Contemporary Circus: Cyr wheel (and more) with Rachel Salzman

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

This is me doing cyr wheel (photo by Shena Tschofen):
10926347_1554090904832948_8094104738683811339_o.jpg

What is cyr wheel? Well here's a video:

Me in a snapshot:

  • I was born and raised in New York City where I grew up in dance, but always dreamed of circus.
  • At 16-years-old, I happened upon an aerial silks workshop and something clicked, but I wasn’t ready to give up dance just yet.
  • Over the next few years, while performing with contemporary dance companies such as CorbinDances and the Sean Curran Company, my interest in circus grew leading me to start to create and regularly perform my own work, which combined dance and circus, in various cabarets, nightclubs, and for special events all over the US and in Italy and the UK as well.
  • In 2012, I moved to Montreal and discovered cyr wheel at the National Circus School of Montreal https://www.ecolenationaledecirque.ca/en. It was the perfect melding of dance and acrobatics.
  • While at the National School I also go to learn many other things: handstands, juggling, ground acrobatics, aerials (aerial hoop, duo trapeze), banquine, singing, acting... in short like a liberal arts degree in Contemporary Circus.

This is banquine cause I know you're wondering:

  • I also got to travel while at school to perform festivals in France (at Cirque-Théâtre d’Elbeuf and at Circa in Auch) and created the show "Méandre" as part of the Atelier de recherche et creation, which was performed at the TOHU in Montreal. This opening my eyes to a whole world of contemporary European circus I didn't even know existed.

Wanna see some of "Méandre"? https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=nzdczG0jxsM

  • Flash forward years after graduation, after doing street shows with "La Belle et ses Bichons", at festivals in Quebec, Switzerland, Germany, and France and participating in the creation of the new Cirque du Soleil show, "Luzia" and touring the US and Canada, I ended up right back in France.

This was my act in Cirque du Soleil's "Luzia":

  • I'm now based in Lyon and have reunited with my friends at Cie. Puéril Péril (https://www.puerilperil.com) in creating their new evening-length show, "L'Autre", which will premiere September 2018.

Check out Cie Puéril Péril's perilous work:

  • I also had another life where I studied anthropology at Columbia University and I hope to someday return and continue my studies.

Any questions? I hope you enjoy! Feel free to check out my website: https://www.rachel-salzman.com

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @rasling! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch


Welcome to Steemit @rasling!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

@rasling, welcome to steemit. It's a wonderful platform with good people.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, etc.

Welcome to Steem, @rasling!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2479 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : May Budget Proposal.

Hello @rasling nice to have you here welcome to STEEM community.

Congratulations @rasling! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow, amazing, more exciting than biking and skateboarding tricks. You are talented and beautiful.

Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. If you have any questions just post them here, and I will do my best to answer them. Good luck!

I am so happy that you are here, rasling! Best wishes for a very wonderful journey here on Steemit! Enjoy!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.
I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r and we will teach and support you to grow in the Steemit Community. We can also help you choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money on Steemit and in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71