iTalent Round 8- "Seascape with oil paints"

in #italent6 years ago

Hello, Steemit!

Today I want to show you my work for I-Talent contest.
I'm so sorry that I found this contest only today. If I found it earlier, I would have drawn a new job. However, there is no time now and I decided to take part with my old oil work (I read that it's not against the rules).
Early I described the process of its creation on another site, but it was not yet on Steemit.
I love the sea and like to paint the sea. I am fascinated by the bends of the sea waves, playing glare on the watery surface, bright chiaroscuro. I had to draw a marine plot and watercolors, but in this respect I liked oil painting much more.
So, after a few sessions (2-3), I got this picture (format 30x40 cm).





At the first stage, I drew the basic contours with a graphite pencil. Pencil must be solid (2H, HB), since the soft ones are too crumbly, leave dirty marks on the canvas. For oil painting it is not terrible, but because of such traces, you can easily get confused in the drawing in the following.





Then I began to cover the image with paints. To do this, I knead a blue cobalt with a large addition of a solvent on the palette. The layers of paint should be similar to watercolor painting. With yellow drew the light gaps in the waves.
Movement with a brush should be longitudinally, so that the structure of the image is read through them. So, for example, with strokes I show the direction of the waves.





With brown paint drew the mountains in the background of the picture. Already at this stage, I need to depict the texture of mountains in different shades, cast shadows on the rocks that form the massif.





Then moved to to the sky. In the sky I need to depict the sunset and a light veil of clouds. In the blue color I drew the darkest parts of the sky, showed the place of sunset in red and yellow. With a mixed purple color drew shadow on future clouds.
All strokes should be as transparent as on the bottom of the picture. In the photo, the colors seem a little poisonous, but in the stage of underpainting it is better to apply bright colors.





Then I moved to the key figure of the painting - the departing ship.
I covered all the boats with strokes, ignoring little details and shadows.





Finally, when the first applied layer dries on the canvas, I began to compact the pattern. I started from the water. I blended the blue and green colors in this ratio to get the color of the sea wave. The paint is applied with dense strokes, but all in the same way - I designate the direction of the waves.
The sea will be a bit riotous for us. This turbulence, I showed a consistent alternation of light and dark tones. While the renewed water dries up, I specified the mountain massif in the background. I used several shades of brown so that the stones do not seem boring, although they do not occupy key positions in the picture.
Since oil paints require time to dry, at the moment of applying the second layer on the painting, it is possible (and even necessary) to add a little damaging varnish to the solvent. The varnish greatly accelerates the drying process of the layer.





Then I added brightness to the picture. I added zinc white on the crests of the waves.





The only drawback of oil painting for me is that it is rather difficult to photograph pictures, because they constantly shine in the light. So the photos do not always convey the real state of things and the exact color rendition of the picture.





My underpainting is ready. Now it's really easy to finish the work - all contours, the location of light and dark spots, glare, the character and movement in the picture is already there, it remains to paint the third, the last layer of paint.
Then I painted the whole picture with the last layers of paint. For the sky, I used soft brushes (columns № 2, № 3 and wide synthetics), added a lot of varnish to the solvent to fix the paints and create an airy effect. I used bristles for water, especially for drawing foam.
The ship had to be slightly corrected for the accuracy of the view.





Then I made the finishing touches on the picture: added more pink reflexes on the water (from the sunset), painted gulls, calmed the excessive ripples on the water, painted the rays of the sun.
At the end of the work, it is important to evaluate the picture for the harmony of colors, the location and color rendering of objects in relation to each other and the overall impression of viewing.
My picture is ready!




Sort:  

Wow, this work is the equal of many pieces of art that you might see at a museum! I love the process description, and the end result is stunning! Thank you!

I have featured you and your post for a curation contest on this post:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/payitforwardentry-week19-82wfddl1f9

If you are also interested in featuring other people's work, you can join the contest at:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-19-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-92fbc29bace4cest

Found your work from @bengy's entry and it's great! The step by steps really help see the progress of what it takes to make a painting like this. Looks like a lot of thought to figure out the layers of color in advance.

Wow) Thank you very much for your support!)

Stunning end-product! I wonder if you made a story behind the drawing. Or maybe you want to write a story about it. 😊

I came across your post through @bengy who featured it here: Pay it forward curation contest.

thank you very much) I have a small story in the form of a poem, but so far only in Russian)

You're welcome.

Maybe you want to translate the poem and post it here too. 😊

I like the range of colour, that ship is beautiful :)
Really nice work with this! You've worked with the details very well :)

thank you very much for support! every time it's very pleasant to read your comments)

you always do the wonderful job!! Keep up the great work ^^

thank you very much for your support)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Beautiful work, @kleonella ! The sun on the far background really gives this one a dramatic feel, with its strong lighting <3 Love the sea also, and the ship is well made and well detailed <3

thanks a lot) every time it's nice to read your comments)

I like your work very much:)

Its amazing I have found you through @pifc curation contest where @bengy featured you. Its nice seeing your amazing work.

You are also invited to join @pifc curation contest where you will have the opportunity to feature other bloggers of your choice. It is an amazing initiative. You will definitely enjoy.

Thank you very much for your support

Отличная работа! Мне очень нравится, как живописно нарисованы волны!

спасибо большое)

Beautiful work! Colors are something special in this one :)

thank you!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25