Book Review: The Strategic Divident Investor

in #investing5 years ago

29F8EBC0-D4B5-4546-B0E0-E80BC08C2402.jpeg

The Book:
The Strategic Dividend Investor by Daniel Peris. Daniel Peru’s is a portfolio manager for Federated Investors in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. He has a B.A., Masters and Ph. D., he studied Oxford University and was a Fullbright Scholar.

The Books self-professed philosophy:
The author stresses from the beginning to the end, that there’s a big difference between investing in companies which you hope go up in price, which he calls speculation, and investing in companies which pay you a quarterly dividend and have a solid record of stock price appreciation, which he calls investing. The book teaches you to view the stock market as a business venture, not speculation, teaches the importance of quarterly earnings and annual growth, plus you can learn how to assess a companies ability and inclination to pay a dividend and grow their dividend. Warning: their is math involved.

Review:
I was given this book by a friend and surprisingly I finished a third of it the first day, partly because I was traveling for five hours, so I had uninterrupted time to read, but mostly because I was enjoying the book. I must admit that I was initially not impressed by his claims that little known companies with regular earnings, steady growth rates and non-volatile stock prices beat the S&P Index year after year. I assumed that if this was true everyone would know about it. But as I looked at his charts and graphs, the historical stock prices and earnings reports, I realized that this knowledge was available to me all along, but these stocks weren’t exciting in the usual meaning of the word, like the stocks which dominated the news. But they were listed as components in index funds and popular mutual funds which were well known to some investors. These stock funds were not just profitable, but several beat the S&P Index year after year. This made me a believer. I also think I was ready for this because I had moved from speculative crypto currencies to Staking coins, Masternode coins and now Delegated Proof of Stake Steem, so the concept of getting paid while I hold an investment was not foreign to me.

Conclusion:
I suggest you give the book a read. It is not an action filled science fiction novel, nor is it a steamy romance novel. But if learning the difference between speculation and investment interests you and if earning above average returns on your investments without drama brings you pleasure, I suggest you read the book.

✍🏼 by Shortsegments

91DA84D0-53DE-4340-A242-0B7343A4A542.jpeg

232C5295-7F78-4D58-990B-55A8CA9DF8AA.jpeg

84AD347E-F1C2-444E-A6E9-559A4E9E3A6D.jpeg

A7137486-F8AA-47F7-9D2D-906C18318609.jpeg

RealityHubs is where users can post their opinion on things people use in everyday life, thus Reality Hubs.

Learn More 👉 RealityHubs 👀

🗣🗣🗣Update Post;

Sort:  

Nice short review, nice review points. I appreciate your format and brevity.

Thank you. I am glad you liked it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72