I am sick! The TMI Blog + Animals inside

in #isthatapeeorapoo6 years ago

Hello everyone

Those who take a look at my feed regularly will know that I visited the UK last weekend, and those people may be expecting a post regarding my trip. So far, I've been working on this for 3 days without much progress, and the reason for this is that whilst in the UK, I managed to pickup something along the lines of Gastroenteritis / Norovirus.


virus1.png
pixabay source

It's not the first time I've managed to do this, and last time was completely my fault as i'd cooked some chicken which had clearly seen better days, which was stored in a fridge which has also seen better days. A whole week off work ensued as I spent the majority of the time on the toilet, or in bed wondering if I should go to the toilet.

I'm 3 days in with this 2nd episode, and it's just horrible!

The last food i kept down was a piece of toast on Tuesday, oats and vegetables haven't fared so well since - I didn't reach the toilet in time with the vegetables but did manage to paint the toilet door and floor with a red mixture :(

The main symptoms are:

  • Diarrhea and vomiting - often, and often at the same time
  • A constant headache - as the water you consume is either thrown up or sent down passage number 2
  • Stomach cramps - one of the few occasions I will gladly take painkillers every 3/4 hours

I'm lucky in that the sink is positioned within vomiting distance from the toilet, or I would have spent much more time cleaning up. Small wins......

Sleeping is a nightmare too, and I feel like it would be an idea to be wearing a nappy - not that I'd want to shit in one, but just in case....
So far though, just a couple of 'minor scares' - I'm glad to not be sharing a bed, or even an apartment at present.

This time, all the symptoms are the same as before, but I don't think my downfall was food. I ate pretty much the same as friends and my daughter, with a couple of vege exceptions. Maybe the Pub found the one vegeburger that had been lonely for weeks to give to me? I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt and suggest another possible contraction location.....

Down on the Farm

On Sunday, a group of us visited a Farm in Nottinghamshire. Most of my friends back home have kids now too, and so a Farm that sports animal feeding, trampolines, go-karts, zip wires, and a soft play is a good option for a days entertainment at a reasonable cost.

I've decided against uploading photos of my daughter to the Steem Blockchain, at least until she understands what that means. Pretty sure her mum would throw a major fit if she found out too, and that's not going to help my case in getting her over for a holiday or two here in Spain.

What I can show you though, are some of the suspects involved me my illness - I think. And yes I know, I should have washed my hands more than the 7/8 times I did, after feeding every animal, and probably more than anyone else in our group - So not fair!


2.jpg
Was it you Mr Goat?


5.jpg
These little piggies are only 6 days old!


4.jpg
You're looking a little sheepish to me.....

Feeding the lambs

At midday and 3pm (yes we made both sittings), there is a chance to sit on a tiny chair with a bottle of warm 'milk', and stare at these lively little customers.


6.jpg

The lambs know when it's feeding time, and are pretty keen to get the party started! Some of the smaller children 'bottle it' when the lambs come running out the gates, but the lambs must be fed and there's always someone looking to help out.


7.jpg
Hodling

This actually saves the 3 workers, a mum and her daughters a lot of time. They make the bottles up, unleash the lambs, and serve as crowd control and streamline the distribution.


3.jpg
On/off switch behind the ear, apparently

3 pens, 20 odd Lambs, all fed and returned home in less than 10 minutes.

Although this location was next to the hand-wash zone, I'm wondering if it was here that I met my downfall. Reports from the UK are that everyone is fine though, and so maybe I'm just lacking the immune system to deal with this sort of thing, having been away from cold, smelly England for so long.

Bahh

It's really frustrating, I can see sunshine through the window but need to keep a close proximity to a toilet. I don't feel up to blogging about the positive side of my trip, and I am in proper grouch mode.

Sorry for my lack of engagement this past week, I do promise the 'Leagues' post on Sunday, but this might be it before then.

If anyone has tips on what to eat or drink on a very delicate stomach and dodgy intestines, i'm all ears. I think I lost 6kg (13lbs) in a week, the last time I suffered this.

