Platinum or Steem

in #investing6 years ago (edited)

Dear stackers, investors,

If you next to your investments (house, bonds, equity, savings, silver and gold) have some spare cash - like me now - you look for opportunities to invest this.

I among others look at the risk vs reward of a possible investment and if possible try to buy low.

So today I looked at two options again: steem and physical platinum

Both have decreased in value (measured to EUR or USD) recently but not in the same manner:

Steemprice is much more volatile:

  • the price of platinum lost almost half of it's highest value in the last 2 years
  • the steemprice moved between 12 cents and ~7 USD the last two years

If we assume there remains a future demand for both platinum (industry and jewelry) and steem (steemit and other applications(users)) both can go up again but also further down.

If crypto investments are made easier accesible for big parties via ETF's and these ETF's are regulated (regulated only meaning pensionfunds are allowed to invest in these ETF's) the crypto's can again get a one time push upwards and a big one.

(ETF = Exchange Traded Fund)

On the rewards side your steem investment generates some 20% minus 9% steem inflation is 11% whereas (physical) platinum will cost you some storage cost but generates no return while waiting for appreciation of the metal price. Be aware that steem must have this extra return given the higher volatility. There are ways of measuring this better but I never do this as it is too complex for me.

So for me it was easy today. I bought some more steem this morning and delegate part of it via my second steemit account!

Goldrooster

proud member of steemsilvergold

Sort:  

We are always looking to trade fiat for something tangible, or has value, as Fiat, is always losing value through the magic of inflation, and government taxes, both hands out, saying give me. Thanks for providing a balanced approach to where to spend the extra fiat.

I received an unexpected upvote from your second steemit account and I thank you.
All the delegations that I have done are to receive upvotes, like ssg-community. Are your delegations the same kind or do you receive a fixed quantity of steem? Or it is a percentage of the profits? In the last case, how do you know how many steem is this percentage? All these questions are because I intend to do what you did.

In steembottracker there is a tool delegation and if you enter powernap you see where that account delegates to. They are 5 bots. I think of Dtube but cannot find info yet. The bot tipu makes posts where he compares ROI per bot and after a month I can say he is pretty accurate. I do get rewards each two hours, each day or once a week depening on the bot (see wallet of powernap). As powernap had some large SP for a minute I gave away large upvotes to SSG and ten others. So it is not comparable to the delegation to SSG. The powernap is called passive income (no need to post but lesser ROI).

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I want this cock.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71