My first post! Introducing myself, I’m Alex

in #introduceyourself6 years ago
My first post! Introducing myself, I’m Alex


This is actually a magic moment for myself, believe it or not this is my first post to anything that resembles social media. I have never posted anything on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat or a Blog before!
The reason I am doing this now is actually very simple, I believe that Steemit is on the right track, it builds on what I think the future hold, blockchain.
Hello internet!
Two years ago blockchain peeked my interest, more precisely it was actually Ethereum that I started reading up on because of Smart Contracts, I am by no means a programmer (yet) though.


The internet is mostly owned by big companies and the data we provide makes them bigger, sure this is nothing new but Blockchain moves the pendulum away from that and takes us back to what the internet was when it started out, when we, the individuals, owned our own data by hosting the servers at home.

So, who am I?

I am currently a student in Marketing Automation (I know, ironic…) as well as studying JavaScript and Python on the side, which I think will even further my skills as a online marketer.
Just because I am studying Marketing Automation, doesn’t mean I am for collecting data against peoples will, contrary I think every person has the right to their personal privacy whilst being online.
Only by choice, shall others be able to take part of your data.

In my free time I love doing research and learning, I have probably subscribed to and watched more than hundred of hours from the top content creators on YouTube within this area, some of my top channels are

  • ColdFusion
  • Kurzgesagt – In a Nutshell
  • LEMMiNO
  • Wendover Productions / Half as Interesting
  • Vsauce / Vsauce3
  • Thoughty2
  • CGP Grey
  • Real Engineering
  • RealLifeLore

This is by no means a complete list, just my top channels that I usually go to when I feel a need to learn more facts, my friends sometimes tell me that I am a database of weird information, might be true but it’s a hobby to learn more!

I am also a tech and videogame nerd, I try to keep up with the latest news on computers and IT in general by reading news sites and watching channels such as Linus Tech Tips and Dave Lee (He has such a calm voice when reviewing tech).
There used to be time for gaming as well but that has started to diminish, sometimes I miss the all-nighters with a new game where I didn’t have to keep track of time or other tasks, oh youth where did you go…

What’s next

Well, here on Steemit I will continue reading other peoples posts and get more active, hopefully I can share some of my research I’m doing, such as what I am studying and learning, my thoughts on new tech and my own opinions on things.


(Picture from Koh Chang)

One of my dreams when I am done with my studies here in Sweden, is to move to a warmer climate and work remotely seeing as the only things i need is a fiber connection, computer and my girlfriend.
(I really dislike the cold winter 😰)

Hope this is an acceptable first post, and if you do have any questions or tips for me how to format, write or get better then please share them with me so i can keep on learning!😊

 
Sort:  

Hello sypherz! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemschool on discord channel today

Hello @sypherz welcome to steemit,have a grear time here

Hi Alex, I was looking for examples on how to introduce my self and found your post. You did good. :) Hope you realize your dream to go somewhere warm. A dream I share... I am from Norway.

Thank you!
Looking forward to reading your introduction =)

Nice introduction post, very well made.
It's nice to meet you and welcome to Steemit! If you need any help or have any questions just ask :)

Thank you! It means a lot and i think that i will fit in on Steemit more than other social communities =)

hi sypherz ! Welcome to Steemit !


Welcome to Steemit @sypherz!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steem, @sypherz!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2325 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Welcome to steemit
download.png

Join us on our Steemschool discord
using this link
https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

And get to learn about various niches...
Photography, arts, poetry, business amongst others...

THERE IS A 5000 SBD CONTEST GOING ON

The interesting part is we have people all over the world and we help each other grow...

There are over 6k steemian ready to support your growth on steemit

Best wishes 👏👍

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Hope this is an acceptable first post, and if you do have any questions or tips for me how to format, write or get better then please share them with me so i can keep on learning!
It should be better than instead of better then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76