I Disagree with @ned about being so much against "Investors getting excited" at these price points

in #investing5 years ago

steem logo.png

He even referred to it as making him "sick" in one of his latest Livestreams.

Well , many investors including Warren Buffet as well as HUGELY successful Hedge Fund Managers have been "excited" about investing in bargain deals.

I get what @ned means....

He has an ideology of Crytpo that many have including myself. He looks at it as fundamentally being able to change the ball game and change peoples' lives for the better with a decentralized environment and substituting crypto for fiat. And basically forming 'tokenized' Communities.

But...

make no mistake I would not be at all upset if we had some hugely "excited" investors to plop down millions in Steem...of course as long as it's "exciting" investing based on the fundamentals of Steem and not based on a purely technical, speculative standpoint.

Cheers,
Robert Andrew

Sort:  

The thing that gets me about Ned is that he doesn't seem to respond to comments at all on his posts. Not that I've seen anyway. It isn't as if he is some big celebrity with millions of fans. What would it hurt to have some written responses?

I mean, to be fair he is answering questions on the videos, but still. Yeah, the whole 'sick' comment that he made, got me feeling a bit sick. It is detrimental to Steem to have the head honcho speaking with such a negative tone.

It's all part of being a great leader. You have to always have a positive face. Just my opinion anyway.

My impression was that the "sick" was in reference to taking actions specifically with the goal of enticing people to buy Steem in the short term. About which I couldn't agree with him more.

Yeah , that was my impression too. As I said as long as it's not "technically" based ( i.e. short term, at least the way I define technical trading). We do need pure long term Investors in Steem, no doubt about it. Ones that want to see their ROI get 20% or morer per year.

people do realize, this Bear market is not just Steem, or not even Crypto, but Wall St. itself has given back all it's gains since Jan 1st

I am still optimistic about steem @robertandrew and I am all fed up with this bear market, it is very brutal.

The Devil is in the details, isn't it? Steem needs investors, but they also need investors who aren't in it for sheer speculation.

It doesn't have to be a zero some game of 1 or the other, its said steem would need around 2mil to run per year and if an investor came in with say a series A of 12-15 mil and said hey here's your operating expenses for the next 5 years sorted go and make things happen! I think its still viable, the investor doesnt need to take stake in the coin, they investing in steemit inc

We are left to our own while steemit inc looks to create revenue channels to remain sustainable and return the investment. Steemit inc isn't steemit!

I agree that would be cool but only if they use it to give back to those that are on the platform. Investing and sitting on it may work in a traditional setting, but when it comes to Steemit that is pretty counter intuitive. Curation rewards alone should have you wanting your money working for you. If I were to win the lottery tomorrow. There would be a decent portion of my winnings going into Steem for sure.

i hadn't really looked at the price in a while. ouch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75