It's officially a drought in Ireland now

in #ireland6 years ago (edited)

It was expected to rain today but hasn't.


From the Irish Times

The vast majority of the country officially enters a state of “absolute drought” today with no rainfall recorded at 24 out of 25 weather stations during the last two weeks.

The extreme weather conditions have prompted Irish Water to expand a hosepipe ban from the Greater Dublin Area to the whole country from Friday morning.

Full Article

Sort:  

This is so unfortunate but thats okay sometimes since you really cant predict nature sometimes too..On the contrary there are more rains more than expected in the year here in Ghana..It rains almost everyday leaving plants to fall and many other structures to collapse..I think you gon have some climatic change very soon at your end @demotruk. thanks too

cows in the pool! cute i hope you will get some rain soon x

I am personally concerned for Ireland, it's one of the calamities.
how the condition of the people there, I hope is fine.

It's crazy alright. The climate is for sure changing. Each year the extremes are getting larger. I've never thought I would hear Irish people hope for rain but here we are with predictions of heatwave into next week. It will take alot to get the water table to rise up again.

Wow.....it has been raining fire here in my country (nigeria) for few days now. Let me transfer some rain to Ireland from here lol.

Yes.. it's usually the other way around. We are called the emerald isle precisely because the grass is always green. Ireland being so dry and hot is very unusual.

Okay....thanks for the enlightenment.

I have friends in Waterford. I’ll have to check in with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23