"First Post - Introducing Myself - Greetings!" by Richard F. Yates

Howdy folks, as you probably noticed from the title of this post, I am new to STEEM and STEEMING and being STEEMED. I'm also new to the entire blockchain, crypto, alternative-community thing you folks have going here, although I've been playing around online for about fourteen years (give or take my not having a good sense of time.) I only recently became aware of this whole blockchain based world when I was invited to create some crypto-art by a gentleman at MakersPlace... (But let's not get into that right now...) His invitation led me to investigate crypto-art and all the swirling madness that surrounds it, and after reading many articles and watching some videos and listening to the Dank Rares podcast, my interest was peaked and I dove in!

As an introduction, I'm an artist (sort of---I've sold work in galleries and at shows and at YARD ART sales that my family and I have in the front lawn every summer, but I've never made enough money to eat or pay bills with art.) I'm also a writer / poet / editor / and DJ. I've got bit of a resume: more than 30 published poems, 11 books that I either wrote or edited or co-edited, one academic paper on vampires, I used to curate a postal art archive, I've taught writing and zine making classes at a few different festivals here in the Pacific Northwest, and I've edited The Primitive Entertainment Workshop since 2012, which is where I currently exhibit most of my art and writing. I TRIED to be an academic for a few years, but I'm not good at politics or backstabbing, so I didn't really fit in at the university level. I have a B.A. in Humanities (focus on English and Anthropology), and I went to grad school for lit theory and pedagogy, but I ran out of money before completing my M.A. That happens, sometimes, I guess...

I was born in 1972 in Longview, Washington, U.S.A., and I'm currently (as of Nov. 2018) 46---AND I STILL LIVE LESS THAN TWO MILES FROM WHERE I WAS BORN! Longview is a small logging town, which has a bar, a church, and a tattoo parlor on every street corner, (I don't drink very much, I'm not religious, and I don't have any tattoos) but it's home, and it's where most of my extended family lives---AND as California dries up, thanks to the whole global warming disaster, and the citizens have to migrate north, we're slowly becoming a bigger and bigger small town... By the time I'm about 140, the area will be a thriving metropolis, and my ideas and aesthetics will fit right in! (Although I'm not certain I'll live to see that day...)

I'm happily married to an optician (who seems like a quiet and polite and reserved lady---until you get to know her and realize she's as crazy as a "broken toad" (in her words,)) and we have two daughters who are both in their twenties, and relatively normal (compared to their parents.) I'm physically shot, having spent many years living DANGEROUSLY: skateboarding (badly), rave parties, sleeping on floors, packing speakers up and down flights of stairs, got ran over by a car when I was four, fallen down a couple of flights of stairs, and (to be fair) I really haven't treated my body like a temple. More like a punching bag full of sugar... However! If I'd told my sixteen-year-old self to protect those knees and ankles, the little bastard would have told me to screw off anyway, so---whatever. Damage done, and at least I'm still alive and kickin'! (Which certainly wasn't a for-sure thing---until I met my eventual wife, Mariah, who calmed me down and gave me a reason or two to stay alive!)

And now I draw scribbly art (either on paper or found cardboard or digitally,) and I write stories about monsters and ghosts, and I rant about post-post-post modern concepts of art / society / meaning / and ultimate values. I try to be funny. I try to have a good time. I advocate an ART FOR ALL philosophy, and (like the PUNKS-OF-OLD) I think EVERYONE (regardless of ability or training or commercial potential) should be encouraged to experience the joy and entertainment value of making and creating and building things for themselves and then sharing their creations with their friends and loved ones and sympathetic strangers!!! I say, let's create a D.I.Y., punk, Dada, Situationist, Absurdist, humorous, philosophical art for the masses!!!

And if you know any rich people who want to give me money so I can do this stuff full time, I'll consider it...

Thanks!
---Richard

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit world :)

Thanks! Happy to be here---although I'm still finding the whole thing a bit confusing. I assume, after a bit of study and some "testing of the waters" that I'll get the hang of it! (Maybe...)


Welcome to Steemit @richardfyates!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thanks! I'm still trying to learn the "ins-and-outs," but I assume I'll figure everything out, eventually!

Welcome to steemit. You'll be a steem-addict in no time, I'm sure.

Thanks! You even seem to be a conscious entity instead of a bot! Nice!!!

Haha. Indeed I am.... Sometimes a rarity these days.

Welcome to Steem richardfyates! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome richardfyates!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to steemit @richardfyates.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @richardfyates! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, Welcome to the amazing world of Blogging and Sharing on Steem Blockchain. Make sure to post only Original content and avoid all kind of plagarism.
Keep your patience and faith to get success here. Also make sure to engage and contribite to Community development. Commenting is best part to get involve. Hope you have a happy stay.....Steem On!
Thanks
@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Happy to be here. Plagiarism isn't an issue for me. I draw and write and take photos every day. The hard part will be making sure I don't post too much! But thanks for the advice! I'll certainly keep your comments in mind! (Especially the "patience" part. With the digital world, we've come to expect everything to be instant. Have to remember that sometimes "good things take time...")

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77