A Wolf Among The Blockchain (My introduction)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I thought it would be time for me to do a proper introduction on the site! My name is Southern Wolf!

I am a college student about to finish my bachelors in business, and soon to be aiming for a Masters of Business Administration , focused in IT. I am both a web designer and a programmer, with my main specialities being in HTML/CSS/JavaScript, Java, Node.JS, Lua, and R. I am also a hobbyist 3D Digital artist, with my main tool I use being Blender. I am a gamer, who's main platform for gaming is PC/Mac. My other hobbies include meteorology, geology, (nuclear) physics, chemistry, and astronomy. I am also a tried and true Trump supporter! #MAGA

I am an objectivist, meaning I follow the philosophy created by Ayn Rand. Objectivism is the idea that reality is objective, reason is are only way of understand the world around us, our highest goal is the pursuit of our own rational self-interests, and that absolute, free, Laissez-faire capitalism is the only economic system that allows for the fullest achievements of the individual to be realized. Along with being an objectivist, I am also a transhumanist, as I believe that technology and science will lead to a future where man need not fear death, where his body will be a canvas to be made into whatever form he may desire, and that man's mind will combine with computer machines to create a new world of super-powered, interconnected, minds.

Part of being an objectivist is being a full advocate for Capitalism. As such, I am also a full supporter of cryptocurrencies. I believe that blockchain-based cryptocurrencies, along with a return to the Gold Standard, will allow for a new level of freedom not seen in the history of mankind. (I'm choosing not to elaborate on this too deeply here as I am thinking about making a post going deeper into it soon)

I can't wait to interact more with people here on Steemit, and I can't wait to share my thoughts and ideas with everyone here as well! :)

Thank you, and have a wonderful day!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @southernwolf!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Glad to meet you. Out of all the mass non-niche platforms STEEM is most likely the most objectivist friendly platform. There are all sorts of people here. But many hold principles such as NAP and the need for free markets as the opposite of coercion/war. Not all are objectivists. Even I wouldn't put objectivist label to the front. But many of us share similar principles and I consider The Fountainhead to be the greatest work of modern literature and to be worth more than the lifetime achievements of Shakespeare. Not everyone would feel so strongly. But you'd find some great intelligent people here.

I'm an ENTP.

I definitely agree! The three main alt-social media platforms I know of are Gab, Minds, and SteemIt(STEEM). Gab is the least friendly towards objectivists (Speaking from experience with that). Minds is fine, but really neither here nor there when it comes to other objectivists. So far, you seem to be right that STEEM is probably the most friendly platform for objectivists. But then why wouldn't it be? Blockchain, and the things that go along with it, are all things capitalists would support! The Fountainhead is truly one of the best books of the 20th century, right alongside Atlas Shrugged.

I am glad to have found a platform where intelligence and rationality are valued! :)

I'm an INTJ.

Gab seemed like an Alt-right ting and the only thing good about them is they are against SJWs and other collectivists. I looked at Minds from a technical perspective and decided that there is nothing robust about it. Also you won't be gaining much rewards or have liquidity on Minds.

The only social media I've been technologically impressed are Narrative and other STEEM ripoffs/forks like GOLOS and YOYOW.

Atlas Shrugged presented the philosophy better. But it became a less gripping story because of it. I'm a super calm person who watch most comedies with a blank face and I had so many laughing out loud moments reading The Fountainhead (and Atlas Shrugged to a lesser extent) and The Fountainhead is the only book that has made me physically shake while reading it.

I'm an INTJ.

Saw it on your profile description. Most of my friends are NTs with few NF and ESTP ISTP types.

BTW are you into anime?

Yeah, Gab was super great before the 2016 election! However, Twitter began purging alt-right accounts from the platform and that pushed them all to Gab, causing it to go to hell in a hurry. Minds is growing in its blockchain abilities, especially now that their tokens are ERC-20 tokens. But it still has a way to go though. STEEM is like the best alternative to Medium I've found so far! (And it's a lot less Regressive!). The only decent network I've found also built fully on a blockchain setup is Afari, built on Blockstack. It's got a great start, but still has a way to go.

Indeed! Ayn Rand called The Fountainhead an overture to Atlas Shrugged because it was more of the applications of her philosophy, rather than fully describing it. Anthem was for me what The Fountainhead was for you. It's very much so a life-changing experience. All three are super powerful books that show you things that should be so obvious, yet are overlooked by most individuals.

Yeah, I imagine that things like blockchains tend to attract those NT types most, based on the technical aspects of them.

Admittedly no. The only anime I ever watched was Wolfs Rain, which I did thoroughly enjoy! #Sterotype

Actually ERC-20 tokens are practically a suicidal choice especially for a a social media site. Check out the stats here: http://www.blocktivity.info and here https://eosnetworkmonitor.io I don't think you can make a solid social network without using DPoS or Hashgraph under the current technological capabilities of our devices.

I like Blockstack and looking forward for some great products. I wasn't following the project closely. Thanks for bringing my attention to Afari.

Anthem was for me what The Fountainhead was for you.

Now I really need to go and read Anthem. I watched https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1989454/ and it mentioned that Atlas Shrugged was written because people missed the core message of The Fountainhead.

As for Anime, Here are few places to pique your interest:

https://steemit.com/anime/@vimukthi/why-you-should-watch-anime-a-deep-dive-into-history-boldness-themes-production-quality-creativity-and-influence-of-anime

https://steemit.com/anime/@vimukthi/my-mega-recommendation-pack-for-those-who-want-to-dissect-world-class-animation-produced-within-the-last-30-years

https://steemit.com/entertainment/@vimukthi/why-and-how-you-should-watch-aldnoah-zero-review-analysis-love-letter-and-personal-thoughts

Congratulations @southernwolf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome southernwolf!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @southernwolf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @southernwolf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15