can post, nevertheless it's an unwritten rule to not post stuff as if they are your own original content.

My question is if I post a particular song from a band, perhaps a video of an interview and write something small about the band, would that be considered plagiarism because I'm posting content from YouTube and other sites? Even if I don't post it as if I produced all the content.

Example of a post would be the one below:

LIJADU SISTERS - NIGERIA

"a West African parallel to the Pointer Sisters"
Jon Pareles - New York Times

I recently discovered The Lijadu Sisters from Nigeria and I absolutely love this song. Enjoy.

Lijadu Sisters - Come On Home

"The Lijadu Sisters, Taiwo and Kehinde Lijadu, are identical twin sisters from Nigeria[4] who were an important music duet from the mid-1960s to the 1980s. They achieved success in Nigeria[5] and had modest influence in the United States and Europe. They were notable for being a West African version of the Pointer Sisters who mixed Afrobeat sounds with jazz and disco, according to one source.[1] Since the late 1980s, they retired from the music scene."

From Wikipedia page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lijadu_Sisters

The Lijadu Sisters in rehearsal and conversation.

QUESTIONS

  1. Do you think the post above is OK to post and not really count as plagiarism?
  2. Do you enjoy posts like this? Should I continue posting stuff like this once in a while?
  3. Would the Wikipedia link or the small paragraph copy-pasted from Wikipedia be plagiarism?

Any comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated and help me figure out what exactly is appropriate, relevant and even desirable.

THANKS
Alex @namazu

Sort:  

Greetings, namazu! I wish you a very fulfilling experience here in this loving and caring community :) Be happy!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Congratulations @namazu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29