Presentations and coffee

Greetings, to the steemit comunity!!

10612715_10153448227476404_6602991761804957554_n.jpg

My name is Blanca!

My life philosophy is that there isn't such thing as an absolute truth, except maybe for the fact that we're dust.

I live in a small city in Venezuela, bordering the Orinoco river. This city, is Ciudad Bolívar. Or, Bolivar City, as you wish.

The days in this place, always start before the sun does, and that requires an ungodly amount of coffee. I like coffee, as in, bean coffee, because in this country instant coffee is a big fat lie (and a thing for rich people). My favorite kind of coffee is black, strong and bitter, and I call it "the wake-me-up". My second favorite is the guarapo, a very light kind of coffee, with a great amount of sugar. When there is sugar in the house, that is.

Honestly, drinking coffee in Venezuela is a luxury, and so the days in which I can drink will possibly end very soon.

My day begins before the sun does, not because I'm a morning person, but because the public transport here is the worst thing to ever exist. We venezuelans go to the bus stop, basically praying so maybe today we'll get a bus.

We know when we go outside, though we don't know at which ungodly hour we'll be coming back to our houses.

There isn't such thing as an absolute truth, except maybe for the fact that we're dust, that most of the time I keep myself working by the sheer force of coffee alone and that the public transport in my city is the worst thing since soaked socks. You can tell me otherwise, but I won't believe you!

I'm 16 years old, but I've been working since I'm 14. The current situation of my country calls for such measures, but because of that, I've learnt since a very young age, that if I want something, the faster way to get it, is to work for it by yourself.

Despite working since such an early age (early, said I, even when I'm barely inside the legal-working-age of the country), I'm as close as living alone as I'm close of living with my celebrity-crush: not even a little bit. It's not that it's impossible, because there's no such thing as an absolute truth, but it's very very hard.

I'm Blanca, but I'm not white -the joke reads better in spanish, in wich blanca=white, trust me is a good ol' pun-. The truth is that I'm pretty black and my name is a bad joke. I share the same name as my grandmother, who just for the record, isn't white either.

As hobby I have cooking, a skill mastered trought cuts in the fingers, burns in the hand, lack of basic ingredients and lack of food in general. I also like drawing, writing and reading.

I don't consider myself an optimistic person, I'm more realistic, and I've get my fair share of hits in life because of that. I'm not afraid of saying out loud that, I think my future awaits outside Venezuela. Such thing as an absolute truth doesn't exist, but who knows when this place will start to heal, or if I'll be alive and healthy to see it happen.

My opinion is that we, young people, should be able to choose where we want to build our lives, and if our mother-country doesn't have the necessary conditions and tools for that to happen, we aren't obligated to stay. The country that saw my father outcome the poverty and in which my mother had a rich-girl upbringing, isn't the same in which I've had to work since I'm 14, walk for god-knows-how-many kilometers under the sun and starve because of the lack of food.

It's actually common in the streets of Venezuela, to hear people saying that they miss Venezuela. It may sound cliché, but we could had it all, and didn't knew it until we lost it all.

Anyways, this introduction got long already, my english is getting rusty, the coffee is ready and I gotta go. See you around in the next post!

Sort:  

Wanted to let you know that @thaishps featured you in their entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

There is a first time entry bonus for those who come join the contest that you might be interested in. Read that post for how to qualify for the bonus.

Have heard that things are getting very hard in your country. Hope all the best for you!

Thank you for the good wishes, @thedarkhorse!

Welcome, tamarindo-amargo! I wish you a very fulfilling experience here in this fun-loving community :) Be Happy

Thanks for the good wishes @cheneats!!

Nice to meet you, @tamarindo-amargo! Welcome to Steemit!

You are such an inspiring young woman! thanks for sharing your intro! You got a new fan! And I look forward to read more of you!

and ... of course... welcome to steemit :D

Thank you very much! If you become my fan, then I apologize since now, because my english is a bit rough-around-the-edges and I spanglish a lot without noticing, so if you notice grammar mistakes and misspellings, please do let me know! I'll see you around in a future post @sams-world!

@thaishps featured you in the Pay It Forward curation contest week 7 .

welcome to Steemit . You have a great sense of humor and honesty . Great attitude , I look forward to hearing from you in the future .

Thank you very much! I do hope to start posting in english more frequently!

Welcome to steemit @tamarindo-amargo; what a thought provoking intro post!! The state of Venezuela is a sad one right now for sure, and I hope your work ethic alone gets you where you want to be some day.

I found your post because @thaiships featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation contest. You should think about joining us next week :)

Why, thank you!! Many people already told me that my post made them thought, but honestly I'm just being myself here, and I don't know how to philosophy. I'll think about joining! -I don't totally understand how does it works, but I'll read about it. See you around!!

Hold on to that thought - - - because there's no such thing as an absolute truth - - - You have hit the nail on the head with that. Shit happens. I know it looks bad and bleak in Venezuela right not, that there is little that is changing, change can happen fast - - Like downfalls - - the up growth happens slowly, organically. I hope things improve for you and Venezuela.
I found your post on @thaishps entry into the "Pay it Forward" contest. A little late to upvote the post, but I will upvote two of your comments below to people.

That's true @bashadow, the change is, indeed, in our hands. Maybe things don't look promising right now, but we can always look for an exit; sometimes inside the country, sometimes outside, but an exit anyways, and a way to change our situation. Thank you very much for your words and your votes!!

Your safety, then the safety of your family. If you do not look out for your safety, you can not look out for the safety of your family. Always have a plan. Make sure your family knows the plan, and where you should all meet in an emergency. Discuss it as an Earthquake Plan. In California those are common, Earthquake plans the whole family knows about. Don't scare the family but if it is needed, you have a plan at least, and family will know where to go. During any situation. To keep snoops off, you just hold an Earthquake Drill, that way the government would not know something else was up. CYA (in America -Cover Your Ass - CYA).

Brilliant post!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97