Review | Mining invite tokens via @steem.ninja | Some things to think about

in #invite5 years ago


Mining invite tokens via steem.ninja

In the past weeks I've written two posts this topic already, one where I only delegated 50 Steem Power to start with, as my account was in powerdown at that point. Several days later my powerdown was stopped, and I delegated my Steem Power (I left only 150 SP for myself) to Steem.ninja. You can find the two posts by clicking here and here.

Disappointed to see the payout date change

When I first delegated, I would get my first tokens on July 7th, and I assumed that this would still be the case after increasing my delegation. Meaning, on July 7th I would get the 0.35 Invite according to the delegation table.

From July 14th I would get the 1.8 invite according to the delegation table for delegating 350 SP total. So when the payout date changed from July 7th to July 14th, I was disappointed at first. But then I noticed both of these amounts were added, so I would still receive the same amount of tokens in the end.

Which was fine, it was only a shame that I would have to wait a bit longer, but that's fine and not a problem. Until today, when I checked again, I noticed that amount had dropped significantly to "only" 1.49 Invite on July 14th.

This is very disappointing to be honest, because it almost feels like I'm being punished for increasing my delegation. I have to wait longer, while I increased the amount of SP delegated, but I will get a lot less mined Invite tokens.


Feedback for improvement

First of all, the concept of mining invite tokens is something I absolutely love. This will onboard a lot more peopl on the Steem blockchain, which is good, and where some people may prefer receiving upvotes for their delegation, I think this is much better. Well done!

I know the amount of mined invite tokens are based on the total delegations and according to the amount everyone delegates it will be divided per person.

I'm not surprised payouts are dropping because of more delegations (and probably more higher amounts of delegations as well), but I'm surprised that this wasn't handled seperately. Even though I delegated it before my first expected payout, I would have totally understand if this amount would not count until July 8th for the next round.

I'm quite disappointed that I didn't receive the payout on July 7th according to the table at that time (0.35 invite), and that the next round would count for the 350 SP delegation. My question here is, wouldn't it be more fair to not calculate the new received delegations until after the currunt week has been paid out? And if that's not going to be the case, I would advise to make it clear to people, that they will not get the current payout at the expected date, but that it will move forward according to the new amount delegated.

I know that it's communicated that delegations have to be there for at least 7 days until they can be paid out, but this was the case here, I already had a delegation of 50 SP. Although it would have not been a huge payout, I think it's not really fair to just move the date. I also wonder if someone lowers their delegation, what that means for them. Does that mean if they lower the amount on day 6 of the delegation, that they will miss the amount of tokens they were expecting for those 6 days? I guess so.

It's possible that these things weren't obvious when launching this mining thing, or it's something that wasn't expected to happen, by writing this review, I hope that someone can look into this, and review if this should stay the same or should be improved. I hope the last thing is the case.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, keep up the good work!


DISCLAIMER
This is not financial advice, nor a guarantee or promise in regards to any result that may be obtained from using the above content. The information provided here is for informational and entertainment purposes only. It should not be considered as financial and/or investment advice. No person should make any kind of financial decision without first consulting their own financial adviser and/or conducting their own research and due diligence.

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82