My first post on Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hey there, Yevgen is here. I'm a Ukrainian living in Dublin, Ireland. I come from a town in Crimea which is situated on the Black Sea and now known to be a part of Russia.

My professional career made a couple of unexpected twists and turns. I graduated with a master's in law and started working in the public service, where I sacrificed seven years of my life for a bunch of grey hairs by the age of 30 :-)

I've always been good at languages and worked in the international relations, eventually getting my second master's in foreign policy and international relations and being promoted to a managerial position. The job was never boring. Nor it was rewarding. And living in stress for many years didn't make any good for me.

At some point and after just another change of leadership in Ukraine it became obvious that all international relations that we were going to deal with would be centered around Russia. Being an ethnic Russian, I've never been a Russophobe or had any disrespect to the Russian people. But when your new boss tells you something like "why would we need Europeans here who will give us money and then make us hire European experts to teach us how to do things, when we can just ask Russians for something and they will give us it for free", you get this feeling that maybe the time to move on has come ;-)

So I did. I joined the BBC in Ukraine as a monitoring journalist, spending there four wonderful years. The job was centered around politics again so the feeling that I still have something to do with the public service had never actually left me :-)

I was in Crimea in 2014 when the so-called "referendum" happenned and it became a part of Russia in a blink of an eye. It was hard to see how most of your friends and family suddenly changed the country. And it was disappointing to hear their reasoning most of which was based on propaganda from the Russian TV. At some point I realized that I needed to escape all this so I grabbed my wife, left my job and went someplace else.

By that time, I had been freelancing as a translator for several clients while finishing my yet another master's. This time in Translation Studies. So, in the next couple of years we changed cities and countries, met lots of nice and not so people, got robbed, mugged, had laughs, ups and downs.

Long story short, I now work in game localization. But my recent passion is cryptocurrencies and blockchain technologies. And I'm going to be a dad soon.

I don't know how these all things combine together but I'm happy to be here for another journey!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @y3v63n! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello y3v63n! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome, y3v63n! Wish you a very joyful journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) All the best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

@y3v63n, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Hi @y3v63n. Welcome to this wonderful community!!! You'll meet amazing people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91