Hello Steemit! I'm so excited to get involved :)

I'm Jamie and I am very excited to take part in the Steemit community!

A little about me:

  • 26 years old
  • Live in Ontario
  • Nonbinary trans person
  • I use they pronouns
  • Computer science student
  • Dye my hair different colors all the time
  • Have two cats and a dog
  • Type 1 diabetic




MissMaxMilton
A tuxedo cat looking up with her eyes wideA different tuxedo cat letting his paw dangle from the top of a deskA small brown dog wearing a harness with the edge of Jamie's smiling face cut off on the side

Current projects:

  • Build a regular yoga practice
  • Go running with my dog more often
  • Polish my final project from my Java class last term for my portfolio
  • Build the same simple game in both Java and C

Setting intentions:

I am very passionate about transgender rights and issues, programming and data analysis, animal care, and mental and physical health.

These are the areas I am most likely to focus my own blog posts on and I am also very interested in following fellow Steemians who post about these topics! I would love any recommendations you might have for folks that I should follow.

I'm still learning the ropes so I've only followed a handful of people so far. :)

I look forward to chatting with you and getting to know this community better!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hello transmundane! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hello. Welcome!

Take a few minutes to read the Welcome and FAQ pages, which will answer most common questions. It is a lot to absorb and a fairly steep learning curve, but we were all there at one time or another and the community is generally very helpful.

Most communities on Steemit communicate via Discord. If you are on it, I manage the one for the LGBT+ community, which you may join by clicking the banner below. Be advised that there's a simple screening process to keep out the trolls and protect our members' privacy.

umbrellabannerlgbtdiscord.png

Thank you for the welcome, and for the discord invite! I'll definitely have to check it out, I'd love to get more involved with the LBGT community here :)

If you join it in the next few hours, hopefully my mods are on it 'cause I'm on another Discord for a radio show. If not, I'll get back over there as soon as it's over.

Dogs can be taught to count and solve simple math problems.

Hello! I'm as new as you, let's develop together. We can achieve a lot if we act together. I followed you, and you follow me. ;)

welcome to steemit. I really hope you enjoy it here :) Have an upvote for starters

@transmundane, welcome to steemit. To be successful here you need to post consistently on what you are passionate about. Also, comment on posts by steemians you enjoy reading. Don't become discouraged because it will take time to achieve your targets

A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.
I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r and we will teach and support you to grow in the Steemit Community. We can also help you choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money on Steemit and in life.

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!

Your cat Max looks just like my cat Frank. Welcome to the forum. Look forward to all you have give to the site.

Welcome to Steemit!@ Express yourself, thats why we are here!@ My daughter identifies as Trans, I have my daughters back at all cost!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13