Looking for a new community to share my work.

Hi friends, my name is Taylor. I'm a photographer and digital artist. I remember signing up to Instagram when it was a fledgling app that didn't even let you import photos (you had to take them in-app with your phone's camera). It was exciting times. I chose the username   '@'taylor on my first try and started posting. I wasn't convinced it would amount to much, but I thought what the hell, at least it's a creative exercise.

I'll never forget those first comments from complete strangers. The rush of feeling that I was suddenly connected to the veins of society, that people I didn't even know were seeing my work and sharing theirs. I started making friendships with artists and photographers in Sweden, Turkey, Denmark, Canada. Everyone wanted to share. Everyone wanted to connect. It was game-changing. I fell in love. 

As time passed, and this young community grew to become one of the most popular social networks in the world, the atmosphere began to change with it. More and more, the meaningful interactions that first captivated me were replaced with comments like "f4f" and "shoutout?" and "can I have your username?"

I watched as my feed began to transform into hollow, sponsored posts by Insta-famous models, bots, and brands. Struggling artists with hundreds of thousand of followers were hawking their lightroom presets and print sales just to get by. And then the ads came. And then Facebook came. And then, even the posts appearing in my feed became dictated not by the content I chose to follow, but by the interests of a profit-driven machine learning algorithm, finely tuned to direct my eyes and my likes toward what was most profitable for them, rather than what I chose to see. 

It's been hard to create recently. I'm tired. We're due for something different. A paradigm shift. And I think the blockchain is exactly that. 

That's why I'm here. Because I want to believe. And I want to be a part of a new fledging community, one that we can build on a different set of values. And either way, what the hell. At least it's a creative exercise. 

-Taylor

Sort:  

welcome to the steemit community

your welcome

Hi Taylor, I think #photography contest is suitable for you. Check it out!

Oh very cool I will definitely check that out—thank you!

I am so happy that you are here, summerhouse! I wish you a very wonderful journey here in this fun-loving community :) It is my pleasure to meet you.

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @summerhouse!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2818 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Thanks, that makes me really happy to hear. And thanks for the kind wishes!

Love your post. I'm new here too, and what you're writing is exactly what I'm thinking!

Thanks so much for the feedback. Awesome to meet a fellow newbie!

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Feeling you. I am so tired of the "rat race" at the other social media as well. good luck here.

Thanks so much! Excited to be here :)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25