Arrival of the Narwhal

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My taken name is 0111narwhalz, though due to username restrictions I have taken the name narwhalz0111 here. Simply "Narwhalz" is sufficient for conversation. My substrate resides in the lowlands of southern California, where I attend university. I am majoring in mechanical engineering.
My interests are manifold, ranging from this:

A trip to the local mountain bike park.

to this:

Pictured: Arduino Uno, two prototyping shields, a motor shield, a LEGO Mindstorms interface shield, a PWM shield, ten infrared rangefinders, and five ultrasound rangefinders.

I occupy myself with activities such as this…

My book collection, or at least half of the physical portion.

…this…

Keying your car… in spaaaace!

…an unhealthy amount of this…

Kerbal Space Program; craft used is the Rocjet, a single-stage-to-orbit cargo spaceplane.
Mods: B9 Aerospace, Karbonite Plus, Hangar Mod, B9 Procedural Wings

…this…

A view of Jool, rendered with Blender Cycles

…this…

Some glass I made with my lens

…more of this than I care to admit…

Severely broken graphics drivers during a new Linux Mint installation

…programming, and several writing projects.
I plan to share no less than several of these activities with you-that-are-Steemit in the coming months. Expect lots of sci-fi (with… extensive worldbuilding sessions), code, gaming, art, and some outdoors stuff.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Hello narwhalz0111! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem Community @narwhalz0111! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

WooHoo! Cant wait to follow your sci-fi writing posts!

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Wow, thanks!

@narwhalz0111, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Yay!!!! I am so glad to see you on Steemit!!!! Welcome!

Happy to me here. It took me long enough to actually click the post button.

Congratulation to join us on steemit. you are so lucky to joned in thsi blog site.i hope you will write a good article fo this bolge.
DQmd6ERx4MGTrjgwr4LebdFhwdh1vSD3e8ReJ31NSJgfDmF.jpeg

Thanks! I'll publish the first chapter of one of my stories tomorrow—stay tuned!

Welcome to steemit. Enjoy your stay here in peace

Hi @narwhalz0111. I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!!!

Welcome aboard here seems like we have a lot in common! I run @shadowbot here if you are interested in checking it out!

In order to really make things fun here and get engagement started, I propose a challenge/contest to all Steemians:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bigdeej/let-s-all-get-active-on-here-again-contest-with-some-big-prizes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36