You've made it - Welcome to Mauritius

in #islandlife5 years ago


You've done it! You've packed up your old life and started a new one. You've made it to the island by hook or by crook.

As you unpack your things in your new home you might wonder, what now? What's next? It's not all cocktails and beach sunsets especially if you are here to earn money and also if you have kids in school. But, there's more than ample time to enjoy all that's on offer.

Firstly I would advise to just take a deep breath of island air and relax. Take some time out to get to know your surroundings. Not all move here with prior knowledge of the ins and outs but that poses no problem. You'll get the hang of it soon enough. Don't rush into everything. Take your time.

If you are not on the 'South Africans Living in Mauritius' group be sure to join because there is a wealth of information there.

Get settled, get your paperwork in order so you can be here legally because that's the most important thing. I don't get into the legal stuff, there is way too many people for that. But You can click here to read a tad more on the application process I wrote tongue in cheek should you wish to do so. https://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com/keep-calm-and-breathe-on-its-a-red-tape-kind-of-day/

I did ask on the SALIM group recently what 'advice' they would give to newbies on the island. Unfortunately, the feedback was slow so you'll have to go it with my opinion alone.

You have now exchanged a continent for a rock in the middle of the ocean. For some, this is a hugely exciting thought, for others less so. Depending on WHY you are here. This is something that I cannot help with, each person makes their own decisions and some are here because of a spouse and not necessarily out of their own volition. Be that as it may. If you're reading this your here and that is what the point of this blog is.

One thing that's important to remember is that we're guests on this island. Behave like one. A good mannered one. Life here is just what it is.. Life. You'll still go to work, go shopping, cook each day, meet new people. Much the same back home only surrounded by some magnificent beaches and poignant and sensitive history. Be respectful of that and careful how you tread. I'll leave it at that.

On to more practical tips. Driving here is not the same as back home. It's done 'kamikaze-style' half the time and interspersed with some hand and arm-signals that we have yet to learn and understand. This post from https://www.mauritius.goto.mu/what-you-should-know-driving-in-mauritius gives more insight on that. Another tidbit of personal advice; drive to wherever you have to go using Google-maps but on the way back switch it off and try and find your way out on your own...that helped me to get to know the area in no time at all which just makes you feel more confident driving here as well.

Take time to soak in your surroundings. Case the local shops and get a feel of what's available where and compare products and costs so you can work out your budget (if you have one like me). There are plenty of options for doing your food shop, SuperU, Intermart, Jumbos, only to mention a few. For those who dislike the actual going into the shop part, there is also an online food shopping website available that delivers. http://www.theshop.mu Also be sure to check my blog https://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com/shopping-in-french-adapt-or-die-%F0%9F%98%8B/ to read more about shopping on the island and getting a discount card that you can earn rewards with at quite a few places on the island.

There is a huge recycling facility in the basement area at La Croissette. A very well thought out and good facility. You can also exchange all bottles bottled in Mauritius for a Rs15 discount slip towards your next wine purchase.

Rent a car before you buy one. There are so many hoops to jump through don't just buy the first car you see. Insurance, taxes, hidden costs. Take your time with a rental until you are sure you are here for good and that you don't have to advertise it within a short time because you decided not to stay. Same goes for furniture and housewares. And for a house or apartment. If you can afford it rent in different areas until you find your perfect spot.

We purposely did not bring any furniture because we knew this was only a short term option for us. Although I miss my stuff I know it's safe in storage back at home and I'll have it shipped to wherever we decide to settle down permanently.

Check the groups for coffee meet-ups or be bold and create your own. Reach out on the groups and ask for advice and tips. There are many expats that will be keen to assist with many things. You just need to speak up and ask because if you don't your struggles will go unnoticed. Make friends, because you're going to need them for support at one stage or another. Island blues are real. It will come and go. For some more than others. It passes, that's the good news.

Keep busy! Get a hobby or get involved! Either way. Find something to do. I kid you not!

