Our journey so far

in #ivf5 years ago

Hello, my name is Devika and this is my blog about mine and my husbands journey through IVF and beyond.
Let me start by telling you a little about myself.......
As I mentioned my name is Devika and my husband is Jonathan, we have been together since 2003 and married since 2009.
We met in sixth form at school and hit it off straight away. Very early on we both knew we wanted to be parents but we're too young. After a few years we decided to get started on the journey through parenthood so in 2009 we came to the decision that it was the right time for both of us and this is where our story begins.....
So during my teenage years I was on contraception, the Depo Provera injection and when we were ready to start a family I quickly stopped the contraception. We knew that it would take time for my body to adjust back to normal so we just got on with practicing!!!! After about two years we were wondering why nothing was happening and decided to go and see the GP but we came across a problem, I was still registered with my GP where I used to live and Jonathan was registered where he lived (although we were living together).
When I went to see my GP she was happy to run some tests but advised me that it would be a lot easier if we were both registered at the same doctors surgery. I was sent to have some blood tests done and Jonathan was sent (by his GP) to have a sperm test done. My blood tests all came back normal but Jonathan's sperm test came back as having low motility and low count. We thought about it and decided that we would just keep trying the regular way.
As most people know, life always gets in the way when making plans. Jonathan and I moved home, which meant we were registering at the same GP. Unfortunately Jonathan's health had started to deteriorate so our plans for starting a family were put on hold, we were only 25 at the time so we thought we had loads of time....
Jonathan has a condition called syringomyelia, which he had to have surgery for, so far he has had four surgeries to try and relieve the symptoms but unfortunately they have not worked, he is slowly becoming less and less mobile which is terrible for him.
Even though Jonathan is getting worse we came to the decision that we wanted to start the fertility journey again, this was two years ago and this is where my blog begins. Stay tuned for the first blog post of the beginning of our treatment!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Congratulations @deejonivf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Greetings again my friend...

I remember my ex-wife was on the Depo Provera shots and made her quite moody. Even more so when she decided to stop them. I have one son who is actually here on steemit as well...

I see things are just as crazy in your area, as they are in the States; healthcare is sometimes such a joke. I spent two years trying to get my disability, only to realize I might have been better off wthout it. They make it confusing I fear... on purpose... but anyway...

You have been so forward and transparent... and I hate to be too personable, but was curious if the doctors said your husbands syringomyelia had anything to do with sperm count? Surely not "pointing a finger" at either one of you. Im sure you might have both questioned everything... but know that God has a plan for all of us... and for both of you as well.

Please continue to share your experiences with us if you choose... know we send positive energy to you and your family.

Great that you are writing about this, personal but very well written !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12