The NFL is on STEEM!

My name is Udochukwu Victor Ochi (you can call me Vic) and I am an Outside Linebacker/Defensive pass rusher for the Tennessee Titans. A friend recently told me about STEEM and I think it’s such a cool idea that I decided to join and help grow the STEEM community!

As the STEEM Ambassador to the NFL, I will provide you, the STEEM community, exclusive behind the scenes access of my journey as an professional football player. You will get to experience my day-to-day off-season and rehab (I injured my knee during last year’s training camp, more on that later.) First, let me introduce myself…

I am 24 years old. I was born in the Bronx and raised in Long Island, NY. I was born to hard working Igbo man and an Idoma woman, who were both born in Nigeria. Although I didn’t play organized football until high school, since the age of 12, I always wanted to play in the National Football League. After only playing 2 years of high school, I earned a full athletic scholarship to Stony Brook University where I became an All-American Defensive-end. Due to the hard work on and off the field and guidance from my coaches, parents and mentors I was fortunate to break Stony Brook University’s all time sack record with 32 ½ sacks, all time TFL (Tackle for Losses) leader with 49 TFL and I also hold the single season sack record with 13 sacks my senior year.

After a successful college career that was beyond my wildest expectation, I was invited to the 2016 NFL combine and soon after the 2016 NFL draft. Now most people would expect a fairy tale ending of big contracts, pro bowls, capped with a hall of fame jacket. But for me and like most NFL players, our journey is not all roses. To the contrary, the NFL journey is often filled with setbacks and extreme disappointments.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get drafted in 2016. I was hurt and embarrassed. What made it all really hard to take was that ESPN and the Long Island Newsday were in my parent’s living room filming along with 40-50 of my closest family and friends. But the story doesn’t end there. The Baltimore Ravens took a chance on me. The Ravens signed me as an undrafted free agent immediately after the draft. Although I did not get much playing time or opportunities at training camp, I made the most out of the situation. During the preseason I recorded 2 sacks, 1 TFL (Tackle for Loss) and 6 tackles. Unfortunately, I was cut from the Ravens after training camp due to salary cap and depth issues. Shortly thereafter, I signed with my hometown team, the New York Jets. I made the roster and things were looking up!

That year the Jets didn’t make the playoffs and decided to release me. As the saying goes “when a door closes, God opens a window.” When the season ended the Kansas City Chiefs call me to join the team to add depth to the Chief’s dynamic pass rushers for the 2016 NFL playoffs which included players such as Tamba Ali, Justin Houston and Dee Ford.

The experience was amazing. However the Chiefs lost in the first round to the Pittsburgh Steelers and I was soon released from the team because they were stacked with pass rushers. Then I received a call from the Tennessee Titans and was invited to their 2017 NFL training camp. I was excited to be there and felt I could help contribute to the team’s success! I was having a succesful camp, when during a scrimmage game I tore my ACL.

It was extremely disappointing to have my season end the way it did but this is certainly not the end!

Welcome to the Road Back!

I will document and share my wins, loses, blood, sweat and tears on my road back to the NFL! At the same time I want to bring awareness and support to the STEEM community as the community ambassador to the NFL. I hope you enjoy!



Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I will be one of your biggest fans here for sure. I sure wish you played for the Broncos though....

Here is some @smartcash to get you started over here as well. Good luck in 2018.

Σ$$$ Tipped @uvictor.ochi Σ5 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.207 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $1.03 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Hy people, I am new too to steemit. :)
wanna be in touch with you mates
here I am
https://steemit.com/introduction/@hafizhafi17/a-big-hi-to-steemians

I'm not sure what you mean?

wanna follow experts one. As I have posted one of my post but not getting the way to get comments

I'm not sure what you mean?

welcome dear hope you enjoy steemit community

I'm not sure what you mean?

WELCOME WELCOME Victor

I Love sports but football the most you guys call it (Soccer)..... This is what it's all about in it's rawest form determination, dedication, perseverance, persistence.

Let us not forget why we are on Steemit.

To Support our fellow Steemians in bad and good Times' because the struggle is real.

God Speed.

Samuelfuture

Hey, Vic. We at the BRO Sports™ Network would be interested in speaking with you and possibly setting up an interview.

Can you please contact David?

Steemit.chat: ats.david
Discord app: ats-david [ats-witness]#1997

or

BRO Sports™ Network Facebook page?

welcome dear hope you enjoy steemit community

welcome dear hope you enjoy steemit community

welcome dear hope you enjoy steemit community

Welcome man, glad to see you join :) Glad to see some sports stars join STEEM! Resteeming you for some publicity! Greets

Welcome to steemit . It’s great to have an NFL Player here In the community. I just wanted to give you a friendly reminder that what gets posted on steemit stays on the steem Blockchain and can never be deleted. Best of luck in your return to football after your injury. Steem On!

Congrats to be here. Wish you the best and hope to watch you and promote steem while you play.\Keep on steemin'

wow, I am really looking forward to hearing about your journey through your NFL years and I personally believe building up your social media will help you in more ways than one!

welcome!

Welcome to steemit! I was a college OT who quit early for my health & have studied the impact of brain trauma for many years since. Make sure you educate yourself about protecting your brain health as much as possible. The NFL has been covering up real research for many decades & still are. I’d rather read what you have to write then see you bang heads!

This is exactly why i consume medical marijuana without it my brain does without it my without it my brain does not operate properly ie fog and pain probably from the five years of head hits I took as an offensive tackle I Can Only Imagine you took many head hits

Me too! & I credit marijuana use with giving me the intelligence to quit that game long before I had to. Didn’t make sense to me sacrifice my body & brain for chump change while old white men made all the money & fans scream ingnorances. Close to 20 years since & I have spent a lot of my free time studying the brain as a hobby & professionally with corrupt neurologists. As well as the system of indoctrination used to trap young men & control their brains via head trauma & constant propaganda. A lot of my perspective comes from seeing first hand what Alzheimer’s did to my dad, who is ten years deep & has very little functioning left. No amount of money or glory is worth putting ones family through that imo. Good luck to this hopeful player, but fuck football. Should be illegal for kids to play & a whole lot of people should be put in jail for working to cover the effects of football up. The denial from coaches players & fans is sickening. I want to see a take an nfl hit booth at every football stadium in the country. Free concussions for fans so they can feel the game 😉

Yeah those hits are brutal and the extremes these athletes go to are amazing. Keep up spreading safety to the younger generation!

Thanks, I’m most concerned about protecting the younger generation. Would love to be the instrument of karma for a lot of football coaches I know, but in reality they are brain damaged & brain washed too, & admitting the truth would be an admission to having brain damage themselves as well admitting there life’s work has been causing irreversible brain damage to kids they say they love. You want to see real denial talk to a high school football coach in 2018. They will spit the nfl made it safer propaganda, but I coached hi school football 2 years ago & the kids I coached were still getting there bells rung regularly & displaying symptoms of head trauma, & I was the only coach on staff who said shit about it. When I see the kids I coached now around town, I apologize to them & give them my unfiltered opinions.

Head trauma besides way overly competition no fed coaches are driving youth into dangerous training practices. And I know what you mean. My nephews and nieces are getting to go a different path. I've seen too many people destroy their bodies in the chase for glory at a game.

Hey bro I've been caught up into steemit keep in touch! I'm trying to reserve my voting power but you just caught me doing 2 100% upvotes in a row 😜
https://discord.gg/8EqZaQY

The sentiment is better than the votes, I appreciate it 💚

Awesome to have you here! Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75