Synergy and Joy: An Introduction

Hello, Hi, and Welcome. I'll keep this first post short and sweet; it seems customary to introduce oneself after first joining this website. That being said, my name is Zack and I'm a Veterinary student that's hoping to join the Army Veterinary Corps and I love animals and such. My interests are multifarious. I enjoy reading practical books that challenge your way of thinking; I actively pursue opportunities to practice - and learn - new methods of leadership. Of course, I enjoy a nice jaunt through Mother Nature as well; as you can see from my photograph there.

My motivation for being on the website is slightly unclear to me at this point in time; but it's my hope to provide some content worthy of intellectual thought - and in an optimal scenario - challenge others to pursue self AND inter-self development through conversation. To be entirely candid, I've grown rather tired of all of the junk on the internet these days, mainly those routes coined as Social Media. Moving forward, my goal is to engage in discussion about some wonderful books, theories, ideas, etc. I wouldn't be incredibly morose (See Dead Poets Society) if I made a little money along the way.

Allow me to purpose a question to anyone who might be reading this; for what purpose do you find yourself online writing, commenting, and reading on this website? I suppose what I'm trying to portray is the importance of finding your "why?" This idea comes from an author - I'm sure many of you have heard about - named Simon Sinek. If you haven't already read his book, I challenge you to sit down and read it. I won't spend any extra time speaking about the book, but I thought it was a good transition into a thought I had the other day while climbing a mountain in Southern Oregon. Let me know if you've ever thought the same...

It pains me to see so many people get caught in this societal "rinse-wash-repeat" cycle. What I mean by this (in no particular order):

  1. Go to work; work 8-10 hrs a day at a job that you may/may not enjoy.
  2. Get home; cook dinner, and take care of any other standard "to-do's."
  3. Save up enough money to travel somewhere (MAYBE).
  4. Occasionally go to the lake or have a barbecue.
  5. Pay your bills.
  6. Buy unnecessary items.
  7. Repeat.

This brings me back to the title of my post. Where is the joy in that, and how does one find synergy in their life? Also - what the heck is synergy, for that matter? I hope to explore these questions/concerns over the next few weeks and hopefully I can convince some of you to join me.

Thank you very much for reading! Have a nice day!

38480795_10155677110683202_4401485774885748736_o.jpg

Sort:  

welcome to steem it and have fun!

Hello zvanhoesen1! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hello Zack. Welcome to Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit @zvanhoesen1

Hey hey Zack!
Welcome to the Steemi platform! I hope you will have a great time here! Really great post and a lot to learn about you! keep it up this way! May all your dreams come true!

If you are looking for a way to connect more with other Steemians, have a look at the Discord channels! I do have a channel as well and I will leave you a link! Feel free to join or to join others! It's a great way to bring more excitement to your Steemit journey!

Join You Got Snekked

Hello @zvanhoesen1 Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow me if you like.

Thanks @santaje! I will certainly do that.

As a tip, follow the ones you like. No need to follow anyone who follows you and asks for it. Also, voting for your own comments will bring you nothing, just a drain in voting power which is limited.

Hey Alex, I really appreciate the advice; thanks for taking the time out of your day to help me out. I'll be sure to keep that in mind moving forward.

So how is it after almost a week?

Hi Zack and welcome to Steem!

To go directly to your why I'm doing it:

  • it improves my level of the language that I write in
  • for money
  • relationships

These would be my main whys on this. Simon Sinek has an interesting view on different topics so yes, I would recommend also the Start With Why.

If you have question regarding Steem, feel free to ask me.

I appreciate the candor! Is English your first language? You seem to have a good grasp on it. Can I ask you a personal question? What does your money go towards, primarily (outside of essential things like rent, utilities, etc)? Thanks again Alex. I have plenty of questions....does mass upvoting things have any kind of repercussions? I obviously need to do a bit more research on this whole deal.

Well, English is the 3rd language for me. I understand most of it, probably some more than some natives as I like to read a lot (not being cocky or snob). I do pay my debts from past mistakes and try to do value and leverage investing.

Your voting power decreases everytime you vote and takes time to regenerate. Till you reach 500 SP you will cast only 100%. You can vote 10 times a day with 100% so that your VP(voting power) can regenerate in 24 hours back. You don't lose by mass voting, just you don't give anything to the receiver.


Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!
Click the Image Below to see the Video!
You also got a $5 UPVOTE from @postpromoter

Vote for @yabapmatt as Top 20 Witness!
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=yabapmatt&approve=1

Thank you for the shout-out! That was pretty rad. Let me know if I can return the favor somehow! Cheers!

You got a 3.67% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @reseller!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Welcome to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16