Mysteries of the Ancient World!

in #introduceyourselfhistory5 years ago (edited)

Myths, mysterious stories and fascinating historical facts, these are just a few of the things that I’m going to be posting you about.

My name is Nick Fanourakis, I am a new guy here on Steemit and I feel excited about joining this amazing decentralized community!

I’m a 30 year old Greek guy living and working in Germany. I’m currently stuck working a job that I don’t really like very much. Nonetheless, I believe that life is a unique gift and that we have to try our best to live as good as we can and to never let go of our dreams. I have two little girls which I love very very much and I am determined in the near future to work from home so I can spend more time with them, do something creative, and in general enjoy life! !)

I have interests I want to share to a wider audience, unfortunately the nature of my job doesn’t provide this opportunity. I think that the Steemit platform will be a good place to talk about my real passion: History! I’m genuinely intrigued by antiquity and their mythologies, especially the Roman Empire, but even more so, that of ancient Greece. History is one of those things that has fascinated me as since I was a kid. Since then I haven't stopped flipping through the history books where I’m always discovering new things I didn’t know before. History is simply my passion.

But I don’t want to just ramble on about some simple historical facts, I want to go deeper into the most fascinating and unbelievable moments that actually happened. I want to explore with you the myths, the fables, and the legends that drove those cultures and to unravel the sinews of time that tie these ancient civilizations to our own.

I love the myths of the past and I’m amazed with their unlimited creativity and their relentless imagination, so I’ll be writing a lot about them, since in my humble opinion, myth and history are linked together. I don’t want to only explore the ancient Greeks and the Romans, I’m hoping to that together in this community we might also penetrate the world of the Incas, the kingdoms of China, the majestic empires of India and much much more. We can take a look at the symbolism that appears like a pattern throughout different parts of the globe, found for example in civilizations that never had contact with each other whatsoever.

Together as explorers of the realms of the past we will plunge into the world of psychedelic substances such as Psilocybe spp. (species of magic mushroom) that propagated the seeds of the first civilizations. We will see together how such substances stimulated the discovery of higher levels of consciousness and influenced early spirituality, how for example, the practices of indigenous peoples such as the ancient shamans of the Incas or the mystical priests of Egypt used them to develop new explanations of the skies and to a better understanding of their own version of cosmology. I want to transport you to a world where psychoactive frogs, ayahuasca brew, magic beer, and even psychedelic fish that were playing a definitive role in the mystical rituals of these different societies, facts that are hidden from the average reader of history.

I don’t proclaim to be a university professor, or an erudite scholar, I’m just a guy that has a genuine enthusiasm for ancient history and a love of studying books on the subject. I will welcome any input that others in the community may have on the subjects I will be writing about.

History is written in books for those who want to read it, and especially today, the internet serves as a kind of modern version of the Library of Alexandria, providing access to this information instantly at our fingertips. At the same time, most of the schools have done a terrible job teaching us and our children about our history, they have made it sound boring and useless. Rather, I see it as the most precious thing that we as a human race have..

I hope to give something pleasant, entertaining, and educational for the reader. I hope that you will like the content and be able to participate with your comments. This way you will also be able to add more information, have a great time, and we’ll get to know each other and learn something that we didn't know before about the past and the stories of the people before us, our ancestors...

Sort:  

Welcome! What a wonderful outlook you have! I agree that working from home is optimal - it allows an incomparable amount of freedom to focus on what really matters in life!

As someone who's also quite interested in history, I look forward to reading your posts :)

You got a 41.98% upvote from @bdvoter courtesy of @king-minos!

Delegate your SP to us at @bdvoter and earn daily 100% profit share for your delegation & rewards will be distributed automatically daily.

500 SP, 1000 SP, 2500 SP, 5000 SP, 10000 SP.

If you are from Bangladesh and looking for community support, Join BDCommunity Discord Server & If you want to support our service, please set your witness proxy to BDCommunity.

Welcome to our Steemit family Nick .. Hope you can achieve the financial freedom you need and live your life on your terms . Good luck ..

Posted using Partiko Android

welcome to steemit the independence blogging platform

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much casillas !

I love history and mythology so I am really looking forward to your content. I just started watching a youtube channel called Crash Course Mythology and really love it. Best of luck with your work and I look forward to reading more.

Thank you , I really appriciate the comment ....

image.png

I LOVE HISTORY!!!

For real, any spare moment I find researching 'old stuff'. 😂
I probably should have been an archeologist or something. ...

Anywho-- I'm stoked to see what you start producing!

If you are looking for communities, help to navigate the blockchain, or just have questions- reach out!

I will for sure carriealen! Thank you very much for the welcoming ...

Welcome king-minos!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11