What Steemit Did For These Homeless Kids Will Make You Tear Up — So Heartwarming

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

WARNING: This post is graphic and may upset some readers.
This post has been published to raise awareness for a serious issue.

Untitled design (2).png


I’m a 31-year-old Male with a passion for Marketing, Crypto and helping people.

I’m currently in The Philippines for a few months work; when I go for a walk each morning, I see homeless kids sleeping on the street. I grew up in a first world country, so this is a shock to see.

There was a specific bunch of boys that I would see often sleeping literally on the side on the road, in arm's length from cars and motorbikes flying past all night.

IMG_1808.jpg

After seeing these boys in the same place for a few days, I decided to take action, buy them breakfast and learn a little about their situation.

Long story short, they loved some Jollibee for breakfast!

That night I lost a lot of sleep thinking about their situation, how did they end up there, why are their options, etc.… I decided the best next move was to buy them some necessary things like shoes & socks, backpacks, etc.

IMG_1821.jpg
(Steemit upvotes paid for their gifts)

Homeless kids are nothing new. Unfortunately, this happens all around the globe and effects a tremendous amount of kids right now! What is new is the ability for anyone to help via innovative Crypto/Blockchain solutions like Steemit.

It blows my mind that we live in a world where a community like Steemit can raise money and make a change by literally clicking a button. Thanks Steemit for making this possible.

I figured this post would be an excellent introduction to the Steemit community as it shows I intend to use this platform for good.

How you can help

  1. I would love to hear your thoughts on how a Crypto/Blockchain solutions can empower people like you and me to solve world issues. I’m steering towards this being my next project.
  2. Follow, Upvote, etc.. :)
Sort:  

welcome to steem it and have fun!

Are you official employee of steem?

No, it's another stupid comment bot account mindlessly posting to earn curation off your post I am sorry to report.
Happy Sunday, @bluehorseshoe

Mind your language. I am not a bot. I am senior hacker.

What are you talking about, "mind your language" makes no sense.
I was letting you know @kurosawa is a comment bot account.
https://steemit.com/@kurosawa/comments
Pay closer attention before swinging those downvotes around.

Dont forget, if you can downvote, i can too

You did and for no reason, dont forget.

Let us review: I posted you a heads up that you were commenting to a comment spamming account. Apparently you didn't comprehend that I wasn't attacking you, quite the opposite. You then downvoted me and posted a smart ass response containing "mind your language" rather than thanking me for the heads up.
Now you and your other account @desikaamukkahani have implemented downvote abuse.
Either clean up your act and remove all those worthless downvotes against me or I will choose either to report both accounts for flag/downvote abuse which won't go well for these two accounts or vote away any of your present and future earnings.

All flags removed. You also do same

Wow! How do they do that? They turned it into a money making site.

Wow! How do they do
That? They turned it into a
Money making site.

                 - ryap12


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Yes, unfortunately.

You downvoted me letting you know that is a comment spam account you were responding to?
Ok then........................

Thanks @kurosawa, don't forget to follow to keep up with me next post.

Welcome to Steem Community @smarthash! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to steemit and you.are doing a great job helping kids .

Thanks to steemit, welcome to steemit! I am @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.

Great use of this platform. Respectfully following.

Good job!!!!!!!!!!!!!God will reward you for such a good deed you have done......Simply made me cry to watch those kids on the side of the rode.....They really do not deserve this......
So now as you have come to us for such a noble cause I welcome you to the community!!!
At the start I want to give you a small tip:
Upvote and comment a lot on the posts you find interesting and follow the people you find good......
This will help you to gain followers and establish your account....
As a starter I have also followed you and upvoted your post....
I hope that you succeed in this amazing platform and in the noble deeds for which you are working....
BEST WISHES!!!!


Welcome to Steemit @smarthash!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hey @smarthash, I'm sorry for that situation you felt. Philippines is a poor country. I admit that my country is a poor country. A lot of homeless children suffered malnutrition in my country. Yes, I am from Philippines . 😭

THIS IS FCKN AWSOME!



I love to see people like you - helping others no matter if it cost something.
Your actions are absolutely honorable man ! (resteem)

I hope you can make them more gifts and lead them into a good and happy life !

Thank you for serving humanity

Yes, this is very sad and upsetting. But there is two big problems, that no one is addressing. Firstly, those kids didn't come from space, some one made them and then either abandoned them, or the system took their parents from them. Secondly, those kids are homeless, because there is 1% that's hording all the wealth of this world. As long as we allow that to happen, there will be more and more of these kids, including the so called first world kids. No amount of your goodness will fix that and, while, sure, you're getting warm fuzzy feeling, nothing changes, and that's exactly what the rich and apathetic want, maintain the status quo, they get richer and don't give a shiet and you, relatively poor person, pour your heart and hard earned money for futile cause. I would rather see a solution based causes, like how about create a fund to finance some very smart people to take down the monsters and even out the plain field. You know, the old concept of take from the rich and give to the poor. We all love Robin Hood, we all champion him all the fictional figures like him, but no one wants to actually step up and do the right thing. Lets mot forget, Robin Hood was an outlaw, a criminal in the eyes of the "law". After all we all know what the right thing is. Educate people about the corruption of the world, do not participate in the corrupt system, and I mean, really, do not participate, do not feed the beast, among other things.

©Of course that's just my opinion and I could be wrong :)

No you are so right, this has become the norm every where, and this kids are been used for all sort of sad things.. Case in point North Eastern Nigeria.. Homeless kids here are been strapped with bombs and sent to blow themselves up in some public place like market or the mosque

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12