If you are someone that enjoys getting involved in the community check out PAWS, ALL LIFE MATTERS and plenty more if you look around or ask people that's been here a while.

Living in Mauritius has its challenges, it's pros and cons. It feels a bit like home in some aspects but there is a huge cultural divide which we need to accept and respect. One thing that did came up in my request for advice was the way we as Saffas come into this country and don't realize how easy we offend with our ways and our words.

I have thus far found the Mauritians to be a kind, gentle nation. They are mostly willing to help you where they can even if it is not convenient for them. They are soft-spoken and respectful and it is imperative that we return that respect and kindness with same. Don't talk down to them, don't scream and shout and be rude. It's often uncalled for.

I did start off with a list of things and now that I look back on this post it seems I can say so much more. It takes time to settle in and feel at home. Even for myself and my family and we've been around the block a bit.

If you have school going kids you'll be wanting to establish some routines and familiarity as soon as possible to make the relocation easier. Get involved at the school. Get to know the other moms because they will be your lifeline if and when needed.

So on that note. Welcome to the island. Enjoy your stay. Make the most of each moment. We never know how long it will last.


FACEBOOK
INSTAGRAM
TWITTER



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com/youve-made-it-welcome-to-mauritius/
Sort:  

Oh I SO want to come!!!! What an absolute adventure!!!

Don't look at your clock right now and wonder why I'm awake. Lolol. no!!!! Don't do it!!! Hehhee

I told you... The next few days are madness so...yeah. I'm awake right now reading your blog hehhee

But back to your island... What do you find is thr most common reason that.people go there....and are there any Americans living there?

What is the food like??.

Can I come tomorrow? Please and thank you!
😂😂😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my word.... Why are you not sleeping? 🤔 😂 😂 😂 You're welcome!! I've got a spare room.. 😂 Not many Americans even know where this rock is.. 😂 For south Africans it's the easy way out of a country that's going down the tubes currently. But I won't be here long.. Planning my escape.. Perhaps to South America... 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhhhhh where in South America!

And I have to admit....I never heard of your beautiful rock until I met you! Hehehe

So maybe I would be the only American there lol

I stayed away to cue up my Fireflies tomorrow and post my DIY video on how to make the most amazing pirate hat.

I'm.still in shock that I made it hehehe

But that is one more thing ready for Friday!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

😂 😂 Yup one American between all the islanders. Truly haven't seen many here. Loads of South Africans. Food is different. Much. It's a tiny speck of an island. Not allowed to work here. So I get bored. Well done on the pirate hat.. 😂 I'm quite crafty but not since being here. Left all my tools behind. Now I blog.. It's easy to do from anywhere. I'm looking at Uruguay or Equador. Not sure. Uruguay wins at the moment.. Have never been so not sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehhehee and how long until you escape???

Posted using Partiko Android

Going back to SA in November to see the family. Will most likely spend a couple of months to get my affairs in order.. Hubby doesn't know yet.. 😂 He's out at sea. But I think he suspects.. He knows me. I can't be bored. It's not good for the family. Time will tell whether it works out or not. Whether it's meant to happen or not.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehehe well... Good luck!!! Lol
Now how will I get to Mauritius!?!? Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

You got six months girlfriend... 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

And....what does different mean? Lol

Is that different good? Or different "no thank you I'll pass" hehehhee

When we went to fiji ..I didn't care for the food.

But Russia... Mmmmm yummy food hehehe

El Salvador..mmmmm yummy food!

Mexico...mmmmmm yummy food!

Canada...mmmm yummy food hahahahahhaa

Not so much in Fiji. 😂😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Well. Let's just say.. Lots of curry and curry related foods here.. I love the pastries and anything with chili's but not a curry person.. Like Thai green but not the others so much and I'm not really picky

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhhh yellow curry is my fave!!! mmmm do like Indian food :)

I said I was going to bed...ok really going now 🤣😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @dkkarolien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74