Hello Steemit! First post here, nice to make your acquaintance

Hello people of Steemit, my name is David, and I am a 33 year old dude from Romania.

This is me, on the left, with a well known singer from my country

This will be my introductory post, it's my first time here on Steemit, and I've spent a lot reading up on the first time posts, as well as seeing how creative people can be and how interesting posts can get. I will try to share some of my hobbies, as well as stories about them, life stories or events, and everything I think I could contribute to the community.

So, without further a do, let's start:

The Internet

Photo by bruce mars from Pexels

I've been using the internet since somewhere around 1998, when I was 14 years of age. I remember my first computer, an IBM workstation with a 75MHz CPU, with a 14,4k modem I believe - can't remember the RAM and HDD configuration though.

I had a dial-up account that included 50 megabytes of traffic, and I always saved up some megabytes for the end of the month, when I usually downloaded one or two mp3's from different sites or the IRC files haring bots. Those were the days!

There are more things now that we have broadband connections in my country that I do on the internet, but those will probably be stories for another time.

Gaming

Photo by Xexus - Designer from Pexels

Who isn't passionate about gaming? We all payed some form of video games in our life. From the early consoles (which I played on a black-and-white TV for a few years after 1990 because of our country just coming out of Communism and the Revolution). But it was a blast.

After the early consoles came the portable game consoles, like the Game Boy, among so many more.

I was lucky enough around the year 2002 to be gifted my second computer: a beautiful AMD K6-2, clocked at 350 MHz, with 128 or 256 MB's of RAM, and a beautiful Voodoo2 graphics accelerator. The games ran flawless, first time that I played and fell in love with "StarCraft", "Legacy of Kain - Soul Reaver" and "Sanitarium". Wow, the memories from then still bring back chills.

As time passed by I managed to keep up with the technology I fell so in love with, managing to somehow do a major upgrade every 5 years or so. I started to play more and more visually beautiful games, with ever evolving stories that took you in and kept you there. And I still do. "The Witcher 3 - Wild Hunt" is a very good example of this. Also, "World of Warcraft". Don't get me started about that.

Anyway, let's end the trip down memory lane for now, as I have lots of nice stories to share with you, but that's for another time.

Music

Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels

Music can lift you up, bring you down, take you through emotions that you maybe didn't know you had.

I grew up in the Communist era here in my country, and I had the "luxury" to be taught good music by some very talented people.

First genre I started listening to was classic rock, then variations of the genre. Later on when Eminem became a thing, I instantly became a fan and started listening to rap and hip-hop more as well. Later in life, I've started listening to other genres too, but these two are at my core, and will continue to be until my dying days.

I have some very fond memories and stories relating to music, and I promise I will share some of them with you in the future.

Cooking

Photo from Pexels

First time I tried to cook something I burnt it to a crisp. Most people end up that way.

I wasn't taught cooking, I had to learn it from scratch 4 years ago. That's a sad story and I won't bore you with it, let's just say necessity is the mother of invention. I started with simple dishes, and modified them how I saw fit. Some "inventions" worked, some didn't. But I ended up creating some awesome dishes (and I was graded by several people) in these 4 years.

I will try and share some with you, when I will "create" more, and when I document the creation process.

Cryptocurrency

Photo by Worldspectrum from Pexels

Even if I saw advertising and articles with Bitcoin, then - years later - Ethereum and the likes, I wasn't inspired to invest a fraction of my income in the coins and see what would happen. You can bet that now I am sorry, but that time has passed.

Last December I started investing in Crypto, but couldn't invest much because of my limited budget (medium wage in Romania is around 500 EUR/month - that's around how much I make), so I bought some cloud mining contracts. Needless to say, the increase in difficulty of Bitcoin and the crash in price means I am likely to never see my ROI.

I also started mining altcoins via NiceHash, where I get paid in Bitcoin. We'll see what will become of this endeavor, and I will keep you guys updated about the crypto side of me as well.

Closure

In closing this post, I have tried to keep it pretty short and simple in what my passions are, what I like, and a little history about myself.

In the coming days and months, I will try to compose and share articles about all these little things I like, and I hope that they will be good enough to be an accepted contribution on Steemit.

Please feel free to comment and connect with me, and I will do my best to answer each and everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to read this introductory post,

David aka. @tassadaru

Images (CC0 license):

Photo by bruce mars from Pexels
Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels
Photo from Pexels
Photo by Xexus - Designer from Pexels
Photo by Worldspectrum from Pexels

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @tassadaru! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi, tassadaru! I wish you a very rewarding expereince here in this fun-loving community :) Best regards!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hi, David..Welcome! So nice to have you with us. If you have any questions, just post them here and I will try to help out, if I can. Good luck!

@tassadaru, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Welcome to Steem, @tassadaru!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2412 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.13: A big refractor to boost performance.

hi @tassadaru Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do. I’ve created a Steemit Support Facebook Group that I would love to have you join.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

How To Write A Good Intro Post

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: Make Dieting Successful

facebook-icon.png twitter-icon.png instagram-icon.png pinterest-icon.png google-plus-icon.png linkedin-icon.png tumblr-icon.png youtube-icon.png

Hello @tassadaru.
Welcome to steemit!
Feel free to join our discord, Steem Schools, server where you will learn how to succeed at this place :)
https://discord.gg/G87xyeh
Cheers!


Bienvenido a la gran familia Steemit, tienes la oportunidad de crecer, recibiendo clases de Negocios, Liderazgo, arte, poesía y comunicación, por eso te invito a participar en esta importante escuela.
Únete aquí
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Welcome to the great Steemit family, you have the opportunity to grow, receiving business classes, Leadership, art, poetry and communication, so I invite you to participate in this important school.
Join here
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Enlace: https://steemit.com/@nellita66

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78