Thanks for reading, and don't forget to wash your hands!

Asher @abh12345

Sort:  

Despite being in grouch mode, you still managed to make me laugh with the tag "speeddieting."

Good job on managing to do a post while you're sick! Don't feel guilty about resting until Sunday...good for you to do that!

I'm glad you had a good time with your daughter and the animals, but sorry it ended this way.

I have no idea what you should eat or drink...I wish I had better advice, but with those things, it just seems like it needs time to pass. I remember eating saltine crackers on an upset stomach, but I don't know why.

Literally stomach stuff is the worst.

But, like you said, "I'm lucky in that the sink is positioned within vomiting distance from the toilet, or I would have spent much more time cleaning up. Small wins......" <---small wins. Lol I've had that same thought before when I've been in this situation.

Feel better soon!

Thanks for the message, I'm glad I got a laugh out of you :)

I'm not really laughing so much at the moment, it's frustrating and painful, and I would pay lots of STEEM to be instantly cured.

Thank you!

Aww, I'm so sorry :( stomach things really are my LEAST favorite sickness. I'd take a fever for a whole month over stomach stuff for just 2 days.

I wish I could instantly cure you

Yes I think I would take that swap also, and wish for an instant cure! :D

Sorry to hear that you picked something up over here, I always go with toast and ginger biscuits and lots of water. Sounds like you are as bad as I was in Nepal with the same "luck" of having a bath within vomiting distance while you sit on the loo. Not a pleasant time

Get well soon dude

Biscuits sounds like a plan, just had a piece of toast and going steady with the water - too much in one go doesn't end well!

Probably my own fault, or maybe i'm just a bit soft and not used to the cold and germs in Blighty any more.

Cheers :)

Man I am not a fan of the taste of ginger, but as a stomach curing natural medicine, it's the bomb! I suffer from frequent bouts with IBS (don't get old people) and ginger ale and other ginger type snacks does help!

Great for car-sickness too. We used to give a ginger biscuit to our dog before a long journey in the car and it stopped him getting sick. I guess it works on humans too :)

Oh shooooot! Here are the positives: you'll be in perfect shape this summer!! :-)

Try to maintain the level of electrolytes as high as possible, otherwise you'll feel weaker and weaker. Have you tried to eat a banana, for instance? Or raisins, coconut,... Also what you need now is salt: pretzel sticks e.g.

Get well soooooooon! We want you at 100% :-)

I'll be skin and bones, not ideal! :D

Tomorrow I think i will brave a trip to the shops to buy some of the things mentioned by today's readers.

I'm missing bananas and coconut juice for sure!

Looking forward to feeling better than 50%, the last few days have not been great! Thank you! :D

Oh boy.... that really doesn't sound too good.
Try to eat the whole fruit (not just drink juices), if you can :-) Eat it very slowly.
My fingers are crossed for you!

It was the goat I tell you, it had a sly glint in its eyes as you took its picture.

water is usually the culprit in my case but it might be a number of things.

All i do is drink some fiber enriched drink, some stomach meds and call it a day until it passes.

And be near the bathroom at all times hahahaha
Hope you get better soon Asher.

The goat looks very suspicious, agreed :)

Think i'll be calling it a 7 days at this rate, but at least I don't have to worry about sick leave from work and all that.

8 steps to the bathroom - close enough!

Thanks :)

it's so important for all

Good heavens man that country did not mix well with you. It looks like they tried to take you out with cute animals –those devils! Well at least this blog is proof of life. Get well soon.

Now excuses me this blog makes me want to wash my hands. Granted losing a bunch of weight in a week is tempting not like that.

hehe :)

The UK has not mixed well with me for years, and so I shouldn't really be surprised with regards to its latest 'gift'.

After 7 days, I thought it was time to get something out there, only 2 toilet breaks during this 3rd sitting too :)

I thought I washed my hands plenty you know, rotten luck!

Get well soon! First take care of yourself! We are not running away. Most of us are just to addicted!
Hope that besides this you had a great trip to the UK!

Thank you!

