Hello Steemit, I'm The Galavant Girl: Blogger of Food, Travel, Art, and Well ... Life!

Galavanting with Steemit!


Hi Steemians!

Here’s my first-ever “introducing myself” post to live in the compendiums of the Internet. Maybe it’s because after 40 you just become a type of fearless, but for the first time ever, I’m willing to get out there for-reals. I’ve had some “for-reals” online before. Like when I launched my blog TheGalavantGirl.com in 2009. I put myself on camera and actually talked about something. It’s no big thing in today’s Youtube universe, but for a writer and photographer who was usually behind some kind of keyboard or camera, it was super new and terrifying. But heck, I did it, and it was a blast.

NYC_greenmarket_elisemcmullen-ciotti_concord_grapes_galavant_girl.JPG

I relaunched my blog again in 2012. I had just been through hurricane Sandy and my husband and I were displaced and out of my apartment for a while. But I kept trucking. I wanted the site to be a spot for others to write, too, if they wished. My webby friend invented some new code for me so that on mobile devices, tapping once allowed you to read the title of a piece. This 2.0 version was a great little ride.

GalavantGirl2point0screen.png

But then in 2015, I slipped through the Internet cracks, falling underneath the online sidewalk, listening to the noise and traffic above me. I’ve been down here a while now. Sometimes I poke my head out on social media. But mostly, I’ve been soaking in the world, thinking.

I didn’t take anything down. You can still see the gelled, once-upon-a-time-two-years-ago blog here. But I’ve been Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I’ve been home underground. I’ve also been Daredevil, listening up on the heights. But unlike the Devil of Hell’s Kitchen, I’ve been watching, too, people mostly, but nature as well. (You’d be surprised how glorious nature can be in NYC.) I even peeped out and flew from town quite a few times, galavanting as I do. Listening to other languages. Eating other things.

fried_okra_galavant_girl.jpg

A Fresh Reboot


Now, it’s time to dig in. I hereby announce to the newly minted Steemian Universe: TheGalavantGirl.com will soon be resurrected anew! I have a new webby guy. He’s on the beautiful island of Sicily coding away. In between his shots of espresso, he’s building me a new site, and I can’t help but be excited about what is soon to live there.

There will be a section called “Elise’s Table” where I write about the passionate, messy, brilliant, tasty, war-torn, squirting-tears-of-laughter, deep-in-the-heart relationship between food and humanity.

le_marche_pepe_fisherman_kitchen_galavant_girl.jpg

There will be “Eating Art” where I’ll dive into something artsy like a book, or play, or museum, or gallery and then review it. But it won’t be just a review. I plan to create a recipe for each adventure. Hopefully others will read, explore, cook, and “art-eat” their way into the comments.

turkish_delight_the_lion_the_witch_and_the_wardrobe_galavant_girl.jpg

And for a last little bit of blogging pie, I’ll share some photography. My photographic work has been about “bearing witness” to places and people. I have been documenting in a very small way on this pale blue dot the beauty of this place. It’s truly a passion.

venice_arches_galavant_girl.JPG

My mother asked me (angry and upset her daughter was moving to Manhattan far away from her and family) if I was just going to “galavant around the world the rest of my life.” I answered her with a very honest and straightforward, “yes.” Hence the chosen name: TheGalavantGirl. Thankfully, she’s now wind in my sails.

A New Journey


I don’t know why I write. I don’t know why food matters so much to me. I don’t know why I feel “soul connected” when I pick up a camera, but I do. It’s just me. I am “TheGalavantGirl,” and I hope to make some friends along this new journey. I don’t know if anything I ever create will matter to anyone. But the artist is just called to create. The rest is left to the “soup.” That big soupy universe out there. Wondrous and mysterious that it is.

So that’s me. Nice to meet you.

Elise McMullen-Ciotti, The Galavant Girl

Elise-McMullen-Ciotti-The-Galavant-Girl-on-Steemit.jpg

follow_thegalavantgirl.gif

Sort:  

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcomedubai

Thanks @welcomedubai! Someday I hope to visit there. :)

wow...
@thegalavantgirl
you one steemian that got me with her intro post.. nice photos..cute smile and beautiful lady... wonderful bloger and coo... steemit is a true place for you to enjoy your blogging experience and making something out of it... nice intro dear... keep it coming and hey, ensure you follow successful people... like @kendoy who can keep guiding you... always engage with other steemians through steem.chat and commenting on their posts.. join steem competitions like the ironchef from @progressivechef my buddy... and best chef in steemit... and enjoy yourself... power up as much steem power as possible...
have fun and welcome

Hello, welcome to the Steemit community, it's really great to have you here with us, i hope you have a great time here and achieve great success.
I would be looking forward to reading your post. Interesting introduction you got there and great pictures. I must admit looking at your write up makes me hungry lol
I'm @Janrotas, would be great If you could check out my page and follow back. I have some interesting write ups I'm sure you would or can relate to. Welcome again talk more later.
Cheers

Sorry to find this message so late! Following you as well. Looking forward to reading. :)

Hi, Thegalavantgirl, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Congratulations @thegalavantgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @thegalavantgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

when am I on holiday to this country with a friend steemit

Hey! This seems like a brand new account so I'm gonna support you. This post deserves an upvote and keep on doing you!
Getting those big upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Thanks so much @kromosoom, half-ninja half-princess! I will definitely check it out. :) I'm sure you've seen it, but there is a great kids book that your page made me think of. It's called The Princess in Black. (https://www.amazon.com/Princess-Black-Shannon-Hale/dp/0763678880)

Great introduction, good to see that its doing so well, love the work you put in! will keep an eye out for your posts.
Travelled for four years and blog about it now.
welcome the platform

Thanks so much @heyitshaas! Just read your Amsterdam post. Can't wait to read more. :)

Glad you awoke to the Steem Dream!

Thanks @havok777! Stay warm up there in Canada!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29