Why I Write and What I Hope to Do

7.jpg

“He asked, ‘What makes a man a writer?’ Well, I said, it’s simple. You either get it down on paper, or jump off a bridge.” Charles Bukowski

Even in the brightest noon sun, the darkness in the cell of one's own mind can be suffocating. Writing is my way of opening a window, to share and to lay bare.

This started as a way to cope. Writing became a release, a way to have a conversation outside my own head where I often felt trapped. More than 8 years ago, I opened a word document and started typing.

This document became a mixture of my thoughts, logs of events that happened in my life or ideas and quotes I found interesting. The aim was also to create a place where I wouldn’t be afraid to be cliché or to talk about my most embarrassing moments and thoughts, without any concern about being self-indulgent. I just felt a bit better when I wrote my thoughts down, it was like I was relaying them to someone, outside of myself, who's listening.

Only in recent months did the idea of sharing these thoughts start formulating in my mind. I had only shown some of my writings to four people before then and I was fortunate enough to receive encouragement from them to share. Now, I am blessed to have some of these beautiful souls supporting me in this attempt.

Even though I often feel that this is all just crap; pretentious, repetitive, recycled ideas, with nothing new and nothing original, this word document has become one of the things I value the most in my life.

I wish I had the vocabulary, the prose or the descriptive powers to convey all these thoughts and events accurately and beautifully, but unfortunately, I don't. Still, I will take the leap and do the best I can.

When I first started writing, I was in a dark place. A lot of my earlier entries reflect the sorrow and questioning as depression and doubt consumed several years of my life. I gradually found ways to cope and to control the volume of the questions voiced inside my head. Flickers of light appeared here and there in my writing and in my outlook on life.

The change was gradual but when I look back now on my earlier writings I can gladly say I remember but I do not fully recognize that person. A big reason why I decided to share is to relay this transformation, to give hope to others who are going through similar struggles, to break through their isolation and open a window.

For that reason, I want this to spread and the writings within it to reach as many people as possible. You can help me by liking it if you enjoyed reading it or if it helped you in any way. Spread it and who knows who else it can help.

Note: Any quotes or thoughts where I don't specify a source in between brackets are mine, I am of course unconsciously inspired by what I see, read or hear, but I do not intentionally plagiarize.

Sort:  

I am so happy that you are here, vainvessel! I wish you a very happy journey here in this awesome community :) Be happy!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome! So nice to have you with us. If you have any questions, just post them here and I will try to help out, if I can. Good luck!

exelente post maní yo también escribo no tanto como tu pero hay se va.. jejej saludos pásate por mi blog y ve a ver puedo recibir consejos.. cuanlquier poregunta de estimet a la orden <3

@vainvessel, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

This post has been upvoted for free by @microbot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Good content

Welcome to Steem, @vainvessel!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2354 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.


Welcome to Steemit @vainvessel!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

we are all inspired by what we read see and hear, I see you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a contest post on the bottom it will teach you, then after you make yours feel free to enter the contest to create mine. https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/design-isteemithard-a-profile-picture-avatar-contest-15-winner-of-14

Hello @vainvessel! Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30