How I cut my insulin use by 50% within a week as a Type 1 Diabetic

I found the perfect lifestyle that allowed me to cut my insulin use by 50% while eating more and more carbs as a type 1 diabetic

My name is Miri, I am a 26-year-old girl who was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes in November 2016. Since then I've tried many diets and fads in order to improve my condition until I have finally found the perfect lifestyle that has enormously helped me get control back over my disease.

Following a Low-Fat, Plant-Based, Whole Food Diet is the best thing that could have happened to me in terms of diabetes!

  • It allows me to eat huge amounts of food without any calorie restriction

  • I can eat tons of fruits without having blood sugar spikes

  • I have 100% control over my blood glucose level

  • I'm full of energy all the time

  • My insulin sensitivity is higher than ever before

  • My insulin needs is lower than ever

  • I have reached my ideal body weight I had always dreamed of

blogra.jpg

This diet is suitable for everyone living either with type 1 diabetes, type 2 diabetes or insulin resistance. In fact, following a low-fat, plant-based, whole food diet has proven to prevent and even reverse type 2 diabetes. This nutritional therapy has been tested by thousands of people and its extraordinary results have been documented in medical studies. I’ve seen numerous people who have already reversed type 2 diabetes or insulin resistance due to following this lifestyle, and many type 1 diabetics who get by with using significantly less medication and are able to lead a better-than-average life.

I’m totally obsessed with this dietary plan and I have a huge passion to help as many diabetics as possible to lower their insulin needs, improve insulin sensitivity and beat their disease forever through showing them this amazing lifestyle.

I've finally written a guidebook that reveals this extraordinary dietary approach including a simple and healthy meal plan with recipes in order to show you how to get off the blood sugar roller coaster and beat your disease naturally.

unnamed.png

If you want to learn learn how to lower your insulin use, improve your insulin sensitivity, lose weight and improve your overall disease with a simple set of diet changes, feel free to download your free guidebook through this link: https://www.diabeathisnaturally.com/How-to-Beat-Diabetes-Naturally-Ebook.

How did my life journey with diabetes begin?

After being diagnosed with type 1 diabetes, I was instructed to follow a low-carb (168g/day) diet which I took very seriously. I was eating even less than 160 g of carbs a day hoping that I can get off insulin if I do so. I eliminated every high-carb and starchy food from my diet, including fruits, potatoes, whole wheat flour, etc. Needless to say, I started eating more and more low-carb foods like meat, cheese and fatty dairy products to keep my stomach full, because they kept my blood glucose level low and didn’t cause any spikes.

At the beginning this diet worked very well. However, after a while, even though I followed this diet very strictly, my BG level began to rise so did my insulin needs. I felt very frustrated as I was really trying to do my best to improve my condition and instead of getting better, it became even worse.

insulin.jpg

Half a year after being diagnosed, I moved to Mexico where I started working at a vegan restaurant. Hence I’ve never even thought of being vegan, I enjoyed the food over there very much, so I decided to do some research about the health benefits of a plant-based diet. I found quite a few studies proving the positive impact of it on many diseases, including diabetes so I went vegan from one day to another. It was a learn on the fly since I had no idea how difficult it would be. For me, it wasn’t hard to eliminate meat and dairy, as a matter of fact, I didn’t miss them at all. However, being vegan and following a low-carb diet didn’t seem to be two peas in a pod.

Most vegans eat lots of fruits but whenever I ate mangos, pineapples or bananas, my blood glucose level skyrocketed so I was basically stuck with veggies. I asked myself: “What on Earth can I eat if I am not supposed to consume fruits, starchy vegetables or any high-carb grains?” At the beginning I was starving all the time, so I needed to find a way to keep my stomach full… I’ll let you in on my dark secret: I started eating huge amounts of nuts and seeds. And when I say huge, I really mean it. I was chowing down giant amounts of almonds, cashews, macadamias, pecans, chia seeds, etc…. Take a guess, what happened? You can bet your bottom dollar that I started to gain weight. I picked up about 7 kg (15 pounds) in three months and my BG level didn’t improve at all.

ThinkstockPhotos-470795758-1-830x551.jpg

Fast forward a few months when I heard about two guys with type 1 diabetes on a plant-based diet who were posting pictures of humongous fruit plates and eating huge amount of carbs every day. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw them having 6 bananas, half a papaya and four persimmons for one meal… I thought it was just impossible as a diabetic. Whenever I ate fruits, even if only a small amount, my BG level spiked a lot. However, I decided to give it a try. I started following their diet called a low-fat, plant-based, whole food diet and the results were mind-blowing!

I eliminated every kind of animal products from my diet, as well as every kind of oils, including vegetable oils, and I started eating more fruits and starchy vegetables. Right after committing to this lifestyle, I needed less and less insulin and in seven days, my insulin use dropped by 50% in spite of eating more and more carbs. The diet passed with flying colors! When you live with type 1 diabetes, you are supposed to take insulin every single time you have a meal, yet you are using less and less insulin while eating more and more carbs, then clearly something very interesting is happening.

Thank to this wonderful lifestyle I'm able to eat tons of fruits without having blood glucose spikes. In fact, I usually eat 450 - 500 grams of carbs a day and I inject the same amount of insulin as back then, when I was on a low-carb diet and ate 180 grams of carbohydrates per day.

1.Breakfast2.jpg

I've been posting my healthful recipes since then, you can find them here on Steemit, or check out my blog https://www.diabeathisnaturally.com, as well as my Instagram and Facebook account with the name @diabeathisnaturally.

I'm super excited to show you how to beat your disease and achieve the healthiest You ever! :)

Sort:  

@echowhale team swimming by with your upvotes and reesteem 1/3 another team member will upvote shortly

This is super inspiring, thank you so much for sharing your story and putting together an ebook for other people affected by this condition.

I hope my life as digital nomad will bring me to Mexico in the future, so that I get the chance to meet you in person 💚

Keep educating, great introduction and a lot of great information.

Sounds like a great diet and I love fruit and I eat raw garlic daily.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this, I have family members ho suffer from exactly this and have sent this post to them - hopefully they too can obtain a level of relief from what they are currently experiencing,
stay blessed

You are very welcome @michaeljn, I hope it helps your family members :)

Thank you :-)

Welcome to steemit community keep on sharing your blog and don’t forget to upvote others too.. follow me @aaronkp.. cheers!

i shared this post to all my family members...especially to father in law who is a diabetic person.....Welcome to this awesome steemit family.....happy to connect you....

Dear @isreenath, thank you very much for welcoming me, and I'm glad you shared this post to your family members who are diabetic, too. This lifestyle is truly amazing and I have a passion to show it to as many people as possible.

Hello how are you? remember me? Your story is one of struggle and perceverance and you succeed in succeeding

Dear @jennimorillo, of course I remember you my dear Steemit friend :))) I'm glad to see you here!

2/3

How have you been? where are you? in Mexico?

Thanks for such an informative post. By the way, not only have cut your insulin use but you are also looking great.

Thank you so much @marihuya 🤗

Welcome to Steem, @plantbasedmiri!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3043 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73