Yes the trip was really nice, just the souvenir a bit disappointing! :)

Hope that you are feeling better!

Honestly, not really - but the toilet visits seem to be falling so today could be the turning point.

Thanks for checking in!

Let's hope it does! So that you enjoy the weather over there! And write your recap, really interested in it!
What would we a community without checking in on each other!
Steem gives me a lot of energy, so it was a small thing to do!
Very busy lately with the sports betting community but that doesn't mean that I do forget the people which did help me in the beginning!

Thanks, yes I will in time :)

Need to look into the betting community a bit more. I used to be really into my horse racing and study the form for hours. Was planning on writing a program, around the same time this guy was gathering his billion from one! :)

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2018-05-03/the-gambler-who-cracked-the-horse-racing-code

The second time today that somebody pointed out this article to me :)
If you interested in horse racing, you should follow @stimp2014. He bets each day on the horse racing and let the upvotes of the post share in his winnings!
Feel free to join us on discord! You could teach us so much about the steem blockchain! It is a great community. One of our members got flagged about tag abuse, but the guy was only a few weeks in the steem blockchain. Look at the reaction of the SBC community: https://steemit.com/betting/@professionaltips/professional-betting-tips-03-05-2018
Joining us now would be funny, cause you would be number ... 25 :)
Don't forget to enter the world cup contest when it opens up!

Link me up :D

Get well soon, the dangers of packaged food but in the world we live in it's the something we can't really do without. I like the hodl picture :)

Is it our immune systems becoming weaker, or the viruses getting stronger?

hodl :D

That sounds like serious shit you're having Asher. (sorry, am out of control a bit)

The few times (knock on wood) I've had the same as you describe I always ate bananas and/or apple with cinnamon. And although it may sound strange; besides water/tea, I drank some cans of Coca Cola during the day (must add I almost never drink cola).

Sofar it always helped me out to feel already better later on the day and get rid of most of the "inconveniences" the day after.

Please don't blame me if my "smassshing" cure doesn't works for you.
Good Luck.

P.s. Nice tag

haha :D

Coke is good for cleaning you out and killing belly germs (according to my friends who used to canoe and drink river water then lots of coke!) I don't drink it either but might 'treat' myself.

This shit is serious, for a week or so max, I hope.

Random tags for a random blog!

Cheers!

Sorry to hear you're not well. Sounds grim. I guess you just got unlucky. Dried toast with slices of cucumber and aquilibra (because it's alkaline!) are what I tend to rely on if I get sick.

Good strategy to try and post something - and defo good not include your daughter on the block chain. Personally if someone uploaded a picture or video of me on here that I could never remove, I really wouldn't appreciate it!

Hope you have a swift recovery,

Karl.

Interesting tags.

It is pretty grim!

Some cucumber would require a risky visit to the shops, perhaps in a few more days when my confident has increased a little!

Yeah that was my thinking too - once it's there it cant be gone. And even if she didn't mind, her mum would make a point of minding :)

Cheers, feel free to adopt any tags!

Oh no!!! Gastro-intestinal issues are NEVER good. Hope you're getting better every day. for sensitive stomach issues,I always swear by ginger. I would drink ginger tea... and mint is good for soothing stomach upset. I had a stomach displacement and a massive hiatal hernia surgery done in 2013- only after the doctors told me 3/4 of my stomach was basically taking up residence in my esophagus and suffocating me. Ginger and mint were God-sends. The surgery itself took over six hours and recovery took one month of liquid diet only. I couldn't eat food for four weeks... talk about savoring every bite of food I took after the surgery.

I can relate to the aspect of privacy with your daughter. Looks like you had fun with the farm animals!!!

oh my!

That sounds horrific! A few others have suggested ginger and so with your story I should get a hold of some foods/liquids soon.

4 weeks without food is tough going, I'm already starting to get down about not being able to keep much down!

I can relate to the aspect of privacy with your daughter.

Thank you. I would love to share, and I think I have added some much older photos in the past, but something tells me it's not the right path considering the situation.

The lambs were funny, they go crazy for the bottle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98